Colorado Statement of Mechanics Lien Form (for Subs & Suppliers) Form
Download your Statement of Mechanics Lien Form (for Subs & Suppliers) Form | Free Downloadable Template
Get help filing your Colorado Mechanics Lien
A mechanics lien is a powerful tool to help contractors and suppliers get paid for their work. This Colorado Statement of Mechanics Lien Form is for subcontractors and suppliers who have not been paid for services, labor, materials, equipment, or other construction services performed on a job. If you’re a sub or supplier and looking to file a Colorado mechanics lien, there are two general requirements.
- Subcontractors and suppliers are required to send a Notice of Intent to Lien at least 10 days before filing the lien. An affidavit proving the Notice of Intent to lien was sent to the property owner must also be included when filing a lien with the County Recorder. Not sending a Notice of Intent Lien may mean an invalid lien.
- The mechanics lien must be filed within 120 days of last delivering labor or materials. If only labor was performed on the job (and not materials) a subcontractor or supplier has 2 months to file a mechanics lien in Colorado.
Before you start: Read the step-by-step guide to filing a Colorado mechanics lien.
This form meets the requirements set forth in at Colorado Revised Statutes, §38-22-101 through §38-22-133 as enacted by the Colorado legislature.
Not a subcontractor or supplier? Use a different form
Although many of the deadlines and rules are similar for General Contractors, subcontracts, and suppliers, Colorado is one of the few states that has a specific Statement of Mechanics Lien form for subs and suppliers, and another mechanics lien form for General Contractors. Not using the correct mechanics lien form may mean a rejected lien from the County Recorder or an invalid lien if challenged in court.
Download the Colorado Mechanics Lien Form for General Contractors
Rules and regulations for sending a Colorado Mechanics Lien
Contractors have 4 months from the last furnishing of labor, materials and/or services to file their Statement of Lien. This 4 months period has expired, and its time to file the Lien. YOU MAY IGNORE THIS DEADLINE IF YOU FILED A NOTICE TO EXTEND TIME IN WHICH TO FILE A LIEN
After completing the Colorado Statement of Mechanics Lien Form (for Subs & Suppliers) Form, you must deliver it to the appropriate parties required by statute. Notices are typically served on the property owner and, for sub-tier parties, the general contractor. However, depending on the type of notice, it can be helpful to send notices to anyone else who is in charge of your payment, like a lender or surety company on the project.
Others are asking about Colorado Mechanics Lien
where can I get the statement of lien template for an individual?
A Colorado Statement of Mechanics Lien form can be found on the Levelset Colorado Payment Resources page. There are two forms, depending on whether your role on the projects was a direct/general contractor, or a subcontractor or supplier. Note though, a Notice of Intent to Lien (NOI) needs to be sent to the property owner and the GC at least 10 days prior to filing your claim. A Colorado NOI form can also be found on the CO resources page.
- If you plan on going it alone, this resource shoud be helpful: How to File a Colorado Mechanics Lien | A Step-by-Step Guide to Get Paid
- Or, you can send and file both of those documents directly through the Levelset platform
Can I include an additional 5% due upon completion if final walkthrough wasn't performed?
Generally speaking, a timing provision regarding final payment shouldn't block mechanics lien rights. Meaning, if you've fully completed work on the project, the full project price should be lienable - even if the timing of your payment wasn't supposed to happen until a final walk through occurred (particularly when the owner refuses to allow the walk through).
What's more, even if the owner took issue with a portion of the lien claim, keep in mind that Colorado mechanics liens can be amended as long as the filing deadline hasn't passed. So, if that 5% is the only point of contention on the lien, that part could plausibly be reduced by an amendment, and the claimant could seek to collect it some other way. But, still - including the full price on a lien where the work was fully performed is typically appropriate.
For further discussion on CO liens: Colorado Mechanics Lien Laws: Guide and FAQs.
Can a handyman file a lien after I paid him, fired him and he never finished the project?
Generally, mechanics lien rights are only available to the extent that work is provided but not paid for. So, if a claimant has received partial payment, or if they haven't performed the work their trying to charge for, that would affect the amounts they could potentially lien. And, if a contractor has already been paid more than what they're owed for the work already done, then any lien they file would likely end up being invalid and unenforceable.
Note, however, that they could still get their lien claim filed, even if it's flawed. Generally, county recorders aren't able to investigate mechanics lien claims - they're ultimately just there to make sure the document conforms with state and county requirements and to perform their recording duties. Meaning, even if a claimant's lien ends up being bogus, that lien could still be entered into the property record. Thus, it's usually a good idea to try and stop the claimant from pursuing the lien in the first place.
I think these articles will be useful for you: (1) I Just Received a Notice of Intent to Lien – What Should I Do Now?; and (2) A Mechanics Lien Was Filed on My Property – What Do I Do Now? And, if you think you might need a Colorado lawyer to help you to convince the claimant to stand down, you can find the right lawyer for the job here: Top Colorado Construction Lawyers.
Ask a construction lawyer about a Colorado Mechanics Lien
Other forms to use in Colorado
Colorado County Recorders
Looking to file/record a mechanics lien in Colorado? You'll need to get your Colorado mechanics lien filed and recorded with the county recorder in the county where the construction project is located. Here is a listing of all county recorders in Colorado. Click on any county to find more information about how to get your lien recorded in that county.
4430 S. Adams Parkway, Suite E2400
Brighton, CO 80601
5334 S. Prince St.
Littleton, CO 80120
741 Main St
Springfield, Colorado 81073
Phone: (719) 523-4372
1750 33rd Street, Suite 201
Boulder, CO 80301
405 Argentine St.
Georgetown, Colorado 80444
201 W. Colfax Avenue, Dept. 101
Denver, CO 80202
301 Wilcox St.
Castle Rock, CO 80104
Phone: (303) 660-7446
1675 W Garden of the Gods
Colorado Springs, CO 80907
615 Macon Ave. Room 102
Ca√É¬±on City, Colorado 81212
Phone: (719) 276-7330
100 Jefferson County Parkway, Ste. 2560
Golden, CO 80419
200 W. Oak Street, First Floor
Fort Collins, CO 80521
Phone: (970) 498-7860
Fax: (970) 498-7906
221 W. Victory Way. Ste. 200
Craig, Colorado 81625
Phone: (970) 824-9119
215 W. 10th St Attn: Recording
Pueblo, CO 81003
Phone: (719) 583-6507
Fax: (719) 583-4894
101 W Bennett Ave
Cripple Creek, Colorado 80813
Phone: (719) 689-2951
1402 N. 17th Ave
PO Box 459
Greeley, CO 80632
Phone: (970) 304-6530
Fax: (970) 353-1964