Guide to filing a mechanics lien in Weld County

If you need to file a mechanics lien with the Weld County Clerk and Recorder, you’ll be pleased to know that you most likely have strong lien rights under Colorado lien law. On the other hand, Colorado has some of the most complicated lien laws in the country, and preparing your lien claim requires some research. This page helps you get started by introducing you to Colorado lien law and Weld County’s own recording requirements.

Here are three unique features of Colorado lien law:

  1. Sending a preliminary notice in Colorado requires extra work. Colorado’s preliminary notice requirements are unique because lien claimants need to provide a complete lien statement to the property owner along with the notice of intent to lien. On top of that, you also need to submit an affidavit that shows the notice and lien statement were properly delivered.
  2. The mechanics lien deadline in Colorado changes depending on the project and your role. Under normal circumstances, lien claimants have 4 months after last furnishing of work or materials to file a mechanics lien claim. If you didn’t provide materials or you’re working on a 2 family home and there’s a bonafide purchaser of the dwelling, the deadline is 2 months after last improvement, though. Learn more about the 4 month and 2 month mechanics lien deadlines here: Colorado Mechanics lien FAQs.
  3. You must enforce your lien claim quickly in Colorado. That’s because lien claims become invalid if they aren’t enforced within 60 days of filing.

The rest of this page acts as a reference for the Weld County Clerk and Recorder’s Office. Below, you’ll find the Weld County Clerk’s complete recording requirements, formatting requirements, margin requirements, recording fees, contact information, and links to eRecord your lien in Weld County or eFile your lien with Levelset in the matter of clicks.

Lastly, feel free to take a look at our Step-by-Step Guide to Filing a Mechanics Lien in Colorado. It provides a comprehensive description of each step in the mechanics lien preparing process in Colorado.

Where is the Weld County Clerk and Recorder's Office that files Mechanics liens?

You can file a mechanics lien in Weld County at the Weld County Clerk’s Office located at:

Recording Department
1402 N. 17th Ave
PO Box 459
Greeley, CO 80632
Phone: (970) 304-6530
Fax: (970) 353-1964

Hours: Monday – Friday, 8:00am – 5:00pm

You can also send requests and other correspondence to the above address.

The Weld County Clerk and Recorder’s Office also offers eRecording options:

What is Weld County's Recording Backlog?

The Weld County Clerk and Recorder does not publicly disclose information regarding recording backlogs.

Should I file my mechanics lien in Weld County?

If the construction project is located in Weld County, then you should file your mechanics lien in Weld County.

What are Weld County's requirements for recording a mechanics lien?

The recording requirements at the Weld County Clerk and Recorder’s Office are as follows:

  1. Make sure you include the correct fees. Incorrect fees will get your lien claim rejected.
  2. The quality of the document must be good and the text must be readable.
  3. Mechanics liens presented for recording must have a top margin on 1 inch and a margin of 0.5 inches on both sides and the bottom.
  4. Checks must be signed and addressed to the “Weld County Clerk and Recorder”.
  5. Documents must be sent in the order they’re to be recorded.
  6. Provide a valid return address with your lien claim.

You must also include this information in your lien claim:

  1. Your full name and address, the hiring party’s name and address, the property owner’s name and address, and your attorney’s name and address (if applicable).
  2. The property’s legal description.
  3. The correct lien amount based on the value of labor and materials you provided.
  4. Make sure your lien claim is signed and notarized.
  5. Include the required affidavit of properly serving the notice of intent to the property owner.

What are the margin & page size requirements to file a lien in Weld County?

The margin and page size requirements for the Weld County Clerk and Recorder’s Office follows Colorado State Law:

  1. Mechanics liens must have a top margin of 1 inch with a 0.5 inch margin on the sides and bottom.
  2. Mechanics liens must be printed on paper that’s at least 8.5 x 14 inches in size.

How can I make payment to the Weld County Clerk and Recorder's Office?

The Weld County Clerk and Recorder’s Office accepts the following forms of payment:

  • Cash
  • Check
  • Credit and debit

Ensure that all checks are addressed to the Weld County Clerk and Recorder.

What are the filing fees to record a mechanics lien in Weld County?

The fee schedule for the Weld County Clerk and Recorder’s Office is as follows:

Recording Fees

Recording a mechanics lien costs $13 for the first page and $5 for each subsequent page.

Copy Fees

Copies cost $0.25 per page, and certification of copies costs $1 per document.

How do I get a recorded copy of my lien from the Weld County Clerk and Recorder's Office?

You have three options to obtain a recorded copy of your mechanics lien in Weld County:

In Person

You can go to the Weld County Clerk and Recorder’s Office in person at:

1402 N. 17th Ave
Greeley, CO 80632
Phone: (970) 304-6530
Fax: (970) 353-1964

By Mail

You can send a request via mail to the following address:

Recording Department
1402 N. 17th Ave
PO Box 459
Greeley, CO 80632

Online

Lastly, you can search Weld County’s Public Records online at this address:

https://searchicris.co.weld.co.us/recorder/web/

Top Payment Experts & Services in Weld to help you File Your Colorado Mechanics Lien.

Featured Lien Filing Service
Lien Filing Service
Learn Who are the Fast Paying and Slow Paying Contractors in Colorado
Core & Main
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
77 / 100
View
Mason Construction
Rating 5.0
B
Payment Score
83 / 100
View
Schneider Building Company
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
66 / 100
View
Transwestern Real Estate Services
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
70 / 100
View
See other Lists of Contractors and How to Best Work With Them