Guide to filing a mechanics lien in Douglas County

As you may already know, filing a mechanics lien in Douglas County, Colorado is no simple task. Colorado lien law is confusing for many first time filers, and preparing the lien claim for the Douglas County Clerk and Recorder’s office requires a lot of work. To help you avoid making mistakes that cause your lien claim to be rejected, this page provides you with useful information about Colorado lien law and the Douglas County Clerk and Recorder’s own requirements.

Here are three of the most important parts of Colorado lien law:

  1. Colorado’s preliminary notice system is unique. To preserve your lien rights, you must send a notice of intent to lien to the property owner. This is where it gets complicated. Along with the notice, you also need to provide the property owner with a completed lien statement, and you need to include an affidavit the proves the lien was properly sent to the property owner when you record your lien claim. This means you have to prepare and enforce your mechanics lien before the preliminary notice is sent.
  2. There are different deadlines to file a mechanics lien in Colorado. Normally, lien claimants have 4 months after last work to file a mechanics lien. However, there are circumstances in which that window is shortened to 2 months. For a complete explanation of this rule, check out our Colorado Mechanics Lien Guide and FAQs.
  3. You have 60 days to enforce your lien claim after it’s recorded. If you don’t enforce your mechanics lien within that time frame, your lien claim is invalidated.

Below, you’ll find the Douglas County Clerk and Recorder’s recording requirements, formatting requirements, recording fees, copy fees, and contact information as well as information about eRecording. You’ll also find links to Douglas County, Colorado’s Public Records and links to eFile your lien with Levelset in just a few clicks.

If you’re looking for an overview of the entire mechanics lien process in Colorado, refer to our Step-by-Step Guide to Filing a Mechanics Lien in Colorado.

Where is the Douglas County Clerk and Recorder's Office that files mechanic liens?

You can file your mechanic liens in person, by mail or by eRecording.

In person

You can submit your documents to the Douglas County Clerk and Recorder’s Office located at:

301 Wilcox Street
Castle Rock, CO 80104

Phone: 303-660-7446
Fax: 303-814-2776
E-mail: recording@douglas.co.us

Hours
Monday – Friday
8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.

By Mail

Documents being sent via FedEx, UPS, or other shipping companies should be sent to:

Douglas County Clerk & Recorder
301 Wilcox Street
Castle Rock, CO 80104
Attn: Real Estate Recording

Documents being sent via U.S. Mail should be sent to:

Douglas County Clerk & Recorder
PO Box 1360
Castle Rock, CO 80104
Attn: Real Estate Recording

eRecording

You can also submit your documents through eRecording.

Entities interested in eRecording may contact a third-party vendor already contracted with the County OR build their own interface.

Third Party Vendors for eRecording in Douglas County, Colorado:

Simplifile
4844 N 300 W
Provo UT 84604
Lynn Wilkey – 970-266-1733

CSC/Ingeo
Corporation Service Company
Reggie Rogers – 435-374-0147
Email: Reggie.Rogers@cscglobal.com
Website: www.erecording.com

Indecomm
Indecomm Global Services
1260 Energy Lane
St. Paul, MN 55108
Corey Jordin, eRecording Expansion Technical Specialist
Office: 651-415-9361
Fax: 651-482-0783
Email: Corey.Jordin@indecomm.net
Website: www.indecomm.net

eRecord Partners
eRecording Partners Network, LLC
Pam Trombo – 888-325-3365 Ext 11240
Email: ptrombo@erecordingpartners.net
Website: www.erecordingpartners.net

Four Tier Software
Stephen Rousey – 303-752-6444
Email: srousey@4tiersoftware.com

If you are interested in building and maintaining your own interface. Complete the eRecording Submitter Memorandum of Understanding and email recording@douglas.co.us for your next steps.

What is Douglas County's Recording Backlog?

The Douglas County Clerk and Recorder’s Office does not publicly disclose information on recording backlog.

Should I file my mechanics lien in Douglas County?

If your construction project is located in Douglas County, then yes, you should file your lien here.

What are Douglas County's requirements for recording a mechanics lien?

The Douglas County Clerk & Recorder’s recording requirements are as follows:

Documents submitted for recording MUST:

1. have a 1” margin on the top of the document and a ½” margin on both sides and the bottom of the document
2. have appropriate fees to pay for the recording of the document
3. name the parties involved (Grantor/Grantee)
4. Transferring deeds are required to have the mailing address for the Grantee (buyer of the property) and a complete legal description.

What are the margin & page size requirements to file a lien in Douglas County?

Documents submitted for recording must be on legal size: (8.5″ x 14″) paper and have a 1” margin on the top of the document and a ½” margin on both sides and the bottom of the document.

How can I make payment to the Douglas County Clerk and Recorder's Office?

The Douglas County Clerk & Recorder’s Office accepts checks and credit cards. Checks be made payable to Douglas County Clerk & Recorder. There is a convenience fee charged by the third-party company that handles credit card transactions for the County.

What are the filing fees to record a mechanics lien in Douglas County?

The Douglas County Clerk & Recorder’s recording fees are as follows:

Recording Fees

Documents up to legal size: (8.5″ x 14″)
First page: $13
Additional pages: $5 each

Lien Fees

Federal Tax Liens or Releases and Redemption Certificates
First page: $8
Additional pages: $5 each

Copy Fees

Recorded Document: $0.25 per page
Certification (paper or electronic): $1.00 per document

How do I get a recorded copy of my lien from the Douglas County Clerk and Recorder's Office?

You can obtain a recorded copy of your lien in person at the Douglas County Clerk and Recorder’s Office located at:

301 Wilcox Street
Castle Rock, CO 80104

Phone: 303-660-7446
Fax: 303-814-2776
E-mail: recording@douglas.co.us

Hours
Monday – Friday
8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.

Images from 1994 to the present may be viewed on the computers. Images prior to 1994 must be viewed on a microfilm reader.

Document images can only be viewed online by trusted business partners that have entered into a legal contract with the Recording Division and been given a secure user name and password.

Copies can be requested from the Recording office and purchased for a fee online at: https://apps.douglas.co.us/LandmarkWeb

Regular copies of documents cost $0.25 per page. Certification of copies requires an additional fee of $1 per document. Certified copies may be picked up in person, mailed or e-mailed.

To avoid paying a shipping and handling charge, include a self-addressed stamped envelope with your copy request. Make sure the envelope is large enough for the number of copies requested.

Top Payment Experts & Services in Douglas to help you File Your Colorado Mechanics Lien.

Featured Lien Filing Service
Lien Filing Service
Learn Who are the Fast Paying and Slow Paying Contractors in Colorado
Starbucks Coffee Company
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
77 / 100
View
Chick-Fil-A
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
77 / 100
View
Diversified Builders Inc.
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
75 / 100
View
Tri Star Masonry
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
75 / 100
View
See other Lists of Contractors and How to Best Work With Them