Colorado Statement of Mechanics Lien Form (for GCs) Form
Download your Statement of Mechanics Lien Form (for GCs) Form | Free Downloadable Template
Get help filing your Colorado Mechanics Lien
A mechanics lien is a very effective tool to help contractors get paid for their work. This Colorado Statement of Mechanics Lien Form is for General Contractors (Prime Contractors) who have not been paid for services, labor, materials, equipment, or other construction services performed on a job.
If you’re looking to file a Colorado mechanics lien, there are two general requirements:
- Contractors must file a Notice of Intent to Lien 10 days before filing the lien. An affidavit proving the Notice of Intent to lien was sent to the property owner must also be included when filing a lien with the County Recorder. Not sending a Notice of Intent Lien may mean an invalid lien.
- The mechanics lien must be filed within 120 days of last delivering labor or materials. If only labor was performed on the job (and not materials) a general contractor has 2 months to file a mechanics lien in Colorado.
This form meets the requirements set forth in at Colorado Revised Statutes, §38-22-101 through §38-22-133 as enacted by the Colorado legislature.
Not a General Contractor? Use a different mechanics lien form
Colorado is one of the few states that has a specific Statement of Mechanics Lien form for General Contractors and another form for subcontractors. Not using the correct mechanics lien form may mean a rejected lien from the County Recorder or an invalid lien if challenged in court.
If you’re a subcontractor and looking for a mechanics lien form you can use in Colorado, you need to use a different lien form.
Download the Colorado Mechanics Lien Form for Subcontractors & Suppliers
Rules and regulations for sending a Colorado Mechanics Lien
Contractors have 4 months from the last furnishing of labor, materials and/or services to file their Statement of Lien. This 4 months period has expired, and its time to file the Lien. YOU MAY IGNORE THIS DEADLINE IF YOU FILED A NOTICE TO EXTEND TIME IN WHICH TO FILE A LIEN
After completing the Colorado Statement of Mechanics Lien Form (for GCs) Form, you must deliver it to the appropriate parties required by statute. Notices are typically served on the property owner and, for sub-tier parties, the general contractor. However, depending on the type of notice, it can be helpful to send notices to anyone else who is in charge of your payment, like a lender or surety company on the project.
Others are asking about Colorado Mechanics Lien
What do I do after the lien.
There are deadlines to lien and deadlines to initiate an action on the lien. Basically, if the lien doesn't get you paid, your option is to sue within that deadline to preserve your lien rights. That may not be your best option, however, depending on the circumstances. Feel free to contact our office for a free consult. 7205007855.
Multiple questions about filing liens in Colorado
needing a civil attorney in state of colorado, needing to file mechanics lein,
I am sorry about the issues. You definately need to file the lien and do that process to the letter. As to your defamation claims, your attorney can review that as well. A district court lawsuit is a complicated and expensive process. If you are asking if an attorney would do this lawsuit on contingency (you don't pay anything until you collect or it settles), I would expect that to be very unlikely.
If you want to save some money, you should
contact an attorney and consider having a limited representation. In this
representation, the attorney provides specified services and they do not enter
as the attorney of record in the case. This is normally less expensive and
requires a smaller retainer. Our office and others offer limited
representation. This is a brief overview https://bit.ly/3xY5VJS.
View more Mechanics Lien Colorado questions
Ask a construction lawyer about a Colorado Mechanics Lien
Other forms to use in Colorado
Colorado County Recorders
Looking to file/record a mechanics lien in Colorado? You'll need to get your Colorado mechanics lien filed and recorded with the county recorder in the county where the construction project is located. Here is a listing of all county recorders in Colorado. Click on any county to find more information about how to get your lien recorded in that county.
4430 S. Adams Parkway, Suite E2400
Brighton, CO 80601
5334 S. Prince St.
Littleton, CO 80120
741 Main St
Springfield, Colorado 81073
Phone: (719) 523-4372
1750 33rd Street, Suite 201
Boulder, CO 80301
405 Argentine St.
Georgetown, Colorado 80444
201 W. Colfax Avenue, Dept. 101
Denver, CO 80202
301 Wilcox St.
Castle Rock, CO 80104
Phone: (303) 660-7446
1675 W Garden of the Gods
Colorado Springs, CO 80907
615 Macon Ave. Room 102
Ca√É¬±on City, Colorado 81212
Phone: (719) 276-7330
100 Jefferson County Parkway, Ste. 2560
Golden, CO 80419
200 W. Oak Street, First Floor
Fort Collins, CO 80521
Phone: (970) 498-7860
Fax: (970) 498-7906
221 W. Victory Way. Ste. 200
Craig, Colorado 81625
Phone: (970) 824-9119
215 W. 10th St Attn: Recording
Pueblo, CO 81003
Phone: (719) 583-6507
Fax: (719) 583-4894
101 W Bennett Ave
Cripple Creek, Colorado 80813
Phone: (719) 689-2951
1402 N. 17th Ave
PO Box 459
Greeley, CO 80632
Phone: (970) 304-6530
Fax: (970) 353-1964