Guide to filing a mechanics lien in Jefferson County

Filing a mechanics lien in Jefferson County, Colorado? You’re in the right place! Although recording your mechanics lien with the Jefferson County Clerk and Recorder’s Office is a straightforward process, preparing the lien claim itself can be tricky. That’s because the lien laws in Colorado require more work from the lien claimant than the lien laws in other states. To introduce you these laws and help you avoid mistakes that get your lien claim rejected, this page organizes useful information about Colorado lien law and the Jefferson County Clerk and Recorder’s requirements.

Let’s get started with a few quirks in Colorado lien law:

  1. Colorado has strict preliminary notice requirements. As is the case in many states, lien claimants need to submit notice of intent to lien to the property owner to preserve their lien rights. However, unlike many other states, they also need to provide an affidavit of properly serving the notice of intent as well. On top of that, lien claimants need to send a completed lien statement with their notice of intent. In other words, your mechanics lien must be fully prepared and executed before you even send the preliminary notice.
  2. You have 60 days to enforce your lien claim. If you don’t enforce your mechanics lien within that window, your lien claim is invalid.
  3. The deadlines for mechanics liens in Colorado are confusing. Lien claimants usually have 4 months after last work or furnishing of materials to file a mechanics lien. However, depending on your role in the construction project and the project itself, that deadline can be shortened to 2 months. This rule is pretty tricky, so we recommend you take a look at our page dedicated to Colorado mechanics lien deadlines: How Long Do I Have to File A Mechanics Lien in Colorado?

After you meet the prerequisites to file a mechanics lien in Colorado, it’s time to familiarize yourself with the County Clerk and Recorder’s requirements. The rest of this page compiles information about the Jefferson County Clerk and Recorder’s office, providing you with Jefferson County’s recording requirements, margin and page size requirements, recording fees and copy fees, contact information, and links to useful resources.

This stuff gets confusing, and there’s no such thing as too much research when filing a mechanics lien. Check out our Step-by-Step Guide to Filing a Mechanics Lien in Colorado for a deep dive into each of the above lien laws and more.

Where is the Jefferson County Clerk and Recorder's Office that files mechanic liens?

You can file your mechanic liens in person at the Jefferson County Clerk & Recorder’s Office located at:

100 Jefferson County Parkway, Suite 2560
Golden, CO 80419

Phone: 303-271-8121

Office Hours
Monday – Friday
8:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.

You can also mail your documents to the following address:

Jefferson County Clerk and Recorder
100 Jefferson County Parkway, Suite 2560
Golden, CO 80419

What is Jefferson County's Recording Backlog?

The Jefferson County Clerk and Recorder’s Office does not publicly disclose information on recording backlog. However, note that your document(s) will be mailed back to you in 2 to 4 weeks.

Should I file my mechanics lien in Jefferson County?

If your construction project is located in Jefferson County, then yes, you should file your lien here.

What are Jefferson County's requirements for recording a mechanics lien?

The Jefferson County Clerk and Recorder’s recording requirements are as follows:

1. The lien must include the names and addresses of the property owners
2. The name and basic information of the claimant (you)
3. The name and information of the person who furnished the labor and materials
4. The name and information of the principal contractor
5. The legal description of the property, which can be found at the Jefferson County Clerk and Recorder’s Office
6. The lien amount. Be careful to get this number right–overestimating the lien amount can lead to significant fines.
7. The lien must be signed and notarized by the claimant (you)
8. Lastly, the state of Colorado requires an affidavit to prove a Notice of Intent was filed. Include this with your lien document.

Liens must also meet the margin requirements outlined by CRS 30-10-406(3)(a):
All documents must have a top margin of at least one inch and a left, right and bottom margin of at least ½ inch. The recorder may refuse to file any document that does not meet these standards.

This information will be filled into the proper blank form. This office does not provide legal forms.

What are the margin & page size requirements to file a lien in Jefferson County?

According to C.R.S. 30-10-406(3)(a), all documents submitted for recording in Colorado must meet the following margin and size requirements:

-Pages must be 8.5 x 14 or less.
-All documents must have a top margin of one (1) inch and a half (.5) inch margin on the bottom and sides.
-Recorders may refuse any documents that do not meet these standards.

How can I make payment to the Jefferson County Clerk and Recorder's Office?

The Jefferson County Clerk and Recorder’s Office accepts check or money order as forms of payment.

What are the filing fees to record a mechanics lien in Jefferson County?

The Jefferson County Clerk and Recorder’s recording fees are as follows:

Recording Fees
Letter or Legal-size document (up to 8 ½” x 14”):
First Page $13.00
Each Additional Page of Same Document $ 5.00

Federal Tax Documents: $8.00 (per document)

Copy Fees

Documents
Regular Copy: $0.25 per page
Certified Copy: $0.25 per page + $1.00 per document

How do I get a recorded copy of my lien from the Jefferson County Clerk and Recorder's Office?

You can obtain a recorded copy of your lien in person, by mail or online.

In Person

You can visit the Jefferson County Clerk & Recorder’s Office located at:

100 Jefferson County Parkway, Suite 2560
Golden, CO 80419

Phone: 303-271-8121

Office Hours
Monday – Friday
8:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.

Copy fees are as follows:

Regular Copy: $0.25 per page
Certified Copy: $0.25 per page + $1.00 per document

Mail

You can request a copy by mail. Fill out the copy order form here: https://www.jeffco.us/DocumentCenter/View/10493/Document-Copy-Order-Form-PDF

Mail this form along with your check or money order to:

Jefferson County Clerk and Recorder
100 Jefferson County Parkway, Suite 2560
Golden, CO 80419-2560

Online

You can search for Jefferson County Clerk & Recorder’s real estate records online at: https://landrecords.co.jefferson.co.us/

Images are available by subscription only and may be unavailable while system backups are in progress. For subscription information, you can call 303-271-8122.

Top Payment Experts & Services in Jefferson to help you File Your Colorado Mechanics Lien.

Featured Lien Filing Service
Lien Filing Service
Learn Who are the Fast Paying and Slow Paying Contractors in Colorado
Starbucks Coffee Company
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
77 / 100
View
Hawkeye Construction
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
75 / 100
View
Aggregate Industries
Rating 5.0
B
Payment Score
84 / 100
View
Diversified Builders Inc.
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
75 / 100
View
See other Lists of Contractors and How to Best Work With Them