Guide to filing a mechanics lien in Adams County

If you need to file a mechanics lien in Adams County, you’re in the right place. Colorado lien law is complicated, and preparing your lien claim for the Adams County Clerk and Recorder is no small task. To help you get started, this page provides you with useful information about Colorado lien law and Adams County’s own requirements.

Here are three key areas of Colorado lien law that apply to you:

  1. Colorado has strict preliminary notice requirements. Lien claimants must send a notice of intent to lien to the property owner and provide an affidavit of properly serving that notice with their lien claim. On top of that, lien claimants must also send a completed lien statement to the property owner with the notice of intent. This means you need to prepare and execute your lien claim before you send the preliminary notice!
  2. Mechanics lien deadlines in Colorado couldn’t be more confusing. The standard deadline to file a mechanics lien in Colorado is 4 months after last work. However, the deadline to file could be shortened to 2 months based on your role in the construction project and the nature of the project itself. Take a look at our page dedicated to mechanics lien deadlines in Colorado: How Long Do I Have to File A Mechanics Lien in Colorado?
  3. Your lien claim could be invalidated if you don’t take action. All lien claims must be enforced within 60 days of filing or they’re tossed out.

The rest of this page serves as a guide to the Adams County Clerk and Recorder’s Office. Below, you’ll find frequently asked questions that outline the Adams County Clerk and Recorder’s recording requirements, formatting requirements, recording fees and copy fees, and contact information as well as links to helpful resources.

Lastly, you can check out our Step-by-Step Guide to Filing a Mechanics Lien in Colorado for a detailed walkthrough of the entire mechanics lien process in Colorado.

Where is the Adams County Clerk and Recorder's Office that files mechanic liens?

You can file your mechanics lien in person at the Adams County Clerk’s Office located at:

4430 S. Adams Parkway, Suite E2400
Brighton, CO 80601
Phone: 720-523-6020

Office hours:

Mon-Fri
8 am – 4:30 pm

By mail:
Adams County Clerk & Recorder
P.O. Box 5012
Brighton, CO 80601

What is Adams County's Recording Backlog?

The Adams County Clerk and Recorder’s Office does not publicly disclose information on recording backlog.

Should I file my mechanics lien in Adams County?

If your construction project is located in Adams County, then yes, you should file your lien here.

What are Adams County's requirements for recording a mechanics lien?

The Adams County Clerk and Recorder’s recording requirements are as follows:

1. The lien must include the names and addresses of the property owners
2. The name and basic information of the claimant (you)
3. The name and information of the person who furnished the labor and materials
4. The name and information of the principal contractor
5. The legal description of the property, which can be found at the Adams County Clerk and Recorder’s Office
6. The lien amount. Be careful to get this number right–overestimating the lien amount can lead to significant fines.
7. The lien must be signed and notarized by the claimant (you)
8. Lastly, the state of Colorado requires an affidavit to prove a Notice of Intent was filed. Include this with your lien document.

Liens must also meet the margin requirements outlined by CRS 30-10-406(3)(a):
All documents must have a top margin of at least one inch and a left, right and bottom margin of at least ½ inch. The recorder may refuse to file any document that does not meet these standards.

This information will be filled into the proper blank form. This office does not provide legal forms.

What are the margin & page size requirements to file a lien in Adams County?

According to C.R.S. 30-10-406(3)(a), all documents submitted for recording in Colorado must meet the following margin and size requirements:

-Pages must be 8.5 x 14 or less.
-All documents must have a top margin of one (1) inch and a half (.5) inch margin on the bottom and sides.
-Recorders may refuse any documents that do not meet these standards.

How can I make payment to the Adams County Clerk and Recorder's Office?

The Adams County Recorder’s Office accepts cash, check, and all major credit/debit cards.

Keep in mind that a 3% service fee is added to all debit and credit transactions.

What are the filing fees to record a mechanics lien in Adams County?

The Adams County Clerk and Recorder’s recording fees are as follows:

Recording

-$13 for the first page
-$5 for all subsequent pages

Copies

-$.25 per page
-$.25 per page, and $1 for each document for certification

How do I get a recorded copy of my lien from the Adams County Clerk and Recorder's Office?

You can get a recorded copy of your lien in Adams County by:

-Going to the office in person at 4430 S. Adams Parkway, Suite E2400

-Mailing a request to Adams County Clerk & Recorder, P.O. Box 5012, Brighton, CO 80601

Top Payment Experts & Services in Adams to help you File Your Colorado Mechanics Lien.

Featured Lien Filing Service
Lien Filing Service
Learn Who are the Fast Paying and Slow Paying Contractors in Colorado
Zachry Group
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
56 / 100
View
Craig Realty Group
Rating 5.0
B
Payment Score
81 / 100
View
M2 Concrete & Excavating
Rating 5.0
A
Payment Score
95 / 100
View
Paldamas Construction
Rating 5.0
B
Payment Score
82 / 100
View
See other Lists of Contractors and How to Best Work With Them