Guide to filing a mechanics lien in Pueblo County

Because Colorado has some of the most complicated lien laws in the country, filing a mechanics lien in Pueblo County can be quite the task. Before your record your lien claim with the Pueblo County Clerk and Recorder, it’s important to make sure you meet all the prerequisites, include all the necessary information, and use the correct format. Otherwise, your lien claim could be rejected.

Here are three key points in Colorado lien law:

  1. Colorado’s preliminary notice requirements require extra attention. Lien claimants need to submit a lien statement to the property owner along with the notice of intent to lien. Completing this notice means researching, preparing, and notarizing the mechanics lien before you send the notice. Additionally, lien claimants must include an affidavit of proper delivery of the notice to the property owner when the lien claim is filed.
  2. The lien deadline in Colorado changes depending on the circumstances of the construction project. The base deadline to file a lien mechanics lien in Colorado is 4 months after last furnishing of labor or materials. However, if you didn’t provide materials or you’re working on a 2 family home and there’s a bonafide purchaser of the dwelling, the deadline is 2 months after last improvement. Learn more about the 4 month and 2 month mechanics lien deadlines here: Colorado Mechanics lien FAQs.
  3. You have 60 days to enforce your lien claim in Colorado. Failure to enforce within the deadline means your lien claim is invalid.

If the project is located in Pueblo County, you’ll need to record your mechanics lien with the Pueblo County Clerk and Recorder’s Office. Use the frequently asked questions below to find the Clerk and Recorder’s recording requirements, formatting requirements, recording fees, contact information, and much more.

Lastly, check out our Step-by-Step Guide to Filing a Mechanics Lien in Colorado where you can find a detailed explanation of the entire mechanics lien preparation process in Colorado.

Where is the Pueblo County Clerk and Recorder's Office that files Mechanics liens?

You can file your mechanics liens in person at the Pueblo County Clerk and Recorder’s Office located at:

215 W. 10th Street
Pueblo, Colorado 81003

Phone: 719-583-6507
Fax: 719-583-4894

What is Pueblo County's Recording Backlog?

The Pueblo County Clerk and Recorder’s Office does not publicly disclose information on recording backlog.

Should I file my mechanics lien in Pueblo County?

If your construction project is located in Pueblo County, then yes, you should file your lien here.

What are Pueblo County's requirements for recording a mechanics lien?

The recording requirements for mechanics liens at the Pueblo County Clerk and Recorder’s Office are as follows:

  1. You need to make sure you include the correct files. Failure to do this could get your lien claim rejected.
  2. The document should be completely legible for imaging.
  3. Your mechanics lien must have a margin of 1 inch at the top and a margin on 0.5 inches on the sides and bottom.
  4. Send your documents in the order in which they’re to be recorded.
  5. You must provide a return address along with your mechanics lien claim.

You must also include this information in your lien claim:

  1. Your full name and address.
  2. The property owner’s name and address.
  3. The hiring party’s name and address.
  4. If an attorney is representing you, include their name and address.
  5. The legal description for the property.
  6. The lien amount.
  7. Include the required affidavit of properly serving the notice of intent to the property owner.

What are the margin & page size requirements to file a lien in Pueblo County?

The margin and page size requirements at the Pueblo County Clerk and Recorder’s Office are as follows:

  1. Mechanics liens must be printed on paper no larger than 8.5 x 14 inches.
  2. Mechanics liens in Pueblo County must have a top margin of 1 inch with a margin of 0.5 inches on the sides and bottom.

Documents that do not meet these requirements may be rejected.

How can I make payment to the Pueblo County Clerk and Recorder's Office?

The Clerk and Recorder accepts these forms of payment:

  • Cash
  • Check
  • Debit and credit

What are the filing fees to record a mechanics lien in Pueblo County?

The Pueblo County Clerk and Recorder’s recording fees are as follows:

Recording Fees

Documents: $13.00 1st page $5.00 each additional page

Copy Fees

Copies of Documents: $0.25 per page
Certification: $1.00 per document
Non-digitized copies: $1.25 per page

How do I get a recorded copy of my lien from the Pueblo County Clerk and Recorder's Office?

You can obtain a recorded copy of your lien in person at the Clerk and Recorder’s Office located at:

215 W. 10th Street
Pueblo, Colorado 81003

Phone: 719-583-6507
Fax: 719-583-4894

Copy fees are as follows:

Copies of Documents: $0.25 per page
Certification: $1.00 per document
Non-digitized copies: $1.25 per page

You can also search for Pueblo County Clerk and Recorder’s documents
recorded since May 1, 1991 online at:
http://erecording.co.pueblo.co.us/recorder/web/

Top Payment Experts & Services in Pueblo to help you File Your Colorado Mechanics Lien.

Featured Lien Filing Service
Lien Filing Service
Learn Who are the Fast Paying and Slow Paying Contractors in Colorado
Metropolitan Glass
Rating 5.0
B
Payment Score
81 / 100
View
Public Storage Facility Services
Rating 5.0
A
Payment Score
93 / 100
View
Starbucks Coffee Company
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
77 / 100
View
Crescent Real Estate LLC
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
59 / 100
View
See other Lists of Contractors and How to Best Work With Them