Guide to filing a mechanics lien in Larimer County

Colorado lien law is complicated, and preparing a lien claim in Colorado requires more work from the claimant than in other states. If you need to file a mechanics lien with the Larimer County Clerk and Recorder, you need to do your research to make sure you get everything right the first time. This page helps you do that by providing you with useful information about Colorado lien law and the Larimer County Clerk’s own requirements.

Let’s begin with a few unique aspects of Colorado lien law:

  1. Colorado has unique preliminary notice requirements. Along with sending a notice of intent to lien to the property owner, lien claimants must also provide an affidavit that proves the notice was properly submitted with their lien claim. But that’s not all–you also need to provide the property owner with a complete lien statement along with the notice of intent. This requires you to fully prepare and execute the mechanics lien before you even send the preliminary notice.
  2. The deadline to file a mechanics lien is different depending on the project. Usually, lien claimants have 4 months after last work to file a mechanics lien. But, depending on your role in the construction project and the nature of the project itself, the deadline could be shortened to 2 months. Explaining mechanics lien deadlines requires its own article. To learn more, refer to our page about Colorado mechanics lien deadlines here: How Long Do I Have to File A Mechanics Lien in Colorado?
  3. You have 60 days to enforce the mechanics lien. If you don’t enforce your lien claim within that deadline, the lien claim is invalidated.

Below, you’ll find frequently asked questions about the Larimer County Clerk and Recorder’s recording requirements, page size and margin requirements, recording fees, contact information, and information about eRecording your mechanics lien. You can also use this page to find links to eFile your mechanics lien with Levelset in just a few clicks.

If you’re looking for a detailed description of the Colorado mechanics lien process, check out our Step-by-Step Guide to Filing a Mechanics Lien in Colorado.

Where is the Larimer County Clerk and Recorder's Office that files mechanic liens?

You can file a mechanics lien in Larimer County at the Larimer County Clerk and Recorder’s Office located at:

200 W. Oak Street, First Floor
Fort Collins, CO 80521
Phone: (970) 498-7860
Fax: (970) 498-7906

Hours: Monday-Friday, 8:00am-5:00pm

You can also record your mechanics lien by mail at the Larimer County Clerk and Recorder’s mailing address:

Larimer County Clerk and Recorder
Attn: Recording Department
PO Box 1280
Fort Collins, CO 80522

Lastly, you can eRecord your lien in Larimer County using any one of the following eRecording services:

What is Larimer County's Recording Backlog?

The Larimer County Clerk and Recorder doesn’t publicly disclose information regarding their recording backlog. However, documents will typically be returned to you within 1 to 2 weeks after recording.

Should I file my mechanics lien in Larimer County?

If the construction project was located in Larimer County, then you need to file your mechanics lien in Larimer County.

What are Larimer County's requirements for recording a mechanics lien?

The requirements for recording a mechanics lien in Larimer County are as follows:

  1. You must include the correct and exact fee.
  2. Documents must be originals and the text must be legible.
  3. According to C.R.S. 30-10-406 (3)(a), all documents to be recorded must have a top margin of 1 inch and a 0.5 inch margin on both sides and bottom.
  4. Checks must be written to the Larimer County Clerk. Documents with checks addressed to the wrong party will be rejected.
  5. A return address must be written on the first page of the mechanics lien to be recorded.
  6. Embossed seals must be inked, or darkened, so they can be read by the imaging equipment.
  7. Documents must be sent in the order in which you’d like them recorded.
  8. Mechanics liens to be recorded must be sent to the correct county.

Additionally, make sure you include this information in your lien claim:

  1. Your full name and address, along with the names and addresses of the hiring party, the property owner, and your attorney (if applicable).
  2. The legal description of the property.
  3. The lien amount based on the value of labor and materials that you provided for the construction project.
  4. The lien claim must be signed and notarized.
  5. Lastly, you must include an affidavit that proves the notice of intent was properly submitted to the property owner.

What are the margin & page size requirements to file a lien in Larimer County?

The margin and page size requirements for mechanics liens in Larimer County are as follows:

  1. All mechanics liens must have a top margin of 1 inch and a 0.5 inch margin on the sides and bottom.
  2. Mechanics liens must be printed on pages that are 8.5 x 14 or less.

Failure to meet these formatting requirements could cause your lien claim to be rejected.

How can I make payment to the Larimer County Clerk and Recorder's Office?

The Larimer County Clerk and Recorder accepts the following forms of payment:

  • Cash
  • Checks
  • Credit and debit cards

Note that credit payments are only accepted in person and are subject to additional charges.

What are the filing fees to record a mechanics lien in Larimer County?

The fee schedule at the Larimer County Clerk and Recorder’s Office is as follows:

Recording

  • First page: $13
  • Each additional page: $5

Copies

  • Copies cost $0.25 per page for pages up to 8.5 x 14 inches in size.
  • Certification of copies costs $1 per document on top of the regular copy fees.

How do I get a recorded copy of my lien from the Larimer County Clerk and Recorder's Office?

To get a recorded copy of your lien in Larimer County, you have three options.

In Person

You can go to the Larimer County Clerk and Recorder’s Office in person at:

200 W. Oak Street, First Floor
Fort Collins, CO 80521
Phone: (970) 498-7860
Fax: (970) 498-7906

By Mail

You can send a request to the Larimer County Clerk’s mailing address at:

Larimer County Clerk and Recorder
Attn: Orders
P.O. Box 1280
Fort Collins, CO 80522

If you’d like to overnight a request, you can send it to:

Larimer County Clerk and Recorder
Attn: Orders
200 W. Oak Street, Suite 1000
Fort Collins, CO 80521

Online

Lastly, you can search Larimer’s Public Records online at this address:

https://records.larimer.org/landmarkweb

Top Payment Experts & Services in Larimer to help you File Your Colorado Mechanics Lien.

Featured Lien Filing Service
Lien Filing Service
Learn Who are the Fast Paying and Slow Paying Contractors in Colorado
Rustic Timber And Deck
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
75 / 100
View
Commercial Fitness Solutions
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
75 / 100
View
Full Scope Civil Group
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
75 / 100
View
Sprung Construction
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
75 / 100
View
See other Lists of Contractors and How to Best Work With Them