About Nevada Preliminary Notices
Nevada is a traditional “notice state” in that Nevada preliminary notices (also called a Notice of Right to Lien or 31-day Notice) are generally required to be sent by project participants in order to retain the right to file a mechanics ien in the event of nonpayment.
Typically all project participants in Nevada are required to send a Notice of Right to Lien within 31 days of the date that labor and/or materials were first provided. This requirement does to apply to parties who contracted directly with the property owner or wage laborers (employees of a project participant). for parties for whom it is required, the Notice of Right to Lien must be sent to both the property owner and the general contractor.
Just because they are exempt from the general 31-day Notice of Right to Lien requirement doesn’t mean the direct contractors are exempt from all notice requirements, however. There is a specific notice in Nevada, which can be called a Notice to Owner/Subcontractor or a “lien information notice” that is supposed to be provided by a direct contractor. This notice is set forth by NRS Section 108.246, and while it doesn’t impact the ability of a direct contractor to file a valid lien claim, they may be assessed a penalty by the State Contractors Board if they do not deliver a copy of the lien information notice to property owners and each subcontractor on a project.
In addition to the above requirements, there is an additional notice required for residential projects. On all Nevada residential projects, a notice of intent to lien is required to be provided to the owner at least 15 days prior to filing a lien if a payment dispute has escalated to the point where a lien filing is required. Unlike in many states, the service of this notice of this notice of intent extends the period in which a lien may be filed for period for 15 days.