Oklahoma Mechanics Lien Guide and FAQs

Last updated June 25, 2020
If contractors and suppliers don’t get paid on a construction project in Oklahoma, they can file a mechanics lien to secure payment. A mechanics lien is a legal tool that provides the unpaid party with a security interest in the property. This page breaks down the rules, requirements, and deadlines you need to follow to file an Oklahoma mechanics lien.

“Levelset takes something that is pretty complex and makes it easy.”

Ready to file?

File A Lien Now

When should a mechanics lien be used in the payment process?

Start a job

Preliminary notice
slow
pay?

Escalate payment problem

Notice of intent to lien
no
pay?

Demand payment

Mechanics lien

Oklahoma lien law deadlines for:

Preliminary notice deadlines
None

None, but unclear if notice is required on owner-occupied projects - best practice to send.

Send Your Notice
Mechanics lien deadlines
4 months

Lien must be filed w/in 4 months after last labor or materials furnished.

File A Lien Fast
Enforcement deadlines
1 year

An action to enforce an Oklahoma mechanics lien must be initiated within 1 year of the date on which the lien was recorded.

However, at least 90 days must have passed from the date on which the lien was recorded prior to initiating the enforcement action.

Preliminary notice deadlines
75 days

Preliminary notice required within 75 days of last delivering labor and/or materials if owner-occupied or aggregate claim $10,000 or more.

Send Your Notice
Mechanics lien deadlines
90 days

All lien claimants without a direct contract with the owner must file a lien statement within 90 days from the date labor or materials were last furnished to the property.

File A Lien Fast
Enforcement deadlines
1 year

An action to enforce an Oklahoma mechanics lien must be initiated within 1 year of the date on which the lien was recorded.

However, at least 90 days must have passed from the date on which the lien was recorded prior to initiating the enforcement action.

Preliminary notice deadlines
75 days

Preliminary notice required within 75 days of last delivering labor and/or materials if owner-occupied or aggregate claim $10,000 or more.

Send Your Notice
Mechanics lien deadlines
90 days

All lien claimants without a direct contract with the owner must file a lien statement within 90 days from the date labor or materials were last furnished to the property.

File A Lien Fast
Enforcement deadlines
1 year

An action to enforce an Oklahoma mechanics lien must be initiated within 1 year of the date on which the lien was recorded.

However, at least 90 days must have passed from the date on which the lien was recorded prior to initiating the enforcement action.