North Carolina Mechanics Lien Guide and FAQs

Last updated July 27, 2020
If contractors and suppliers don’t get paid on a construction project in North Carolina, they can file a mechanics lien to secure payment. A mechanics lien is a legal tool that provides the unpaid party with a security interest in the property. This page breaks down the rules, requirements, and deadlines you need to follow to file a North Carolina mechanics lien.

“Levelset takes something that is pretty complex and makes it easy.”

Ready to file?

File A Lien Now

When should a mechanics lien be used in the payment process?

Start a job

Preliminary notice
slow
pay?

Escalate payment problem

Notice of intent to lien
no
pay?

Demand payment

Mechanics lien

North Carolina lien law deadlines for:

Preliminary notice deadlines
15 days

Notice to Lien Agent required within 15 days from first furnishing labor and/or materials.

Send Your Notice
Mechanics lien deadlines
120 days

Lien filed and served within 120 days from last furnishing labor or materials.

File A Lien Fast
Enforcement deadlines
180 days

An action to enforce a North Carolina mechanics lien must be initiated within 180 days after the claimant's last furnishing of labor or materials.

Note that this deadline runs from last furnishing, so it is possible that the deadline could be as short as 60 days from the filing of the lien itself. This deadline may not be extended, and missing the deadline invalidates the lien.

Preliminary notice deadlines
15 days

Notice to Lien Agent required within 15 days from first furnishing labor and/or materials. Notice of Subcontract if Notice of Contract Filed by Prime Contractor.

Send Your Notice
Mechanics lien deadlines
120 days

Lien filed and served within 120 days from last furnishing labor or materials.

File A Lien Fast
Enforcement deadlines
180 days

An action to enforce a North Carolina mechanics lien must be initiated within 180 days after the claimant's last furnishing of labor or materials.

Note that this deadline runs from last furnishing, so it is possible that the deadline could be as short as 60 days from the filing of the lien itself. This deadline may not be extended, and missing the deadline invalidates the lien.

Preliminary notice deadlines
15 days

Notice to Lien Agent required within 15 days from first furnishing labor and/or materials. Notice of Subcontract if Notice of Contract Filed by Prime Contractor.

Send Your Notice
Mechanics lien deadlines
120 days

Lien filed and served within 120 days from last furnishing labor or materials.

File A Lien Fast
Enforcement deadlines
180 days

An action to enforce a North Carolina mechanics lien must be initiated within 180 days after the claimant's last furnishing of labor or materials.

Note that this deadline runs from last furnishing, so it is possible that the deadline could be as short as 60 days from the filing of the lien itself. This deadline may not be extended, and missing the deadline invalidates the lien.