About Wyoming Preliminary Notices
In Wyoming, mechanics lien law requires two different types of preliminary notices for all project participants. The due date for each notice varies. All project participants wishing to file a mechanics lien in Wyoming must first file a Preliminary Notice of Right to Lien with the property owner.
General contractors must provide preliminary notices before receiving any form of payment from the owner. Sub-contractors and suppliers must provide preliminary notice within 30 days of first providing labor or materials.
The secondary, but still just as important, Notice of Intent to lien must be sent no later than 20 days prior to filing a lien claim. All preliminary notices should be sent to the property owner only via certified mail with return receipt requested.
Failure to submit these notices on time will end in a forfeit of lien rights.
Wyoming also requires preliminary notices to be sent on public projects. Preliminary notice is generally required on public works projects of more than $50,000 in order to preserve a claimant’s right to make a bond claim. There are exceptions to this notice requirement, such as it is not specifically required that notice be given if the general fails to post a notice at the jobsite citing the relevant law, but it is likely advisable to send notice on all projects where the original contract is more than $50,000, whether or not the general’s notice is posted on the jobsite.