Guide to filing a mechanics lien in Lyon County

Although contractors and suppliers have strong lien rights in Nevada, there are rules and limitations that lien claimants must follow in order to successfully file a mechanics lien quickly and efficiently. And, if you’re facing non-payment after a construction project in Lyon County, the last thing you need is an unforeseen delay at the Lyon County Recorder’s Office.

This page compiles useful information and frequently asked questions to help you navigate Nevada lien law and Lyon County’s requirements. To begin, here are three areas of Nevada lien law that you should be familiar with:

  1. Some participants on a construction project may not have the right to file a mechanics lien. Material suppliers and unlicensed contractors who are doing work that requires a license likely cannot file a lien claim if needed.
  2. Lien deadlines in Nevada are short. Lien claimants normally have 90 days to file a lien claim; however, there are situations in which that deadline is shortened to 40 days.
  3. Nevada has strict preliminary notice requirements. Failure to send a preliminary notice to the property owner could cost you your lien rights.

To learn more about these rules or to find the necessary lien documents, check out our Nevada Mechanics Lien Law FAQ. If you’re looking for more information about preliminary notices, refer to our guide to Nevada Preliminary Notices.

Below are a set of frequently asked questions that provide you with information about the Lyon County Recorder’s office. You can find Lyon County’s recording requirements, recording fees, page size and margin requirements, as well as information regarding eRecording and eFiling your lien quickly with Levelset.

If your looking for a detailed description of the mechanics lien process itself in Nevada, take a look at our Step-by-Step Guide to Filing a Mechanics Lien in Nevada.

Where is the Lyon County Recorder's Office that files mechanics lies?

You can record your mechanics lien in person at the Lyon County Recorder located at:

27 S. Main Street
Yerington, Nevada, 89447
Phone: 775-463-6581
Fax: (775) 463-5305

Hours: Mon-Fri, 8:00am-5:00pm

What is Lyon County's recording backlog?

The Lyon County Recorder doesn’t publicly disclose information regarding recording backlogs.

Should my mechanics lien be filed in Lyon County, or some other county?

If the project is located in Lyon County, then you need to file your mechanics lien in Lyon County.

What are Lyon County's requirements for recording a mechanics lien?

The requirements for recording a mechanics lien with the Lyon County Recorder are as follows:

  1. All documents must be clearly readable and capable of producing a legible imaged record.
  2. Names of parties to be indexed must be contained in the document.
  3. Names must be printed or typed under all signatures.
  4. Documents affecting real property must be properly acknowledged.
  5. Documents should be easily identifiable by a title.
  6. The APN must be included on any document related to the transfer of real property and documents that contain a legal description.
  7. Return address must be included.
  8. Any document that contains a Social Security Number must have a statement stating law that allows for it.
  9. If a document includes a legal description of real property that is provided in metes and bounds, the document must include the name and mailing address of the person who prepared the legal description or the document number where the legal description previously appeared.
  10. A 3″ x 3″ space is required in the upper right corner on the first page of every document.

You also need to include the following information in your Nevada mechanics lien:

  1. Your information, the owners information, the hiring party’s information, and your attorney’s information (if applicable).
  2. The amount of the lien claim.
  3. A statement of the contract and all payment information on the project.

For a full breakdown of everything you need to include, refer to our Step-by-Step Guide to Filing a Mechanics Lien in Nevada.

What are the margin & page size requirements to file a lien in Lyon County?

The margin and page size requirements in Lyon County are as follows:

  1. Mechanics liens must be printed on 20 pound, 8.5 x 11 paper.
  2. Mechanics liens should be printed in black ink only.
  3. Font size may be no smaller than 10 point.
  4. The top of the first page must include a 3×3 inch square in the top right-hand corner, and it should have a 1 inch margin on the sides and bottom.
  5. Each subsequent page must have a margin of 1 inch on all sides.

How can I make payment to the Lyon County Recorder?

The Lyon County Recorder accepts the following forms of payment:

  • All major credit or debit cards
  • Cash
  • Money order
  • Checks

What are the filing fees to record a mechanics lien in Lyon County?

Recording a mechanics lien in Lyon County Costs a flat fee of $40.

Copies cost $1 per page, and certification of copies costs $4 per document.

How do I get a recorded copy of my lien from the Lyon County Recorder's Office?

To get a recorded copy of your lien in Lyon County, you have two options:

In person

You can request a recorded copy of your lien from the Recorder’s Office in person at:

27 S. Main Street
Yerington, Nevada, 89447
Phone: 775-463-6581
Fax: (775) 463-5305

Online

You can also search Lyon County’s Public Records at the following address:

https://records.lyon-county.org/recorderweb/user/disclaimer.

Do I have the right to file a mechanics lien in Lyon County, NV?

The good news is that most parties on a project have lien rights in Nevada. That is, if you provided $500 or more in labor or materials, you most likely have the right to file a mechanics lien in Lyon County.

The only party that may not have lien rights are material suppliers. Along with that, unlicensed contractors may not have the right to file a mechanics lien either. For a comprehensive description of these regulations, see our Nevada Mechanics Lien Law FAQ.

What is the deadline to file a mechanics lien in Lyon County?

Lyon County follows the Nevada State deadline, which is 90 days of last work performed or the official completion of work (whichever comes later).

Top Payment Experts & Services in Lyon to help you File Your Nevada Mechanics Lien.

Featured Lien Filing Service
Lien Filing Service
Learn Who are the Fast Paying and Slow Paying Contractors in Nevada
Boyd Gaming Corporation
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
75 / 100
View
City of Henderson
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
76 / 100
View
General Growth Properties
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
73 / 100
View
Rock hard Concrete
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
63 / 100
View
See other Lists of Contractors and How to Best Work With Them