What is my deadline to file a lien if I provided material and labor? Also, if I need to file an extension for my notice do I have to call that in?
Jul 30, 2019
Great question! In Colorado, the deadline to file a mechanics lien is generally 4 months after the claimant's last furnishing date. The only time that deadline changes is for laborers who don't provide any material to the project, or when work was done on a 1-2 family home which is sold.
Keep in mind, though, that is deadline is actually a hair shorter than it appears. In Colorado, a lien claimant must send a Notice of Intent to Lien at least 10 days before filing their lien. So, keep that in mind when calculating deadlines. You can learn more about the ins and outs of Coloado lien law, including info on deadlines and required notices, here: Colorado Mechanics Lien Guide and FAQs
As you mentioned, Colorado is one of very few states where the deadline to file a mechanics lien can be extended. A Notice to Extend Time To File Lien can be ordered through the Levelset platform here. But, if you're having trouble navigating the site, you can always call us and a Payment Expert can help you. You can call us at the number at the bottom of this page (under "Contact Us").