Guide to filing a mechanics lien in Clark County

Clark County is the biggest county in Nevada, meaning public offices can be busy and wait times can be long. If you need to file a mechanics lien with the Clark County Recorder, the best thing you can do is make sure you get everything right the first time. Otherwise, you could encounter delays that prolong your payment even further.

To help you avoid those delays, this page compiles useful information about Nevada lien law and the Clark County Recorder’s requirements. Before we get into Clark County, here are a few features of Nevada State law that you should be aware of:

  1. Although most project participants have good lien rights, there are a few groups that may not be covered. This includes material suppliers and unlicensed contractors who are doing work that requires a license.
  2. Nevada deadlines are quick. The general deadline to file a mechanics lien in Nevada is 90 days after last work. However, there are some stipulations that shorten it to 40 days.
  3. Preliminary notices are generally required in Nevada. Failure to submit one within the deadline could cost you your right to lien.
  4. A copy of the lien must be sent to the property owner. Failure to do this within the prescribed deadline could invalidate your lien.

For more information on these rules, refer to our Nevada Mechanics Lien Law FAQ. For more information about notices, refer to our page about Nevada Preliminary Notices.

Below, you’ll find information about the Clark County Recorder’s recording requirements, formatting requirements, filing and copy fees, and contact information. You can also find out how to record your lien by mail or eFile your lien in Clark County with Levelset in just a few clicks.

For a complete breakdown of the filing process in Nevada, check out our Step-by-Step Guide to Filing a Mechanics Lien in Nevada.

Where is the Clark County Recorder's Office that files mechanics lies?

You can record your mechanics lien in person at the Clark County Recorder’s Office located at:

Clark County Recorder’s Office
500 S. Grand Central Pkwy, 2nd Floor
Las Vegas, NV 89155-1510
Phone: (702) 455-4336

Doña Maria Plaza
3211 N. Tenaya Way, Suite 118
Las Vegas, NV 89129
Phone: (702) 455-4336

Henderson City Hall
240 S. Water Street
Henderson, NV 89015
Phone: (702) 455-4336

Hours: Mon-Fri, 8:00am-5:00pm

You can also record your lien by mail with the Clark County Recorder at the following address:

500 S. Grand Central Pkwy, 2nd Floor
Box 551510
Las Vegas, NV 89155-1510

Please note that all mail must be sent to the main office on Grand Central Parkway–do not send mail to the branch offices.

What is Clark County's recording backlog?

The Clark County Recorder doesn’t publicly disclose information regarding recording backlogs.

Should my mechanics lien be filed in Clark County, or some other county?

If the project is located in Clark County, then you need to file your lien with the Clark County Recorder.

What are Clark County's requirements for recording a mechanics lien?

The recording requirements for mechanics liens in Clark County are as follows:

  1. Your lien should include the 11 digit parcel number in the top left-hand corner.
  2. Your lien must include a cover sheet with a 3×3 inch space in the top right-hand corner. Cover sheets can be downloaded here.
  3. Documents must be clearly legible.
  4. Names must be printed or typed under signatures.
  5. Mechanics liens require notarty acknowledgement in Clark County, NV.
  6. Include a return address with your lien.
  7. You must include the legal description of the property in question.
  8. If recording by mail, you must include the correct payment enclosed with the lien.

You also need to include the following information in your Nevada mechanics lien:

  1. Your information, the owners information, the hiring party’s information, and your attorney’s information (if applicable).
  2. The amount of the lien claim.
  3. A statement of the contract and all payment information on the project.

For a full breakdown of everything you need to include, refer to our Step-by-Step Guide to Filing a Mechanics Lien in Nevada.

What are the margin & page size requirements to file a lien in Clark County?

The margin and page size requirements in Clark County are as follows:

  1. Mechanics liens must be printed on 20 pound, 8.5 x 11 paper.
  2. Mechanics liens should be printed in black ink only.
  3. Font size may be no smaller than 10 point.
  4. The top of the first page must include a 3×3 inch square in the top right-hand corner, and it should have a 1 inch margin on the sides and bottom.
  5. Each subsequent page must have a margin of 1 inch on all sides.

How can I make payment to the Clark County Recorder?

The Clark County Recorder accepts the following forms of payment:

  • All major credit or debit cards
  • Cash
  • Money order
  • Cashier’s checks
  • Company checks

Please note that credit and debit transactions may only be completed through the website or in person, and a service fee is added on top.

Additionally, note that cash payments may not be made when recording your lien in the mail.

What are the filing fees to record a mechanics lien in Clark County?

Recording a mechanics lien in Clark County costs a flat fee of $42.

Copies cost $1 per page, and certification costs $4 per document.

How do I get a recorded copy of my lien from the Clark County Recorder's Office?

To obtain a recorded copy of your lien, you have three options.

In person

You can get a recorded copy of your lien by going to the Clark County Recorder’s Office in person at:

500 S. Grand Central Parkway, 2nd Floor Box 51510
Las Vegas, Nevada, 89155
Phone: (702) 455-4336

By mail

You can also send a request by mail to the following address:

500 S. Grand Central Pkwy, 2nd Floor
Box 551510
Las Vegas, NV 89155-1510

Online

Lastly, you can search Clark County’s Public Records online at the following address:

https://www.clarkcountynv.gov/Recorder.

Do I have the right to file a mechanics lien in Clark County, NV?

The good news is that most parties on a project have lien rights in Nevada. That is, if you provided $500 or more in labor or materials, you most likely have the right to file a mechanics lien in Clark County.

The only party that may not have lien rights are material suppliers. Along with that, unlicensed contractors may not have the right to file a mechanics lien either. For a comprehensive description of these regulations, see our Nevada Mechanics Lien Law FAQ.

What is the deadline to file a mechanics lien in Clark County?

Clark County follows the Nevada State deadline, which is 90 days of last work performed or the official completion of work (whichever comes later).

Top Payment Experts & Services in Clark to help you File Your Nevada Mechanics Lien.

Featured Lien Filing Service
Lien Filing Service
Learn Who are the Fast Paying and Slow Paying Contractors in Nevada
Hardesty & Associates Inc
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
77 / 100
View
Defense Base Services (DBSI)
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
75 / 100
View
MMC Inc.
Rating 5.0
B
Payment Score
81 / 100
View
Black Iron Reinforcing
Rating 4.7
A
Payment Score
85 / 100
View
See other Lists of Contractors and How to Best Work With Them