Guide to filing a mechanics lien in Washoe County

If you need to file a mechanics lien with the Washoe County Recorder’s Office, the first thing you should do is your research. Since Washoe County is one of the biggest counties in Nevada, wait times at the Recorder’s Office may be longer, meaning mistakes in your lien claim prolongs payment even further. To help you avoid those mistakes that cause delays, this page includes useful information about Nevada lien law and the Washoe County Recorder’s requirements.

Here are a few interesting parts of Nevada lien law:

  1. Some participants on a construction project can’t file a mechanics lien. This includes material suppliers and unlicensed contractors who are doing work that requires a license.
  2. Mechanics lien deadlines in Nevada are relatively short. Normally, the lien claimants in Nevada have 90 days after last work to file a lien claim. However, there are a few limitations that shorten that window to 40 days.
  3. Lien claimants must adhere to the preliminary notice requirements. Lien claimants must submit a preliminary notice to the property owner shortly after first work in order to preserve their lien rights.
  4. Lien claimants must send a copy of the lien to the property owner. Failure to meet this requirement could render your lien claim invalid.

To learn more about these rules or to find the lien documents you need, refer to our Nevada Mechanics Lien Law FAQ. For more information about notices, refer to our page about Nevada Preliminary Notices.

Use the frequently asked questions below to learn about the Washoe County Recorder’s recording requirements, recording fees, formatting requirements, contact information, and much more. You can also find out how to record your lien by mail or eFile your lien with Levelset in just a few clicks.

If you’re looking for a complete guide to the mechanics lien process in Nevada, check out our Step-by-Step Guide to Filing a Mechanics Lien in Nevada.

Where is the Washoe County Recorder's Office that files mechanics liens?

You can record your mechanics lien in person at the Washoe County Recorder’s office located at:

1001 E. Ninth Street
Bldg. A, Rooms 140/150
Reno, NV 89512
Phone: (775) 328-3661
Fax: (775) 325-8010

Hours: Mon-Fri, 8:00am-5:00pm

You can record your lien by mail at the following address:

Washoe County Recorder
1001 E. 9th St. A-140
Reno, NV 89512

What is Washoe County's recording backlog?

The Recorder doesn’t publicly disclose information regarding recording backlogs.

Should my mechanics lien be filed in Washoe County, or some other county?

If the project is located in Washoe County, then you need to file your mechanics lien in Washoe County.

What are Washoe County's requirements for recording a mechanics lien?

The recording requirements for mechanics liens in Washoe County are as follows:

Documents submitted for recording must:

  1. Be on white, 20-pound paper that is 8 1/2 inches by 11 inches in size.
  2. Have a margin of 1 inch on the left and right sides and at the bottom of each page.
  3. Have a space of 3 inches by 3 inches at the upper right corner of the first page and have a margin of 1 inch at the top of each succeeding page.
  4. Not be on sheets of paper that are bound together at the side, top or bottom.
  5. Not contain printed material on more than one side of each page.
  6. Not have any documents or other materials physically attached to the paper.

You also need to include the following information in your Nevada mechanics lien:

  1. Your information, the owners information, the hiring party’s information, and your attorney’s information (if applicable).
  2. The amount of the lien claim.
  3. A statement of the contract and all payment information on the project.

For a full breakdown of everything you need to include, refer to our Step-by-Step Guide to Filing a Mechanics Lien in Nevada.

What are the margin & page size requirements to file a lien in Washoe County?

The margin and page size requirements in Washoe County are as follows:

  1. Mechanics liens must be printed on 20 pound, 8.5 x 11 paper.
  2. Mechanics liens should be printed in black ink only.
  3. Font size may be no smaller than 10 point.
  4. The top of the first page must include a 3×3 inch square in the top right-hand corner, and it should have a 1 inch margin on the sides and bottom.
  5. Each subsequent page must have a margin of 1 inch on all sides.

How can I make payment to the Washoe County Recorder?

The County Recorder accepts the following forms of payment:

  • All major credit or debit cards
  • Cash
  • Money order
  • Checks

What are the filing fees to record a mechanics lien in Washoe County?

Recording a mechanics lien in Washoe County costs a flat fee of $43.

Copies cost $1 per page, and certification costs $4 per document.

How do I get a recorded copy of my lien from the Washoe County Recorder's Office?

To obtain a recorded copy of your lien in Washoe County, you have three options.

In person

You can go to the County Recorder’s Office in person at:

1001 E. Ninth Street
Bldg. A, Rooms 140/150
Reno, NV 89512
Phone: (775) 328-3661
Fax: (775) 325-8010

By mail

You can send a request by mail to the following address:

Washoe County recorder
1001 E. 9th St. A-140
Reno, NV 89512

Online

Lastly, you can search Washoe County’s Public Records at the following address:

https://icris.washoecounty.us/ssrecorder/user/disclaimer.

Do I have the right to file a mechanics lien in Washoe County, NV?

The good news is that most parties on a project have lien rights in Nevada. That is, if you provided $500 or more in labor or materials, you most likely have the right to file a mechanics lien in Washoe County.

The only party that may not have lien rights are material suppliers. Along with that, unlicensed contractors may not have the right to file a mechanics lien either. For a comprehensive description of these regulations, see our Nevada Mechanics Lien Law FAQ.

What is the deadline to file a mechanics lien in Washoe County?

Washoe County follows the Nevada State deadline, which is 90 days of last work performed or the official completion of work (whichever comes later).

Top Payment Experts & Services in Washoe to help you File Your Nevada Mechanics Lien.

Featured Lien Filing Service
Lien Filing Service
Learn Who are the Fast Paying and Slow Paying Contractors in Nevada
Cameron General Contractors
Rating 5.0
A
Payment Score
85 / 100
View
Defense Base Services (DBSI)
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
75 / 100
View
General Growth Properties
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
73 / 100
View
GSL Electric
Rating 5.0
A
Payment Score
90 / 100
View
See other Lists of Contractors and How to Best Work With Them