Guide to filing a mechanics lien in DuPage County

If you’re facing nonpayment or slow payment after a construction project in DuPage County, you’ve come to the right place. Because Illinois lien law can be confusing, filing a mechanics lien with the DuPage County Recorder of Deeds can be a tricky affair. This page helps you get your lien claim right the first time, providing you with an introduction to Illinois lien law and useful information about DuPage County’s recording requirements and more.

Here are some key points in Illinois lien law that you should be aware of:

  1. You must send a written sworn statement to the property owner to protect your lien rights. The statement must contain the names and addresses of any party furnishing labor or materials on the construction project, as well as state the amount of money that each party is due on the construction party.
  2. Illinois does have preliminary notice requirements, although they don’t apply to everyone on the construction project. That is, if you don’t have a direct contract with the property owner, you need to send a notice of intent to lien to the property owner within 90 days of first work or furnishing of materials. Otherwise, you could lose your right to file a lien claim.
  3. The mechanics lien deadline depends on who you’re filing against in Illinois. If you need to file against everyone on the project, you have 4 months after last work to file. If you wish to file against the property owner and no one else, you have 2 years after last work.

Learn more about these lien laws on our Illinois lien law and FAQs page.

After you determine that you’re eligible to file a mechanics lien and that you’ve met all the prerequisites to file, it’s time to familiarize yourself with the DuPage County Recorder of Deeds’s requirements. Below, you’ll find DuPage County’s recording requirements, recording fees and copy fees, page size and margin requirements, and contact information along with information regarding eRecording your lien, recording your lien by mail, and links to eFile your mechanics lien with Levelset in the matter of a few clicks.

If you’re looking for a complete explanation of the entire mechanics lien preparation process in Illinois, refer to our Step-by-Step Guide to Filing a Mechanics Lien in Illinois.

Where do I file a mechanics lien in DuPage County, Illinois?

If you need to record a mechanics lien with the DuPage County Recorder of Deeds, you have three options:

In Person

You can record your lien claim in person at the DuPage County Recorder’s physical address at:

421 N. County Farm Road
Wheaton, IL 60187
Phone: (630) 407-5400
Hours: Monday-Friday, 8:00am-4:30pm

By Mail

You can also record your lien by mail by sending a request to the DuPage County Recorder’s mailing address at:

Fred Bucholz
DuPage County Recorder
P.O. Box 936
Wheaton, IL 60187

eRecording

Lastly, you can eRecord your mechanics lien in DuPage County by eRecording with any one of the services listed on this page.

Although eRecording is offered, you may want to consider the first two options if you’re a first time filer or you only have one document to record. That’s because eRecording with one of the services they provide requires multiple software applications and an account with the third-party services themselves.

What is the recording backlog in DuPage County?

The DuPage County Recorder of Deeds doesn’t publicly disclose information regarding recording backlogs. However, DuPage is one of the biggest counties in Illinois, so you should expect a longer wait time.

Should I file my mechanics lien in DuPage County, or in another county?

If the construction project is located in DuPage County, then you should record your mechanics lien with the DuPage County Recorder of Deeds.

What are the DuPage County requirements for recording a mechanics lien?

To make sure you prepare your lien right the first time, you need to familiarize yourself with the DuPage County Recorder of Deeds’s recording requirements.

If you aren’t required to send a notice of intent to lien to the property owner, you have 4 months to file your mechanics lien. Here are the requirements you have to meet:

  • You must include a statement for the work you performed on the construction project.
  • You must provide the date on which you completed the work.
  • Include the remaining balance after deducting any credits
  • Provide the property’s legal description along with the Property Identification Number (PIN)
  • Names of the owners, the party who signed the contract, and any mortgagees listed on the property record.
    If you miss the four-month deadline, your lien is still effective against the original owner for two years from your last day of work, but other lenders, creditors, or contractors (if any) may take precedence over you.

Along with those requirements, you should also meet Illinois document standardization requirements under the following FAQ.

What are the margin & page formatting requirements to file a lien in DuPage County?

The DuPage County Recorder of Deeds follows the margin and page size requirements outlined by the Illinois Document Standardization Act [Public Act 87-1121, 55 ILCS 5/3-5018]:

  1. Mechanics liens to be recorded may be printed on paper no larger than 8.5 x 11 inches.
  2. Individual pages may not be bound together.
  3. Documents must be typewritten or computer generated in black ink, and with a font no larger than 10 point.
  4. Documents must be printed on 20 pound white paper with a top, side, and bottom margin of 0.5 inches.
  5. The first page of your mechanics lien must have a 3×5 inch square in the top right-hand corner.
  6. Documents to be recorded may not have any other materials attached to the pages.

How do I make payment to the DuPage County Recorder of Deeds?

The DuPage County Recorder of Deeds accepts the following forms of payment:

  • Credit and debit
  • Cash
  • Money order
  • Checks

Please make sure that all checks and money orders are made payable to the “DuPage County Recorder”. Starter checks are not accepted.

Here are some other things you should take into account when making a payment to the DuPage County Recorder’s Office:

  • There’s a convenience fee of 2.75% for credit transactions over $44.
  • There’s a convenience fee of $2 for credit transactions under $43.99.
  • There’s a charge of $4.50 for checks returned to the maker.
  • There’s a charge of $4.50 for cancelled checks.
  • There’s a charge of $9.00 for checks written with insufficient funds.

How much does it cost to record a mechanics lien in DuPage County?

The recording fees and copy fees for the DuPage County Recorder of Deeds are as follows:

Recording

The fee to record a mechanics lien in DuPage County is $80 for the first 4 pages and $4 for subsequent pages.

Copies

Copies cost $0.50 per page, and certification of copies costs $5 per document.

How can I get a recorded copy of my lien from the DuPage County Recorder of Deeds?

To get a recorded copy of your mechanics lien from the DuPage County Recorder of Deeds, you have three options:

In Person

You can make a request in person at the DuPage County Recorder’s Office at:

421 N. County Farm Road
Wheaton, IL 60187
Phone: (630) 407-5400

By Mail

You can also send a request by mail to the DuPage County Recorder’s mailing address listed here:

Fred Bucholz
DuPage County Recorder
P.O. Box 936
Wheaton, IL 60187

Online

Lastly, you can search DuPage County’s Public Records online at this address:

https://recorder.dupageco.org/

Do I have the right to file a mechanics lien in DuPage County?

The good news is that if you furnished labor or materials for a construction project in Illinois, you most likely have the right to file a mechanics lien.

However, if the materials or services are not “attached” or “used in” the construction, the contractor is not eligible for a mechanics lien. Learn more about these stipulations on our Illinois Lien Law FAQ page.

What is the fee to file an Illinois Preliminary Notice in DuPage County?

The cost to file a preliminary notice in Illinois depends on the amount of notices you need to send. Generally, these prices range from $25 to $100.

Top Payment Experts & Services in DuPage to help you File Your Illinois Mechanics Lien.

Featured Lien Filing Service
Lien Filing Service
Learn Who are the Fast Paying and Slow Paying Contractors in Illinois
Marathon Electrical Contractors
Rating 5.0
A
Payment Score
90 / 100
View
Facebook
Rating 4.4
A
Payment Score
87 / 100
View
D.R. Horton
Rating 4.2
A
Payment Score
98 / 100
View
Dollar Tree
Rating 4.0
C
Payment Score
63 / 100
View
See other Lists of Contractors and How to Best Work With Them