Guide to filing a mechanics lien in Elko County

Need to file a mechanics lien in Elko County? You’re in the right place! This page has the information you need to successfully record your lien claim with the Elko County Recorder’s Office. Because Nevada has lien laws that restrict who can and who can’t file a mechanics lien and Elko County has its own restrictions, making a mistake while preparing your lien claim is easier than you may think. Mistakes lead to delays, and delays prolong your payment even further.

To help you avoid those time-costing mistakes, this page compiles valuable information about Nevada lien law and the Elko County Recorder’s own requirements.

  1. Some participants in a construction project don’t have lien rights. Although most parties on a project can file a mechanics lien if needed, material suppliers and unlicensed contractors may not have the ability.
  2. The deadline to file a mechanics lien in Nevada is relatively short. Normally, lien claimants have 90 days after last work or the project’s completion to file a lien. However, that window could be shortened to 40 days depending on your situation.
  3. Lien claimants are required to send a copy of the lien to the property owner. Along with a preliminary notice, lien claimants must send a copy of the mechanics lien to the property owner. Failure to do this could invalidate your lien claim.

To learn more about these rules along with others, check out our Nevada Mechanics Lien Law FAQ. To learn more about the preliminary notice requirements in Nevada, refer to our Nevada Preliminary Notices.

Below is a list of frequently asked questions about the Elko County Recorder’s Office. Use them to learn about the Elko County Recorder’s recording requirements, formatting requirements, recording fees, contact information, and much more. You can also use this page to learn how to eFile your mechanics lien with Levelset in just a few clicks.

If you’re looking for a breakdown of the entire mechanics lien process in Nevada, take a look at our Step-by-Step Guide to Filing a Mechanics Lien in Nevada.

Where is the Elko County Recorder's Office that files mechanics lies?

You can record a mechanics lien in Elko County at the Elko County Recorder’s Office located at:

571 Idaho Street, Room 103
Elko, Nevada 89801
Phone: (775) 738-6526
Fax: (775) 738-3299

Hours: Monday-Friday, 8:00am-5:00pm

What is Elko County's recording backlog?

Elko County doesn’t publicly disclose information regarding recording backlogs.

Should my mechanics lien be filed in Elko County, or some other county?

If the project is located in Elko County, then you need to file your mechanics lien in Elko County.

What are Elko County's requirements for recording a mechanics lien?

The recording requirements for mechanics liens in Elko County are as follows:

  1. Mechanics liens must be printed on 20, 8.5 x 11, white paper.
  2. The first page of your mechanics lien must have a 3×3 inch square in the top right-hand corner and a 1 inch margin on both sides and the bottom of the page.
  3. All subsequent pages must have a 1 inch margin on the top, sides, and bottom.
  4. Sheets may not be bound at the top, sides, or bottom.
  5. Pages must be single-sided.
  6. No other documents or materials may be attached to the paper.
  7. Documents may not have any colored markings or highlighter markings whatsoever.
  8. Text must be no smaller than 10 point Times New Roman, and it may only be printed in black ink.
  9. Pages may not contain more than 9 lines of text per vertical inch.

You should also include the following information in you Nevada lien claim:

  1. Your name and address, as well as the names and addresses of the property owner, hiring party, and your attorney (if an attorney is representing you).
  2. The amount of your lien claim.
  3. A statement of the contract terms and the payment information for the construction project.

What are the margin & page size requirements to file a lien in Elko County?

The formatting requirements for the Elko County Recorder’s Office are as follows:

  1. The first page of your mechanics lien must have a 3×3 inch square in the top right-hand corner and a 1 inch margin on the sides and bottom.
  2. All pages following the first page must have a 1 inch margin on the top, both sides, and bottom.
  3. Text may be no smaller than 10 point Times New Roman, and may only be printed in black ink.
  4. There may not be more than 9 lines of text within each vertical inch.
  5. Mechanics liens may only be printed on 8.5 x 11 white, 20 pound paper.

How can I make payment to the Elko County Recorder?

The Elko County Recorder’s Office accepts the following forms of payment:

  • Cash
  • Checks
  • Credit cards

Keep in mind that a convenience fee of 2.5% will be applied to credit transactions with a $2 minimum.

What are the filing fees to record a mechanics lien in Elko County?

The recording fees and copy fees for the Elko County Recorder’s Office are as follows:

Recording

It costs a flat fee of $37 to record a mechanics lien.

Copies

Copies cost $1 per page, and certification of copies costs $4 per document.

How do I get a recorded copy of my lien from the Elko County Recorder's Office?

To get a recorded copy of your mechanics lien from the Elko County Recorder, you have two options:

In Person

You can request a recorded copy of your lien in person from the Recorder’s Office located at:

571 Idaho Street, Room 103
Elko, Nevada 89801
Phone: (775) 738-6526
Fax: (775) 738-3299

Hours: Monday-Friday, 8:00am-5:00pm

Online

You can search Elko County’s Public Records online at this address:

https://records.elkocountynv.net/Landmark

Do I have the right to file a mechanics lien in Elko County, NV?

Chances are you have lien rights in Elko County and Nevada. If you provided $500 or more in labor or materials for the construction project, you can file a mechanics lien in Nevada. However, material suppliers and unlicensed contractors may not be able to file a mechanics lien with the Elko County Recorder. To learn more about these limitations, refer to our Nevada Mechanics Lien Law FAQ.

What is the deadline to file a mechanics lien in Elko County?

The normal deadline to file a lien claim in Elko County and the State of Nevada is 90 days after last performance or the official end of the project (whichever is later).

There are situations in which the deadline is 40 days, though.

Top Payment Experts & Services in Elko to help you File Your Nevada Mechanics Lien.

Featured Lien Filing Service
Lien Filing Service
Learn Who are the Fast Paying and Slow Paying Contractors in Nevada
Danoski Clutts Building Group
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
75 / 100
View
Excel Plumbing (NV)
Rating 5.0
A
Payment Score
90 / 100
View
Jensen Precast
Rating 5.0
A
Payment Score
86 / 100
View
Knight Transportation
Rating 5.0
B
Payment Score
83 / 100
View
See other Lists of Contractors and How to Best Work With Them