Guide to filing a mechanics lien in Pinellas County

If you’re filing a mechanics lien with the Pinellas County Clerk, it’s a good idea to familiarize yourself with your local lien laws. That’s because Florida’s lien laws could directly affect your right to file a mechanics lien. Florida grants strong lien rights to its contractors. However, those limitations still exist, and the lien laws in Florida can be a little confusing when compared to other states. Here are some of the main points that all Florida contractors should be aware of:

  1. Before filing a mechanics lien, you need to submit a preliminary notice, or a notice to owner. Florida NTOs, known as preliminary notices in other states, must be submitted to the property owner within 45 days of the first furnishing of labor or materials.
  2. The deadline to file a mechanics lien in Florida is determined by the last work performed, not the official end of the construction project. Claimants have 90 days after work, services, or materials were last provided for a project to file a mechanics lien in Florida.
  3. Not everyone on the construction project has the right to file a mechanics lien. Sub-sub-subcontractors, suppliers to suppliers, suppliers to sub-sub-subcontractors, maintenance workers, and unlicensed contractors (who are required to be licensed) can’t file a mechanics lien in Florida.
  4. Exaggerating the amount on your lien claim in Florida is a felony. You can only claim the value of the materials and labor furnished for a construction project.

For a deeper dive into these lien laws and to find the necessary lien documents, refer to our Florida Lien Laws FAQ page.

If you meet the requirements to file a mechanics lien in Florida, recording your lien with the Pinellas County Clerk is a straightforward process, provided you include the necessary information and get everything right the first time. This page helps you do just that by providing you with information about the Pinellas County Clerk’s Office. Use this page as a reference for the Pinellas County recording requirements, mechanics lien format, and recording fees, as well as information regarding eRecording with Levelset and recording your lien claim by mail.

Visit our step-by-step guide to filing a mechanics lien in Florida for a complete breakdown of the Florida mechanics lien process and other legal advice.

Where is the Pinellas County Clerk of Court that files mechanics liens?

The Pinellas County Clerk has two locations where you can go and file your mechanics liens.

You can bring your documents to the following office locations in person at the addresses below:

Clearwater Courthouse
315 Court Street
Clearwater, FL 33756
Phone: (727) 464-7000

St. Petersburg Branch
545 1st Avenue North, Room 153
St. Petersburg, FL 33701
Phone: (727) 464-7000

Office hours are Monday – Friday, 8:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. (with the exception of Holidays)

You can also submit your documents through eRecording.

You can contact one of the following eRecord Vendors if you wish to begin sending your Recordable documents to Pinellas County electronically:

eRecording Partners Network (EPN)
Phone: (888) 325-3365 | Contact: www.erecordingpartners.net

Corporation Service Company (CSC)
Phone: (866) 652-0111 | Contact:
eRecordingCSCGlobal.com

Simplifile
Phone: (800) 460-5657 | Contact: www.simplifile.com

e-Docs Solutions
Phone: (888) 973-3627 | Contact: www.edocsrecording.com

What is Pinellas County's Recording Backlog?

The Pinellas County Clerk does not publicly disclose information on recording backlog.

Should my mechanics lien be filed in Pinellas County, or some other county?

If the project is located in Pinellas county, then yes, you will want to record your lien with the Pinellas County Clerk’s Office.

What are Pinellas County's requirements for recording a mechanics lien?

Generally, to file a mechanics lien in Pinellas County, there are 3 steps:

Step 1: Prepare your Florida mechanics lien form with the appropriate information required including information, statement of labor, and more. For more information, read our How to File a Florida Mechanics Lien Guide.

Step 2: Serve a copy of the lien to the owner and others on the project.

Step 3: File the lien claim with the Pinellas County Clerk’s Office.

Your lien claim must follow all Pinellas County requirements including the appropriate margins and pay all fees.

What are the margin & page size requirements to file a lien in Pinellas County?

The margin and page size requirements to file a lien in Pinellas are: All documents must comply with the 8 1/2″ x 11″ standard page size and must be no larger than 8 1/2″ x 14″. The top margin of the first page should be 3 inches with all other margins as 1 inch. Not meeting these margin and page size requirements may result in additional fees.

How can I make payment to the Pinellas County Clerk?

The Pinellas County Clerk accepts check payments. Make all checks payable to Ken Burke, Clerk of the Circuit Court.

What are the filing fees to record a mechanics lien in Pinellas County?

The Pinellas County Clerk’s recording fee is $10.00 for the first page and $8.50 for each additional page.

Additional Recording Fees

Indexing Instruments recorded in the Official Records which contain more than 4 names: $1.00 per additional name

Lien Fees

Transfer of Lien – Recording of Certificate: $10.00 for the first page and $8.50 for each additional page

Copy Fees

Copying any instrument in court records or official records: $1.00 per page
Certifying copies of any instrument in public records: $2.00

How do I get a recorded copy of my lien from the Pinellas County Clerk's Office?

You can obtain a recorded copy of your lien from the Pinellas County Clerk’s office in person.

Pinellas County Official Records are available to view online for General Public Access at:

https://officialrecords.mypinellasclerk.org.

You can order copies of Official Records online through the Clerk’s Online Copy Request and Payment Center.

Copies can also be purchased in person, and access is provided to public computer terminals to view Official Records at two Clerk’s Office Locations:

Clearwater Courthouse
315 Court Street
Clearwater, FL 33756

St. Petersburg Branch
545 1st Avenue North
St. Petersburg, FL 33701

Do I have the right to file a mechanics lien in Pinellas, Florida?

Determining whether you have the right to file a mechanics lien in Pinellas, FL depends on your situation. Generally speaking, every state gives those who have furnished labor and/or materials to a construction project the right to file a mechanics lien if unpaid for the furnishing. The same is true in Florida. However, there are some state-specific limitations as to who is qualified to file a mechanics lien that is important when considering whether you have the right to file a mechanics lien in Pinellas County, FL.

You can read more about lien rights and if you have the right to file a lien on our Florida Mechanics Lien Resources.

What is the fee to file a Florida Preliminary Notice in Pinellas County?

The fee to file a Florida Preliminary Notice in Pinellas is $10.

Top Payment Experts & Services in Pinellas to help you File Your Florida Mechanics Lien.

Featured Lien Filing Service
Lien Filing Service
Learn Who are the Fast Paying and Slow Paying Contractors in Florida
All Green Nursery
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
75 / 100
View
Gil Hyatt Construction
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
75 / 100
View
Stephen D Audet Electric
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
75 / 100
View
Adams Homes (FL)
Rating 5.0
A
Payment Score
89 / 100
View
See other Lists of Contractors and How to Best Work With Them