Guide to filing a mechanics lien in Palm Beach County

Slow payment issues run rampant throughout the construction industry. The bad news is that most contractors will face slow payment nonpayment at some point in their career. However, if you need to file a mechanics lien with the Palm Beach County Clerk, the good news is that you most likely have strong lien rights that protect you and the money you’re owed.

Just like every other state, Florida has its own set of rules, regulations, and limitations regarding lien rights. Here are a few things to keep in mind:

  1. Preliminary notices are required. Failure to submit a preliminary notice to the property owner could cost you your lien rights.
  2. The deadline to file a Florida mechanics lien falls within 90 days. Lien claimants must file within 90 days of the last work done on a project.
  3. Not all participants in a construction project are protected. Sub-subcontractors, suppliers to suppliers, suppliers to sub-subcontractors, unlicensed contractors, and maintenance workers do not have the right to file a lien claim.
  4. Exaggerating your lien amount is a federal crime. Get this number exactly right, and only include the cost of materials and labor that you furnished for the project.

You can read more about these laws on our Florida Lien Laws Frequently Asked Questions page.

Recording your lien claim with the Palm Beach County Clerk is a simple process. This page serves as an introduction to the Palm Beach County Clerk. Getting to know your Clerk before you file your lien claim is important because you have to meet each and every one of their requirements to record; otherwise, you may be rejected and forced to start again. Here, you can find Palm Beach’s recording requirements, formatting standards, recording fees, office hours, and other useful information that helps you get started. You can also learn how to record by mail, eRecord your lien, or eFile your lien with Levelset.

If you’re looking for a total breakdown of the filing process, visit our step-by-step guide to filing a mechanics lien in Florida.

Where is the Palm Beach County Clerk of Court that files mechanics liens?

The Palm Beach County has five locations where you can go and file your mechanics liens. You can bring your documents to the following office locations in person at the addresses below:

Main Courthouse
205 N. Dixie Hwy.
West Palm Beach, FL 33401
PHONE: (561) 355-2996

Hours
Monday – Friday, 8 a.m. – 4 p.m.
Excluding designated holidays.

Midwestern Communities Service Center
200 Civic Center Way Suite 500
Royal Palm Beach, FL 33411
PHONE: (561) 784-1271

Hours
Monday – Thursday, 8 a.m. – 4 p.m.
This location is closed Fridays and designated holidays.

North County Courthouse
3188 PGA Blvd.
Palm Beach Gardens, FL 33410

Hours
Monday – Friday, 8 a.m. – 4 p.m.
Excluding designated holidays.

South County Courthouse
200 W. Atlantic Ave.
Delray Beach, FL 33444

Hours
Monday – Friday, 8 a.m. – 4 p.m.
Excluding designated holidays.

West County Courthouse
2950 State Road 15 Room S-100
Belle Glade, FL 33430
PHONE:
(561) 996-4843

Hours
Monday – Friday, 8 a.m. – 4 p.m.
Excluding designated holidays.

What is Palm Beach County's Recording Backlog?

The Palm Beach County Clerk does not publicly disclose information on recording backlog.

Should my mechanics lien be filed in Palm Beach County, or some other county?

If the project is located in Palm Beach county, then yes, you will want to record your lien with the Palm Beach County Clerk’s Office.

What are Palm Beach County's requirements for recording a mechanics lien?

Generally, to file a mechanics lien in Palm Beach County, there are 3 steps:

Step 1: Prepare your Florida mechanics lien form with the appropriate information required including information, statement of labor, and more. For more information, read our How to File a Florida Mechanics Lien Guide.

Step 2: Serve a copy of the lien to the owner and others on the project.

Step 3: File the lien claim with the Palm Beach County Clerk’s Office.

Your lien claim must follow all Palm Beach County requirements including the appropriate margins and pay all fees.

What are the margin & page size requirements to file a lien in Palm Beach County?

The margin and page size requirements to file a lien in Palm Beach are: All documents must comply with the 8 1/2″ x 11″ standard page size and must be no larger than 8 1/2″ x 14″. The top margin of the first page should be 3 inches with all other margins as 1 inch. Not meeting these margin and page size requirements may result in additional fees.

How can I make payment to the Palm Beach County Clerk?

The Palm Beach County’s office uses a third-party to process credit card transactions. Note that customers paying by credit card will be charged a 3.5 percent service charge from MyFloridaCounty.com.

Customers may also pay by check or money order by mail or in person at any of the County Clerk’s office locations, or pay with cash in person.

What are the filing fees to record a mechanics lien in Palm Beach County?

The Palm Beach County Clerk’s recording fee is $10.00 for the first page and $8.50 for each additional page or fraction.

Additional Recording Fees

Indexing instruments which contain more than 4 names – this includes names listed as successor by merger, aka, fka, nka, dba, etc.: $1.00 per additional name

Lien Fees

Making and serving certificate of transfer of lien from property to security:

Cash bond (Plus postage and Recording Fees): $20.00
Surety bond (Plus postage and Recording Fees): $28.50
Transfer of multiple liens to one security: $10.00 for each additional lien

Copy Fees

Copes of records: $1.00 per page
Certifying copies: $2.00 per instrument

How do I get a recorded copy of my lien from the Palm Beach County Clerk's Office?

You can obtain a recorded copy of your lienfrom any of the Palm Beach County Clerk’s office locations in person.

You can also search the free online database of Palm Beach County’s Official Records at:

https://www.mypalmbeachclerk.com/records/official-records/official-records-search

View documents online and print uncertified copies from your own computer.

In Person

Copies of records may be obtained by visiting the Photocopy area in Room 4.2500 on the 4th floor of the Main Courthouse located at:

205 N. Dixie Hwy.
West Palm Beach, FL 33401

You may obtain copies of the following documents at all branch locations:

– Official Record documents recorded from January 1, 1968 to Present.
– Pleadings from active case files that reside at the branches.
– Progress Dockets for cases 1988 to present.

For copy information or questions, you may call (561) 355-2976.

By Mail

Use the Records Services Transmittal Form when ordering copies.

The County Clerk’s mailing address for general delivery is:

P.O. Box 4526
West Palm Beach, FL. 33402

The County Clerk’s physical address for express mail is:

205 N. Dixie Hwy.
Photocopy – room 4.2500
West Palm Beach, FL. 33401

When requesting copies via mail, payment is required in advance. Any orders which exceed $50.00 require a deposit of approximately 50% of the total copy amount. If you are unsure of the number of pages involved, contact the appropriate department to obtain this information.

Note that when ordering Official Record documents, the following information is required:

– Official Record
– Book and Page

You may obtain this information by searching the Official Records online, or you may contact the County Clerk for assistance with searching the Official Records. Call (561) 355-2932 or write to: Clerk Comptroller, Palm Beach County, P.O. Box 4526, West Palm Beach, FL 33402-4526

You must provide the following:

– The exact name you want to search
– Your name
– A self addressed stamped return envelope
– Appropriate fees (see Fees and Costs)
– Check payable to Sharon Bock, Clerk Comptroller

Do I have the right to file a mechanics lien in Palm Beach, Florida?

Determining whether you have the right to file a mechanics lien in Palm Beach, FL depends on your situation. Generally speaking, every state gives those who have furnished labor and/or materials to a construction project the right to file a mechanics lien if unpaid for the furnishing. The same is true in Florida. However, there are some state-specific limitations as to who is qualified to file a mechanics lien that is important when considering whether you have the right to file a mechanics lien in Palm Beach County, FL.

You can read more about lien rights and if you have the right to file a lien on our Florida Mechanics Lien Resources.

What is the fee to file a Florida Preliminary Notice in Palm Beach County?

The fee to file a Florida Preliminary Notice in Palm Beach is $10.

Top Payment Experts & Services in Palm Beach to help you File Your Florida Mechanics Lien.

Featured Lien Filing Service
Lien Filing Service
Learn Who are the Fast Paying and Slow Paying Contractors in Florida
Bainbridge Construction
Rating 5.0
B
Payment Score
84 / 100
View
Otis Elevators
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
75 / 100
View
Tim Milton Construction
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
75 / 100
View
Aluminum & Glass Door Inc.
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
75 / 100
View
See other Lists of Contractors and How to Best Work With Them