Guide to filing a mechanics lien in Marion County

To make sure the lien filing process goes as quickly and smoothly as possible, refresh yourself on Florida’s lien laws and the Marion County Clerk’s recording requirements. This page helps you get started by providing you with useful information about the Marion County Clerk.

Below are a few key points in Florida’s lien law that determine who can and who cannot file:

  1. Submitting a Florida notice to owner is a requirement to protect your lien rights. This is known also known as a preliminary notice, and they must be submitted to the property owner within 45 days of first work or materials furnished for the construction project.
  2. In Florida, the deadline to file a mechanics lien is 90 days after work was last performed on a construction project. Lien claimants who don’t follow this guideline may lose their right to file a lien claim.
  3. Some parties in a construction project don’t have the right to file a mechanics lien. This includes sub-sub-subcontractors, suppliers to suppliers, suppliers to sub-sub-subcontractors, maintenance workers, contractors who are required to have a license but do not.
  4. Overestimating the lien amount is a felony in the State of Florida. Make sure you only include the value of labor and materials furnished for the construction project.

Refer to our Florida Lien Laws FAQ page for a complete breakdown of the rules and regulations that apply to Florida contractors as well as a list of the lien documents you need.

This page serves as a reference for the Marion County Clerk’s Office. Here, you can find the Marion County Clerk’s recording requirements, recording fees, formatting and page size requirements, contact information, as well as information regarding recording your lien by mail or eFiling your lien with Levelset in just a few clicks.

For a detailed description of the entire filing process in Florida, check out our step-by-step guide to filing a mechanics lien in Florida.

Where is the Marion County Clerk of Court that files mechanics liens?

You can file your mechanics liens at the Marion County Clerk’s office in person located at:

Marion County Clerk’s Annex Building
19 NW Pine Avenue, Room 124
Ocala, FL 34475

Official Records/Recording
Location: (AB) 1st Floor, Room 124
Phone: (352) 671-5630
Fax: (352) 671-5629

The County Clerk’s Office is open from 8:00 am to 5:00 pm, Monday through Friday.

You can also submit your documents by mail to the following address:

Clerk of the Circuit Court
Attn: Official Records Department
P.O. Box 1030
Ocala, FL 34478-1030

Makes sure to provide a self-addressed stamped envelope for the return of your recorded document.

What is Marion County's Recording Backlog?

The Marion County Clerk does not publicly disclose information on recording backlog.

Should I file my mechanics lien in Marion County, or some other county?

If the project is located in Marion county, then yes, you will want to record your lien with the Marion County Clerk’s Office.

What are Marion County's requirements for filing a mechanics lien?

Generally, to file a mechanics lien in Marion County, there are 3 steps:

Step 1: Prepare your Florida mechanics lien form with the appropriate information required including information, statement of labor, and more. For more information, read our How to File a Florida Mechanics Lien Guide.

Step 2: Serve a copy of the lien to the owner and others on the project.

Step 3: File the lien claim with the Marion County Clerk’s Office.

Your lien claim must follow all Marion County requirements including the appropriate margins and pay all fees.

What are the margin and page size requirements to file a lien in Marion County?

The margin and page size requirements to file a lien in Marion are: All documents must comply with the 8 1/2″ x 11″ standard page size and must be no larger than 8 1/2″ x 14″. The top margin of the first page should be 3 inches with all other margins as 1 inch. Not meeting these margin and page size requirements may result in additional fees.

How can I make payment to the Marion County Clerk?

The Marion County Clerk’s Office accepts credit/debit Visa, Master Card and Discover as well as check payments. Note that when using one of these cards there is a non-refundable charge of 3.5% to provide this service. Checks should be made payable to David R. Ellspermann, Clerk.

What are the filing fees to record a mechanics lien in Marion County?

The Marion County Clerk’s recording, indexing and filing fee is $10.00 for the first page and $8.50 for each additional page.

Additional Recording Fees

Indexing instruments in the official records which contain more than 4 names: $1.00 per additional name

Lien Fees

Transfer Certificate of Lien to Security: $20.00
Additional fee for each lien: $10.00

Copy Fees

Copy of any instrument in the public records Not more than 14″” x 8 1/2″”: $1.00 per page

Certifying copies of any instrument in the public records, per instrument: $2.00

How do I get a recorded copy of my lien from the Marion County Clerk's Office?

You can obtain a recorded copy of your lien in person or by mail.

In Person

Official Records, which includes deeds, mortgages, liens, and judgments which have been recorded from January 1978 through current may be viewed online and printed from www.marioncountyclerk.org.

These records along with all Official Records recorded prior to January 1978, may also be ordered through the mail or picked up in person at:

Marion County Clerk of the Court
Official Records Department / Room 124
19 NW Pine Avenue
Ocala, FL 34475

Marion County Clerk of the Court
Records Center
870 NW 4th Avenue
Ocala, FL 34475

By Mail

Copies or certified copies of Official Records are available through the mail at the following address:

Clerk of the Circuit Court
ATTN: Record Center
P.O. Box 1030
Ocala, Florida 34478-1030

Charges for documents are as follows:
Search a year’s records $2.00/name
Copies per page $1.00
Certification per document $2.00

Make sure to provide all the known information for example; document type, property owners name, Book and Page of the recorded document, date filed or range of dates to be searched.

Make checks or money orders payable to Clerk of the Circuit Court. If you have any questions, you can contact the Records Center at (352) 671-8545.

Do I have the right to file a mechanics lien in Marion Florida?

Determining whether you have the right to file a mechanics lien in Marion, FL depends on your situation. Generally speaking, every state gives those who have furnished labor and/or materials to a construction project the right to file a mechanics lien if unpaid for the furnishing. The same is true in Florida. However, there are some state-specific limitations as to who is qualified to file a mechanics lien that is important when considering whether you have the right to file a mechanics lien in Marion County, FL.

You can read more about lien rights and if you have the right to file a lien on our Florida Mechanics Lien Resources page.

What is the fee to file a Florida preliminary notice in Marion County?

The fee to file a Florida Preliminary Notice in Marion is $10.

Top Payment Experts & Services in Marion to help you File Your Florida Mechanics Lien.

Featured Lien Filing Service
Lien Filing Service
Learn Who are the Fast Paying and Slow Paying Contractors in Florida
Colson Electrical Service
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
75 / 100
View
EEC Environmental
Rating 5.0
B
Payment Score
81 / 100
View
Alerion Door & Glass Inc.
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
75 / 100
View
Allsite Contracting
Rating 5.0
A
Payment Score
85 / 100
View
See other Lists of Contractors and How to Best Work With Them