Guide to filing a mechanics lien in Brevard County

Brevard County is one of the biggest counties in Florida, and making sure you have all the right information before filing a mechanics lien makes the process simpler, quicker, and hassle-free. Florida lien law has a few unique limitations for who can and cannot file a mechanics lien, so make sure you do your research before recording your lien with the Brevard County Clerk. Here are a few of the key points:

  1. The state of Florida requires lien claimants to submit a notice to owner, also known as a preliminary notice, to the property owner to retain your lien rights. The deadline for NTOs in Florida is 45 days after work, services, or materials are first provided on a construction project.
  2. Lien claimants have a deadline of 90 days to file a mechanics lien claim after the last day work was done on a project. In most other states, the deadline is triggered by the date of the official end of the project, but not in Florida.
  3. Although most parties on a construction project have lien rights, some do not. The parties that can’t file a mechanics lien in Florida include sub-sub-subcontractors, suppliers to suppliers, suppliers to sub-sub-subcontractors, maintenance workers, and unlicensed contractors.
  4. Exaggerating the lien amount is illegal in every state, but it’s a felony in Florida.

For a detailed description of these lien laws, refer to our Florida Lien Laws FAQ page.

This page helps you orient yourself with the Brevard County Clerk. Getting to know your county clerk’s recording policies is an important step in making sure your recording process is quick and easy. Here, you can find Brevard County’s recording requirements, formatting requirements, recording fees, and the county clerk’s mailing address and other contact information. You can also find out how to get a property’s legal description, get a recorded copy of your lien, or eRecord your lien with Levelset in the matter of a few clicks.

Visit our step-by-step guide to filing a mechanics lien in Florida for a complete breakdown of the Florida mechanics lien process.

Where is the Brevard County Clerk of Court that files mechanics liens?

You can file your mechanics liens at any of the Brevard County Clerk’s office locations in person at the following addresses:

Administration/Human Resources/Full-service counter: 400 South Street (second floor), Titusville, Florida 32780

1b. Historic Titusville Court House: 506 South Palm Avenue, Titusville, Florida 32796

1c. Foreclosure Sales: Brevard County Government Center-North, 518 South Palm Avenue, Brevard Room Titusville, Florida 32796

2. Parkway Complex: 700 South Park Avenue (Bldg B), Titusville, Florida 32780

3. Moore Justice Center: 2825 Judge Fran Jamieson Way, Viera 32940

4. Melbourne Branch Courthouse: 51 South Nieman Avenue, Melbourne 32901

5. Merritt Island Office : Sheriff’s Department Complex, 2575 North Courtenay Parkway, Room 129, Merritt Island, Florida 32953

6. Palm Bay Office: 450 Cogan Drive S.E., Palm Bay, Florida 32909

Office Hours:

Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. (excluding Holidays)

You can also mail your documents for recording to:

P.O. Box 2767

Titusville, FL 32781-2767

 

What is Brevard County's Recording Backlog?

The Brevard County Clerk does not publicly disclose information on recording backlog. The Brevard County Clerk does not publicly disclose information on recording backlog.

Should my mechanics lien be filed in Brevard County, or some other county?

If the project is located in Brevard county, then yes, you will want to record your lien with the Brevard County Clerk’s Office. If the project is located in Brevard county, then yes, you will want to record your lien with the Brevard County Clerk’s Office.

What are Brevard County's requirements for recording a mechanics lien?

Generally, to file a mechanics lien in Brevard County, there are 3 steps:

Step 1: Prepare your Florida mechanics lien form with the appropriate information required including information, statement of labor, and more. For more information, read our How to File a Florida Mechanics Lien Guide

Step 2: Serve a copy of the lien to the owner and others on the project.

Step 3: File the lien claim with the Brevard County Clerk’s Office.

Your lien claim must follow all Brevard County requirements including the appropriate margins and pay all fees.

What are the margin & page size requirements to file a lien in Brevard County?

The margin and page size requirements to file a lien in Brevard are: All documents must comply with the 8 1/2″ x 11″ standard page size and must be no larger than 8 1/2″ x 14″. The top margin of the first page should be 3 inches with all other margins as 1 inch. Not meeting these margin and page size requirements may result in additional fees.

How can I make payment to the Brevard County Clerk?

The Brevard County Clerk accepts credit and debit card payments. Note that the County Clerk will charge a convenience fee for all credit and debit card transactions based on the amount.

 

What are the filing fees to record a mechanics lien in Brevard County?

The Brevard County Clerk’s recording fee is $10.00 for the first page and $8.50 for each additional page.

Additional Recording Fees

Documents that contain more than 4 names, per additional name: $1.00

Copy Fees

Copy of document: $1.00 per page
Certified copy : $1.00 per page, plus $2.00 per document

How do I get a recorded copy of my lien from the Brevard County Clerk's Office?

You can obtain a recorded copy of your lien from any of the Brevard Count Clerk’s offices in person.
You may request for research and purchase a recorded copy of your lien by visiting Brevard County Clerk’s online search functions under “Public Records Search”, by visiting any one of the County Clerk’s branch offices, or by calling (321) 637-5413.

You can acess the the Brevard County Research & Copy Request Center at:

https://vweb1.brevardclerk.us/webapps_ssl/rcrc/default.cfm

The Clerk of Court’s Office will charge a convenience fee based upon the amount of your order for all credit and debit card transactions.

Do I have the right to file a mechanics lien in Brevard, Florida?

Determining whether you have the right to file a mechanics lien in Brevard, FL depends on your situation. Generally speaking, every state gives those who have furnished labor and/or materials to a construction project the right to file a mechanics lien if unpaid for the furnishing. The same is true in Florida. However, there are some state-specific limitations as to who is qualified to file a mechanics lien that is important when considering whether you have the right to file a mechanics lien in Brevard County, FL.

You can read more about lien rights and if you have the right to file a lien on our Florida Mechanics Lien Resources page.

What is the fee to file a Florida Preliminary Notice in Brevard County?

The fee to file a Florida Preliminary Notice in Brevard is $10.

Top Payment Experts & Services in Brevard to help you File Your Florida Mechanics Lien.

Featured Lien Filing Service
Lien Filing Service
Learn Who are the Fast Paying and Slow Paying Contractors in Florida
Bagby and Russell Electric Company
Rating 5.0
B
Payment Score
81 / 100
View
Performance Contracting, Inc (PCI)
Rating 5.0
A
Payment Score
88 / 100
View
A&R Builders of SWFL, Inc.
Rating 5.0
B
Payment Score
82 / 100
View
AHS Residential
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
68 / 100
View
See other Lists of Contractors and How to Best Work With Them