Guide to filing a mechanics lien in Tulare County

California has some confusing lien laws, but that doesn’t mean filing your mechanics lien has to be difficult. Before you gear up to file your lien claim with the Tulare County Recorder, refresh your understanding of California’s lien laws and Tulare County’s recording requirements to ensure the process is as quick and simple as possible. Otherwise, you could face time-wasting delays and other issues.

This page serves as a reference for the Tulare County Recorder. You can use this page to find Tulare’s recording requirements, formatting requirements, fee schedule, contact information, and much more. You can also find out how to quickly file your lien in Tulare County with Levelset.

For a breakdown of the entire filing process, refer to our Guide to Filing a Mechanics Lien in California.

Where is the Tulare County Recorder's Office that files mechanic liens?

You can file your mechanic liens in person at the Recorder’s office located at:

County Civic Center
221 South Mooney Boulevard
Visalia, California 93291

Recorder: Courthouse, Room 103
Phone: (559) 636-5050
Fax: (559) 740-4329

All Copy Requests Taken Over the Counter Will Be Mailed.
No Recording After 3:00 PM
No Counter Service After 3:30 PM
Office Hours: 8 AM – 5 PM Monday – Friday (Closed on Holidays)

What is Tulare County's Recording Backlog?

Tulare County does not publicly disclose information on recording backlog.

Should my mechanics lien be filed in Tulare County, or some other county?

If the project is located in Tulare County, then yes, you will want to record your lien in Tulare County.

What are Tulare County's requirements for recording a mechanics lien?

Generally to file a lien in Tulare County 1. A California 20-day Preliminary Notice must have been sent and 2. all margin, document, and filing fee requirements must be met to record a lien in Tulare county.

What are the margin & page size requirements to file a lien in Tulare County?

The margin requirements for a lien in Tulare County are 2.5 inch margins at the top of the first page and .5 inch margins on all other sides and pages.

How can I make payment to the Tulare County Recorder?

Tulare County accepts cash, check, and credit cards. You can pay in person when submitting your lien documents.

What are the filing fees to record a mechanics lien in Tulare County?

Tulare County’s regular recording fee for the first page of each document excluding deeds, instruments, or
writings recorded in connection with a transfer subject to the imposition of a documentary transfer tax as defined in Section 11911 of the Revenue and Taxation Code is $21.00 and $3.00 for each additional page.

Documents that have transfer tax, and any connected documents, the recording fee will be $14.00 for the first page of each document and $3.00 for each additional page.

Additional Recording Fees
Non-Conforming Page Size: $3.00 for each page of a document that does not comply with the size, format, quality of paper, and other related matters

Indexing Fees: $1.00 for each additional reference in the
body of a document that has to be indexed

$1.00 for each group of 10 names of fractional portion thereof after the initial group of 10 names that has to be indexed

Lien Fees

Release of Liens: $19.00 for state, county, city

Documents that have transfer tax, and any connected releases, the
release recording fee will be $12.00 for each release.

Copy Fees

Official Copy: $3.00 for first page and $1.00 for each additional page

Certified Copy: additional $2.00 for each document

Conformed Copy: $1.00 per document. Requester must provide a copy of the document and a self addressed, stamped envelope.

How do I get a recorded copy of my lien from Tulare County's Recorders Office?

You may a request for a recorded copy or your lien in person at the Recorder’s office located at:

County Civic Center
221 South Mooney Boulevard
Visalia, California 93291

Recorder: Courthouse, Room 103

All copy requests taken over the counter will be mailed.
No Recording After 3:00 PM
No Counter Service After 3:30 PM
Office Hours: 8 AM – 5 PM Monday – Friday (Closed on Holidays)

For more information on how to obtain public records call 636-5050.

What is the fee to file a CA Preliminary Notice in Tulare County?

The fee to file a California Preliminary Notice in Tulare County is $58.00.

 

Top Payment Experts & Services in Tulare to help you File Your California Mechanics Lien.

Featured Lien Filing Service
Lien Filing Service
Learn Who are the Fast Paying and Slow Paying Contractors in California
Morris Company
Rating 5.0
A
Payment Score
85 / 100
View
One Workplace
Rating 5.0
A
Payment Score
90 / 100
View
Pacific View Commercial Services
Rating 5.0
B
Payment Score
81 / 100
View
RHC Design and Consulting
Rating 5.0
B
Payment Score
81 / 100
View
See other Lists of Contractors and How to Best Work With Them