Guide to filing a mechanics lien in Stanislaus County

Because Stanislaus is one of the largest counties in California, public offices tend to get busy. The Stanislaus County Recorder’s Office is no different, and if you need to file a mechanics lien, it’s important that you get everything right. Otherwise, you could be met with unnecessary delays that prolong payment even further.

To make the process as quick and hassle-free as possible, take a look at California’s lien laws to make sure you understand the state limitations before filing. Next, you’ll want to take a look at Stanislaus County’s requirements.

This page compiles useful information about the Stanislaus County Recorder’s Office. Here, you can find information regarding Stanislaus County’s recording requirements, formatting standards, fees, contact information, and more. You can also quickly file your lien with Levelset in just a few clicks.

If you’re looking for a complete breakdown of the California mechanics lien process, refer to our step-by-step guide to filing a California mechanics lien.

Where is the Stanislaus County Recorder's Office that files mechanic liens?

You can file your mechanic liens in person at the County Recorder’s office located at:

1021 I Street, Suite 101
Modesto, CA 95354
Phone: (209) 525-5250
Fax: (209) 525-5804

Office Hours

Mon – Fri: 8am – 4pm

Note that documents submitted after 4:00 p.m. will be recorded the next business day.

 

What is Stanislaus County's Recording Backlog?

Stanislaus County does not publicly disclose information on recording backlog. However, note that documents submitted after 4:00 p.m. will be recorded the next business day.

Should my mechanics lien be filed in Stanislaus County, or some other county?

If the project is located in Stanislaus county, then yes, you will want to record your lien in Stanislaus County.

What are Stanislaus County's requirements for recording a mechanics lien?

Generally, to file a lien in California a preliminary notice must be sent within 20 days of starting a new job and all margin, document, and filing fee requirements when filing with the county recorder.

What are the margin & page size requirements to file a lien in Stanislaus County?

All documents must comply with the standard 8 1/2″ x 11″ standard page size and must not exceed 8 1/2″ x 14″. Any page that is other than 8 1/2″ x 11″ incurs an additional recording fee. Additionally, the top margin of the first page must be 2.5 inches with all other margins .5 inches.

 

How can I make payment to the Stanislaus County Recorder?

The County Recorder’s payment options include: cash, cashier’s check, certified check, personal check, or money order made payable to “Stanislaus County Clerk-Recorder”.

What are the filing fees to record a mechanics lien in Stanislaus County?

The County Recorder’s basic recording fee is $14.00 for the first page and $3.00 for each additional page.

Additional Recording Fees

Non-conforming page size: $3.00 for each page that is not 8 1/2”x 11

Indexing fees: $1.00 for each group of 10 names or fractional thereof after the initial group of 10 names

$1.00 for each additional reference

Penalty print: $1.00 for each page with more than 9 lines per vertical inch or 22 characters per horizontal inch

Lien Fees

Release of state governmental lien: $12.00

Copy Fees

Reproduction of recorded documents: $6.75 for the first page and $3.00 for each additional page

Certification: $2.00 per document

 

How do I get a recorded copy of my lien from Stanislaus County's Recorders Office?

You may request a recorded copy of your lien in person at the Recorder’s office located at:

1021 I Street, Suite 101
Modesto, CA 95354
Phone: (209) 525-5250
Fax: (209) 525-5804

Office Hours

Mon – Fri: 8am – 4pm

 

Do I have the right to file a mechanics lien in Stanislaus County, California?

Determining whether you do or do not have a mechanics lien right can be tricky. Generally speaking, every state gives those who have furnished labor and/or materials to a construction project the right to file a mechanics lien if unpaid for the furnishing. The same is true in California. However, there are some state-specific limitations as to who is qualified to file a mechanics lien that is important when considering whether you have the right to file a mechanics lien in Stanislaus County, California.

Great and detailed information about this is available on our California Mechanics Lien Resources Page.

What is the fee to file a CA Preliminary Notice in Stanislaus County?

The fee to file a California Preliminary Notice in Stanislaus County is $57.00.

Top Payment Experts & Services in Stanislaus to help you File Your California Mechanics Lien.

Featured Lien Filing Service
Lien Filing Service
Learn Who are the Fast Paying and Slow Paying Contractors in California
Garrison Walker Group
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
75 / 100
View
Heiman Construction (CA)
Rating 5.0
B
Payment Score
81 / 100
View
C.R. Laurence Co. Inc.
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
75 / 100
View
Salt Shed Design Build
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
75 / 100
View
See other Lists of Contractors and How to Best Work With Them