Guide to filing a mechanics lien in Sonoma County

Unfortunately, slow payment is a common occurrence in the construction industry. Mechanics liens are one of the most effective tools contractors have to speed up payment, however, it’s important that you learn how to use them correctly. A large part of this process is learning the local and state laws that place limitations on who can file, when they can file, and what steps they must take to preserve their right to file. Although California’s lien laws can be complex, California contractors enjoy strong lien rights. If you need to file a mechanics lien in Sonoma County and you’re not sure where to start, this page serves as a reference for the Sonoma County Recorder. It compiles information about the Sonoma County Recorder’s Office recording requirements, formatting requirements, recording and copy fees, and much more.

For a total breakdown of the California lien process, check out our Guide to Filing a Mechanics Lien in California. It covers the information you must include, the deadlines, and other limitations for filing a mechanics lien in California and Sonoma County.

Where is the Sonoma County Recorder's Office that files mechanic liens?

You can file your mechanic liens in person or by mail.

In Person

You can visit the Sonoma County Recorder’s office located at:

585 Fiscal Drive, Suite 103
Santa Rosa, CA 95403

Business Hours
Monday – Tuesday
8:00 AM – 5:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM – 4:00 PM
Thursday – Friday
8:00 AM – 5:00 PM

To ensure same day recording of your documents, make sure to submit them by 4:00 p.m. Mondays, Tuesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and by 3:00 p.m. Wednesdays.

By Mail

Your can also send your lien documents accompanied by the proper fees to:

Sonoma County Recorder
P.O. Box 1709
Santa Rosa, CA 95402

 

What is Sonoma County's Recording Backlog?

The Sonoma County Clerk-Recorder does not publicly disclose information on recording backlog.

Should my mechanics lien be filed in Sonoma County, or some other county?

If the project is located in Sonoma county, then yes, you will want to record your lien with the Sonoma County Recorder’s office.

What are Sonoma County's requirements for recording a mechanics lien?

The Sonoma County Clerk-Recorder’s recording requirements are as follows:

1. Documents transferring title must contain the Assessor’s Parcel Number (APN) and must be accompanied by a Preliminary Change of Ownership Report
2. Documents must be clearly readable and capable of producing a legible microfilm record.
3. Names must be printed or typed under all signatures and business names.
4. Documents affecting title to real property must be properly acknowledged.
5. Documents shall be identified as to type.
6. Names of parties to be indexed must be contained in the document.
Return Address

What are the margin & page size requirements to file a lien in Sonoma County?

All documents submitted for recording must comply with the 8 1/2 by 11 inches standard page size. A penalty of $3.00 will be charged for each page that is not 8 1/2 by 11 inches.

If there is not enough room for the Recorder’s endorsement (approximately 3 inches by 3 inches) at the top of the first page of any document being recorded, an additional $3.00 fee will be charged to cover a separate page
Only enter the address to which the document is being returned in this area leaving a 2 inch margin from top of page.

How can I make payment to the Sonoma County Recorder?

In Person Cash, checks or credit/debit cards are accepted as payment for any services or products purchased. Note that an additional $2.50 convenience fee applies with the use of a credit or debit card. By Mail Check or money order from bank or Post Office only

What are the filing fees to record a mechanics lien in Sonoma County?

The recording fee is $89.00 for the first page and $3.00 for each additional page.

Additional recording fees

Non-standard page size: $3.00 per page

Penalty Print: $1.00 per page

Documents Requiring Additional Indexing: $1.00 per additional
reference indexed

$1.00 each group of 10 names

Release of Lien by a Public Agency: $12.00

Copy Fees

Official Copy: $5.00 per page

Certified Copy: $4.00 per document

 

How do I get a recorded copy of my lien from Sonoma County's Recorders Office?

You can obtain a recorded copy of your lien in person, online or by mail.

In Person

You can visit the Sonoma County County Clerk-Recorder Office located at:

585 Fiscal Drive
Room 103
Santa Rosa, CA 95403

Business Hours
Monday – Tuesday
8:00 AM – 5:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM – 4:00 PM
Thursday – Friday
8:00 AM – 5:00 PM

Payment can be made by cash or check. Credit and debit cards are accepted. Note that a $2.50 convenience fee is charged with the usage of a card.

Online

You can look up your property using the Sonoma County Document Record
Certified copies may not be downloaded and will be processed and mailed by the County Clerk-Recorder’s staff.

Credit and debit cards are accepted. Note that a $2.00 convenience fee is charged per transaction.

By Mail

You can look up your property using the Sonoma County Document Records Search to find out how many pages are in the official record, and then enclose $5.00 for each page — for a certified copy, enclose an additional $4.00 per document.

Mail your request to:

Clerk-Recorder-Assessor
Attn: Copy Desk
585 Fiscal Drive Room 103
Santa Rosa, CA 95403

Note that mail processing time is 2-3 weeks.

Do I have the right to file a mechanics lien in Sonoma County, CA?

Determining whether you do or do not have a mechanics lien right can be tricky. Generally speaking, every state gives those who have furnished labor and/or materials to a construction project the right to file a mechanics lien if unpaid for the furnishing. The same is true in California. However, there are some state-specific limitations as to who is qualified to file a mechanics lien that is important when considering whether you have the right to file a mechanics lien in Sonoma County, California.

Great and detailed information about this is available on our California Mechanics Lien Resources Page.

What is the fee to file a California Preliminary Notice in Sonoma County?

The fee to file a California Preliminary Notice in Sonoma County is $35.00.

Top Payment Experts & Services in Sonoma to help you File Your California Mechanics Lien.

Featured Lien Filing Service
Lien Filing Service
Learn Who are the Fast Paying and Slow Paying Contractors in California
Alfaro Painting
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
75 / 100
View
Vincor Construction Inc
Rating 5.0
B
Payment Score
82 / 100
View
Berger Steel Corporation
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
75 / 100
View
Brown Contracting & Development
Rating 5.0
A
Payment Score
95 / 100
View
See other Lists of Contractors and How to Best Work With Them