Guide to filing a mechanics lien in San Joaquin County

If you need to file a mechanics lien with the San Joaquin County Recorder, you’ve come to the right place. Doing your research into California’s lien laws and the requirements of the county you operate in is a vital step in the mechanics lien process because it helps you avoid errors that cost you time and money. To help you get started, here are two key limitations on who can and cannot file a mechanics lien in California:

  • If you’re unlicensed but performing work that requires a license, you can’t file a mechanics lien in California.
  • Contractors are required to submit a California Preliminary Notice in order to protect their lien rights.

This page provides you with useful information about the San Joaquin County Recorder, including San Joaquin’s recoding requirements, page size and margin requirements, recording fees, contact information, and more. Use this page as a reference to make sure you get your lien claim right the first time and avoid those time-costing missteps along the way.

For a complete description of the lien filing process and California’s lien laws, check out our step-by-step guide to filing a California mechanics lien.

Where is the San Joaquin County Recorder's Office that files mechanic liens?

You can file your mechanic liens in person at the San Joaquin County Recorder’s office located at:

44 North San Joaquin Street
Suite 260
Stockton, CA 95202

Telephone: (209) 468-3939
Fax: (209) 468-8040
E-mail: recorder@sjgov.org

Office Hours:
Document Recording: 8:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.

What is San Joaquin County's Recording Backlog?

San Joaquin office does not publicly disclose information on recording backlog but you can give them a call at (209) 468-3939 to see how long it would take to process your lien filing.

Should my mechanics lien be filed in San Joaquin County, or some other county?

If the project is located in San Joaquin county, then yes, you will want to record your lien in San Joaquin County.

What are San Joaquin County's requirements for recording a mechanics lien?

Generally, to file a mechanics lien in San Joaquin County you should 1) Meet all California Mechanics Lien requirements including having sent a 20-day notice. 2) Meet all county document filing requirements, which include printing your lien on 8.5 x 11 inch paper using .5 inch margins, except at the top of the first page where you should use a 1.5inch margin. 3) Pay all appropriate and required filing fees for the county to record your document. Not meeting these general requirements could delay your lien filing or invalidate your lien filing altogether.

What are the margin & page size requirements to file a lien in San Joaquin County?

All documents must comply with the 8 1/2” X 11” standard page size. The Margin requirements for filing a lien in San Joaquin County are: 1.5 inches at the top of the first page and .5 inch margins on all other sides. Additionally, all other pages should have .5 inch margins on all sides.

How can I make payment to the San Joaquin County Recorder?

You can make payment to the San Joaquin County Recorder in person. The office accepts cash, check, and most major credit cards.

What are the filing fees to record a mechanics lien in San Joaquin County?

The San Joaquin County Recorder’s regular recording fee is $14.00 for the first page and $3.00 for each additional page.

Additional Recording Fees

Non-conforming page size: $3.00 for each page other than 8 1/2 x 11

Indexing fee: $1.00 for each additional reference indexed

$1.00 for each additional name indexed (each group of 10 names after the 1st)

Copy Fees

Official Copy: $3.00 for each page if staff assisted

$1.00 for each page if self-assisted

Certification: $2.00 per document

Conformed Copy: $1.00

How do I get a recorded copy of my lien from San Joaquin County's Recorders Office?

You can obtain a recorded copy of your lien in person at the San Joaquin County Recorder’s office between 8am and 4:30pm.

A photocopy can be made of the desired document, and, if necessary, the photocopy can be certified. Certified copies can be submitted in place of original documents for all court proceedings and legal purposes.

 

Do I have the right to file a mechanics lien in San Joaquin County, CA?

Determining whether you do or do not have a mechanics lien right can be tricky. Generally speaking, every state gives those who have furnished labor and/or materials to a construction project the right to file a mechanics lien if unpaid for the furnishing. The same is true in California. However, there are some state-specific limitations as to who is qualified to file a mechanics lien that is important when considering whether you have the right to file a mechanics lien in San Joaquin County, California.

Great and detailed information about this is available on our California Mechanics Lien Resources Page.

What is the fee to file a California Preliminary Notice in San Joaquin County?

The fee to file a California Preliminary Notice in San Joaquin County is $40.00.

Top Payment Experts & Services in San Joaquin to help you File Your California Mechanics Lien.

Featured Lien Filing Service
Lien Filing Service
Learn Who are the Fast Paying and Slow Paying Contractors in California
C2 Building Group
Rating 5.0
B
Payment Score
83 / 100
View
Garrison Walker Group
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
75 / 100
View
Captain Xtreme
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
75 / 100
View
Duke Realty
Rating 5.0
B
Payment Score
83 / 100
View
See other Lists of Contractors and How to Best Work With Them