Guide to filing a mechanics lien in Yuma County

Arizona’s lien laws are among the strictest out of all the states, and there are a few cases in which you may not reserve the right to file a mechanics lien. That’s why it’s important to familiarize yourself with Arizona’s lien laws and the Yuma County Recorder’s requirements. Here are three of the main rules you need to consider:

  1. You need to submit a Preliminary Notice before you file a mechanics lien. Contractors who furnished materials and labor on a project must submit a Preliminary “20 day” Notice in order to retain their right to lien in Arizona.
  2. Unlicensed contractors don’t reserve the right to lien in Arizona. Getting licensed is recommended no matter which state you’re in, and in Arizona, unlicensed contractors can’t file a mechanics lien.
  3. Lastly, only contractors who have written contracts with the property owner may file. Suppliers and other parties who aren’t directly contracted with the property owner don’t have the right to file a mechanics lien in Arizona.

This page includes useful information about where to file a mechanics lien in Yuma County, as well as the Yuma County Recorder’s filing requirements, fees, filing methods, and other relevant information.

Where is the Yuma Recorder's Office that files mechanics liens?

You can file your mechanics liens at the Yuma County Recorder’s office in person located at:

192 South Maiden Lane, Suite B
Yuma, AZ 85364-2311

Office hours are from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday – Excluding Holidays

Contact Information:

For information about document recording

Phone: (928) 373-6020
FAX: (928) 373-6024, TDD: (928) 373-6033
E-mail at norma.vasquez@yumacountyaz.gov

What is Yuma County's Recording Backlog?

The Yuma County Recorder does not publicly disclose information on recording backlog. However, note that if the document meets the from requirements, and “is a document required to be recorded”, is complete, and the proper fees have been paid, the County Recorder’s office will accept your document and assign it a unique recording number and make it a matter of permanent public record by imaging the document. Your document is then indexed within 10 to 15 working days and can be located by name. Your recorded original document may be returned within 6 to 8 weeks, possibly sooner. If you should lose or misplace your original document, you can purchase a certified copy from the County Recorder’s office.

The scanning department scans the images of your document.

The data entry department will key the pertinent information to create an index so that you may locate this document in the future.

Your original document will be returned to the address typed on the document.

If the original document is ever lost or misplaced, a certified copy may be obtained from the County Recorder’s office.

Should my mechanics lien be filed in Yuma County, or some other county?

If the project is located in Yuma county, then yes, you will want to record your lien with the Yuma County Recorder’s office.

What are Yuma County's requirements for recording a mechanics lien?

Generally, to file a mechanics lien in Yuma County, there are 3 steps:

Step 1: Prepare your Arizona Mechanics Lien form with the appropriate information required including your statement of labor and more. For more information, read our How to File an Arizona Mechanics Lien Guide.

Step 2: Serve a copy of the lien to the owner and others on the project.

Step 3: File the lien claim with the Yuma County Recorder’s Office.

Your lien claim must follow all Yuma County requirements including the appropriate margins and pay all fees.

What are the margin & page size requirements to file a lien in Yuma County?

Each document must have a title briefly stating the nature of the document, may not be larger than 81/2 inches wide and 14 inches long, must have a 1/2 inch margin across the bottom and sides, may not have print type smaller than 10 point and must have a two inch blank margin across the top of the document.

Any document which modifies a previously recorded document must state the recording date, docket and page or year and sequence number of the document being modified.

How can I make payment to the Yuma County Recorder?

You can make payment to the Yuma County Recorder when submitting your lien claim. The Yuma Recorder accepts most major forms of payment including cash, check, and major credit cards.

What are the filing fees to record a mechanics lien in Yuma County?

The Yuma County Recorder’s recording fee is $30.00.

Copies are $1.00 per page. If you want a certified copy, it will be an additional $3.00.

How do I get a recorded copy of my lien from Yuma County's Recorder's Office?

You can obtain a recorded copy of your lien at the Yuma County Recorder’s office in person located at:

192 South Maiden Lane, Suite B
Yuma, AZ 85364-2311

Office hours are from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday – Excluding Holidays

Contact Information:

For information about document recording

Phone: (928) 373-6020
FAX: (928) 373-6024, TDD: (928) 373-6033

E-mail at norma.vasquez@yumacountyaz.gov

You can also search documents recorded since January 1, 1984 online at
https://recorder.yumacountyaz.gov/recorder/web/

You can purchase an official copy or certified copy at the County Recorder’s office in person.

Do I have the right to file a mechanics lien in Yuma, Arizona?

Determining whether you have the right to file a mechanics lien in Yuma, AZ depends on your situation. Generally speaking, every state gives those who have furnished labor and/or materials to a construction project the right to file a mechanics lien if unpaid for the furnishing. The same is true in Arizona. However, there are some state-specific limitations as to who is qualified to file a mechanics lien that is important when considering whether you have the right to file a mechanics lien in Yuma County, AZ.

You can read more about lien rights and if you have the right to file a lien on our Arizona Mechanics Lien Resources page.

What is the fee to file an Arizona Preliminary Notice in Yuma County?

The fee to file an Arizona Preliminary Notice in Yuma is $15.

Top Payment Experts & Services in Yuma to help you File Your Arizona Mechanics Lien.

Featured Lien Filing Service
Lien Filing Service
Learn Who are the Fast Paying and Slow Paying Contractors in Arizona
Desert Recreation
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
75 / 100
View
Arcis Builders
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
75 / 100
View
Camwest Group
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
75 / 100
View
Cheesecake Factory The
Rating 5.0
B
Payment Score
81 / 100
View
See other Lists of Contractors and How to Best Work With Them