Guide to filing a mechanics lien in Pima County

Before you file a mechanics lien, you should get familiar with the Pima County Recorder and Arizona’s lien laws. Arizona’s lien laws are stricter than most. Here are three important factors you need to consider before preparing to file a mechanics lien in Pima County.

  1. Preliminary Notices are required. Each party who furnishes labor and materials on a project must submit a Preliminary “20 day” Notice in order to retain their right to lien.
  2. Unlicensed contractors can’t file mechanics liens in Arizona. Getting licensed is especially important in Arizona for that reason.
  3. Lastly, not everyone on the project reserves the right to lien. Lien rights only apply to parties who have a written contract with the owner. Parties who are contracted with any party other than the owner cannot file.

This page includes useful information about where to file a mechanics lien in Pima County, as well as the Pima County Recorder’s filing requirements, fees, filing methods, and other relevant information.

Where is the Pima Recorder's Office that files mechanics liens?

There are 2 offices under the Pima County Recorder. They are:

The Main Office
240 N Stone Ave
Tucson AZ 85701
Phone: (520) 724-4350

The Eastside Office
6920 E Broadway Blvd
Suite D
Tucson AZ 85710
Phone: (520) 724-4350

The Pima County Recorder’s Office mailing address is:

P.O. Box 3145, Tucson AZ 85702-3145

What is Pima County's Recording Backlog?

The Pima County Recorder’s Office does not publicly disclose recording backlog information.

Should I file my mechanics lien in Pima County?

If the project is located in Pima county, then yes, you will want to record your lien with the Pima County, Florida Recorder’s office.

What are Pima County's requirements for recording a mechanics lien?

The Pima County Recorder’s Requirements for recording a mechanics lien are as follows:

1. Mechanics liens are required to have a descriptive title or caption that states the nature of the document.

2. Documents must be original or copies of the original.

3. Documents must have original signatures or carbon copies of original signatures.

4. Documents must be no larger than 8.5 x 14. Font size may be no smaller than 10 points.

5. Mechanics liens and all other documents must have a 2 inch margin at the top of the first page and a half inch (.5) margin on the sides and bottom. Each subsequent page must have a .5 inch margin on all sides.

You should also include all the necessary information in your lien claim:

1. The legal description of the property. This can be found at the Pima County Recorder’s Office.

2. Your name and address, along with the names and addresses of the hiring party, the property owner, and your attorney (if applicable).

3. The lien amount. Be careful to get this number right, and include only the amount due for the labor and materials furnished.

4. Provide a statement of the contract terms. If there is no contract, a description of terms, time of performance, and conditions of the agreement will work just fine.

5. Include the date of completion of the project.

6. Provide the date that the preliminary notice was sent. In Arizona, contractors are required to send a 20-day preliminary notice in order to secure their right to file a mechanics lien. Along with the statement for the preliminary notice, you’re also required to attach a return receipt or a proof of mailing to the owner.

7. Get your lien claim signed and notorized.

What are the margin & page size requirements to file a lien in Pima County?

Pima County, Arizona outlines the following page size and margin requirements for mechanics liens:

    1. Pages must be no larger than 8.5 x 14.

 

    1. Type may be no smaller than 10 point, and mechanics liens should be typed in black ink.

 

    1. The top of the first page must include a 2 inch margin with half-inch (.5) margins on the sides and bottom.

 

    1. All pages following the first page must include a half-inch (.5) margin on all sides.

 

How can I make payment to the Pima County Recorder's Office?

The Pima County Recorder’s Office accepts these forms of payment:

  • Visa
  • MasterCard
  • Cash
  • Checks
  • Money orders

Credit card payments are only accepted in person, not over the phone or by mail.

Checks must be pre-printed and should include your name and address.

What are the filing fees to record a mechanics lien in Pima County?

The Pima County Recorder’s Office charges one flat fee of $30 to record a mechanics lien.

Copies cost $1 per page, and certification of copies costs $3 per document. Along with that, there’s a proessing fee of $1 to mail or email a document.

The fee to return a document that was improperly submitted for recordation is $5.

How do I get a recorded copy of my lien from the Pima County Recorder's Office?

If you’d like a recorded copy of your mechanics lien, you can obtain one in person at the Pima County Recorder’s Office located at:

The Main Office
240 N Stone Ave
Tucson AZ 85701
Phone: (520) 724-4350

You can also get a recorded copy of your lien from the second office at:

6920 E Broadway Blvd
Suite D
Tucson AZ 85710
Phone: (520) 724-4350

You can also send in a request for a recorded copy at the following mailing address:

P.O. Box 3145, Tucson AZ 85702-3145

Lastly, recorded copies can be found online by searching Pima County’s Official records at this address:

https://www.recorder.pima.gov/PublicDocServices/Search

Do I have the right to file a mechanics lien in Pima, Arizona?

Most states outline lien rights for contractors who furnised labor and materials for a project but were left unpaid after the project’s completion. However, each state has its own distinct regulations surrounding lien rights, and that’s no different in Pima County, Arizona.

To find out whether or not you have the right to file a lien in Pima County, visit our Arizona Mechanics Lien Resouces Page.

What is the deadline to file a mechanics lien in Pima County?

Once a Notice of Completion or Cessation has been filed by the property owner, contractors have 60 days to record a mechanics lien. Additionally, contractors have 120 days to file after the completion of the work of improvement.

In Arizona, and in Pima County, the time to file a mechanics lien is triggered by the completion of improvements, not the last furnishing of labor and/or materials for a project.

Top Payment Experts & Services in Pima to help you File Your Arizona Mechanics Lien.

Featured Lien Filing Service
Lien Filing Service
Learn Who are the Fast Paying and Slow Paying Contractors in Arizona
ABCO West Electrical Construction & Design
Rating 5.0
B
Payment Score
81 / 100
View
ALR Construction Inc. (AZ)
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
75 / 100
View
Best Buy
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
76 / 100
View
Bold framing Inc.
Rating 5.0
B
Payment Score
81 / 100
View
See other Lists of Contractors and How to Best Work With Them