Guide to filing a mechanics lien in Cochise County

Because each state has its own unique lien laws, Arizona contractors need to be aware of the local laws that determine whether or not they reserve the right to file a mechanics lien. Here are three of the major points:

  1. You can’t file a mechanics lien in Arizona unless you submit a Preliminary Notice first. More specifically, contractors who furnish materials and labor for a job need to submit a Preliminary “20 day” Notice to the owner in order to protect their lien rights.
  2. Only licensed contractors can file a mechanics lien in Arizona. If there was ever a better reason to get licensed, this is it! Arizona doesn’t grant lien rights to unlicensed contractors.
  3. Lastly, you must be contracted with the property owner to file a mechanics lien in Arizona. Project participants like GCs and subs who don’t have a written contract with the owner can’t file.

This page includes useful information about where to file a mechanics lien in Cochise County, as well as the Cochise County Recorder’s filing requirements, fees, filing methods, and other relevant information.

Where is the Cochise Recorder's Office that files mechanics liens?

You can record a mechanics lien in Cochise County at the Recorder’s Office located at:

1415 Melody Lane, Building B
Brisbee, AZ 85603

Phone: (520) 432-8350
Toll Free: 1 (888) 457-4513

Hours: Mon-Fri. 8am-5pm

What is Cochise County's Recording Backlog?

You can expect to get your documents back within 15-20 days at the Cochise County Recorder’s Office.

Should I file my mechanics lien in Cochise County?

If the project is located in Cochise county, then yes, you will want to record your lien with the Cochise County, Florida Recorder’s office.

What are Cochise County's requirements for recording a mechanics lien?

Cochise County’s recording requirements are as follows:

1. Each document must have a title or caption that states the nature of the document.

2. All documents, including mechanics liens, must be originals or copies of originals. Copies of originals must be eligible enough to be scanned.

3. All documents must have original signatures of copies of original signatures.

4. Documents must be no larger than 8.5 x 14. Type may be no smaller than 10 point.

5. The first page of all mechanics liens must be 2 inches with a half-inch (.5) margin on the sides and bottom. All subsequent pages must have a half-inch (.5) margin on all sides.

Include this information in your lien claim as well:

1. The property’s legal description.

2. Your name and address, as well as the name and address of the hiring party, property owner, and your attorney (if applicable).

3. The lien amount, which is based on the cost of materials and labor furnished for the project.

4. A statement of the contract terms.

5. The date of the project’s completion. Also, include the date on which improvements were completed.

6. According to Arizona Lien Law, contractors are required to send a 20-day preliminary notice before filing a mechanics lien. Include the statement for the preliminary notice as well as the return receipt or proof of mailing to the property owner.

7. Lastly, get your lien claim signed and notarized.

What are the margin & page size requirements to file a lien in Cochise County?

The margin and size page requirements at the Cochise County Recorder’s Office are as follows:

1. Pages must be no larger than 8.5 x 11.

2. The first page of your mechanics lien should include a 2 inch margin at the top. It should also have a half inch (.5) margin on the sides and bottom.

3. All pages following the first page must have a half-inch (.5) margin on all sides.

4. Type must be no smaller than 10 point.

How can I make payment to the Cochise County Recorder's Office?

The Cochise County Recorder’s Office accepts the following forms of payment:

-Cash
-Credit and debit
-Money orders
-Personal checks, cashier’s checks, and travelers checks

What are the filing fees to record a mechanics lien in Cochise County?

The fees for recording a mechanics lien in Cochise County are as follows:

Recording

$30 flat fee per document

Copies

$1 per page
$3 certification fee per document

How do I get a recorded copy of my lien from the Cochise County Recorder's Office?

You have 3 options to get a recorded copy of your mechanics lien in Cochise County:

In person

Go in person to the Cochise County Recorder’s Office at:

1415 Melody Lane, Building B
Brisbee, AZ 85603

Phone: (520) 432-8350
Toll Free: 1 (888) 457-4513

Hours: Mon-Fri. 8am-5pm

My mail

You can send a request by mail to the Recorder’s Office of the same address

Online

Lastly, you can obtain a recorded copy of your mechanics lien by searching Cochise County’s Official Records at the following address:

https://www.thecountyrecorder.com/Search.aspx?AspxAutoDetectCookieSupport=1&jsEnabled=1

Do I have the right to file a mechanics lien in Cochise, Arizona ?

The good news is that most states have systems in place to protect contractors’ lien rights. Generally, if you furnished labor and materials for a project but were left unpaid after its completion, you reserve the right to file a mechanics lien.

However, each state has its own lien laws and regulations that dictate who can and who cannot file a mechanics lien, and Arizona is no exception. Before you file in Cochise County, you need to know whether or not your lien rights are intact. Learn more about Arizona and Cochise County’s lien laws on our Arizona Mechanics Lien Resources Page.

What is the deadline to file a mechanics lien in Cochise County?

The deadline to file a mechanics lien in Arizona is determined by the date the project was completed. After the property owner has filed a Notice of Completion or Cessation, you have 60 days to record a mechanics lien. You also have 120 days to file after the completion of improvements.

This is one of the rules that makes Arizona different–the deadline to file is dictated by the completion of improvements, not the date of last furnishing of labor and materials.

Top Payment Experts & Services in Cochise to help you File Your Arizona Mechanics Lien.

Featured Lien Filing Service
Lien Filing Service
Learn Who are the Fast Paying and Slow Paying Contractors in Arizona
PENTA Building Group
Rating 5.0
B
Payment Score
83 / 100
View
Wespac Construction
Rating 5.0
A
Payment Score
90 / 100
View
Campbell Development
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
74 / 100
View
Best Buy
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
76 / 100
View
See other Lists of Contractors and How to Best Work With Them