Guide to filing a mechanics lien in Collin County

Collin County is one of the biggest counties in the United States, and when paired with Texas’s notoriously complicated lien laws, filing your mechanics lien can be quite the task. That’s why doing your research and learning as much as you can about Texas lien law is one of the best steps you can take to ease the process as much as possible. If you’re gearing up to file a mechanics lien with the Collin County Clerk, you’ve come to the right place!

First of all, you should know exactly what you’re up against. A few of the peculiar and confusing lien laws in Texas include:

  • Texas contractors who aren’t directly contracted with the property owner must submit several recurring, monthly notices. There are multiple different types of notices, and each one must be sent at the right time.
  • Homesteads are treated differently from ordinary residences. If you’re directly contracted with a homestead owner, it’s business as usual. However, if you don’t have a written contract with the homestead owner, your lien rights depend on the GC’s ability to meet their lien prerequisites. If they fail to do so, you could los your lien rights.
  • The last example has to do with Texas mechanics lien deadlines. The wording for deadlines can get a little convoluted, and the standard timeframe of the 15th day of the fourth month after the last month work or services were furnished doesn’t always apply.

Apart from a few points of confusion, filing your mechanics lien should be relatively straightforward provided you get everything right. This page helps you do just that with information regarding the Collin County Clerk’s Office. You can refer to this page for Collin County’s recording requirements, formatting requirements, filing and copy fees, office locations, hours of operation, links to helpful online resources, and more.

For an in-depth look at filing mechanics liens in Texas, check out our step-by-step guide to Filing A Texas Mechanics Lien.

Where is the Collin County Clerk's Office that files mechanics liens?

You can file your mechanics liens in person or by mail.

In Person

You can bring your documents for recording in person at the County Clerk’s Office located at:

Collin County Clerk’s Office
Collin County Administration Building
2300 Bloomdale Rd., Suite 2106
McKinney, TX 75071

ctyclerks@collincountytx.gov
972-548-4185 (McKinney)
972-424-1460 ext. 4185 (Metro)
972-547-5731 (Fax)

Hours: 8:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m., Monday – Friday

Note that no couriers are accepted after 4:00 p.m.

By Mail

You can also mail your documents for recording to:

Collin County Clerk’s Office
Collin County Administration Building
2300 Bloomdale Rd., Suite 2106
McKinney, TX 75071

What is Collin County's Recording Backlog?

The Collin County Clerk does not publicly disclose information on recording backlog. However, note that documents are recorded at the time the County Clerk’s office receive them. They will show up on the public stations for anyone doing a search in approximately 7-10 business days. They will be returned in 2-3 weeks.

Should my mechanics lien be filed in Collin County, or some other county?

If the project is located in Collin county, then yes, you will want to record your lien with the Collin County, Texas Clerk’s office.

What are Collin County's requirements for recording a mechanics lien?

To record a Land Record, the document must be an original or clerk certified copy. It must be signed and notarized.

What are the margin & page size requirements to file a lien in Collin County?

There needs to be 4” of blank space after all the writing on the last page or $4.00 must be added for an additional page. Filing information shall be the last marking on the document.

How can I make payment to the Collin County Clerk?

Payments are to be made by cash, credit card, check or money order made payable to Collin County Clerk.

Make checks payable to: COLLIN COUNTY CLERK

Checks older than 90 days will not be accepted.

Refunds of ten dollars ($10.00) or less will be issued upon request.
All checks must clear bank before a refund will be issued.

Note that a convenience fee of 2.34%, with a minimum fee of $1.00, will be applied to all credit and debit card transactions.

What are the filing fees to record a mechanics lien in Collin County?

The Collin County Clerk’s recording fee is $26.00 for the first page and $4.00 for each additional page.

Additional Recording Fees

Indexing fee: $0.25 for each name to be indexed in excess of 5 names

Lien Fees

State Tax Lien or Release filed by the State: $16.00
Federal Tax Lien or Release: $31.00

Copy Fees

Recorded Copy: $1.00 per page
Certified Copy: $1.00 per page, plus 5.00 for certification.
File-Marked Copy: Free if you include the Copy and a self-addressed stamped envelope

$0.50 for each additional file-marked copies.

How do I get a recorded copy of my lien from Collin County's Clerks Office?

You can obtain a recorded copy of your lien in person at the Collin County Clerk’s Office located at:
Collin County Administration Building
2300 Bloomdale Rd., Suite 2106
McKinney, TX 75071
ctyclerks@collincountytx.gov

972-548-4185 (McKinney)
972-424-1460 ext. 4185 (Metro)
972-547-5731 (Fax)

Hours: 8:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m., Monday – Friday

You can search Collin County’s Public Records free of charge online at http://countyclerkrecords.co.collin.tx.us/webinquiry/

You can also search Collin County Clerk’s records and purchase documents online at ROAM here: https://ccrecords.collincountytx.gov/

The Collin County Clerk now offers ROAM a subscription based search feature that enables the subscriber to search millions of the County Clerk’s records with exceptionally fast results. ROAM provides phonetic search capability, web based access, device aware capabilities for use with mobile devices and the ability to purchase documents online.

Available subscription options include Pay-As-You-Go, Unlimited Unofficial Access, Unlimited Official Access and special rates for Bar and Realtor Associations.

Do I have the right to file a mechanics lien in Collin, Texas?

Determining if you have the right to file a lien in Collin County, Texas can be complicated. Texas has one of the most complex lien laws in the U.S. and filing a lien in Collin is no different. Generally, construction contractors who

1) furnish labor or materials
2) send all required documents before filing a lien, such as monthly notices
3) if a homestead, have a proper written contract
4) and meet any state deadlines and fees for your lien claim.

You can learn more about Mechanics Liens in Texas and more specific requirements for filing a lien overall in our step by step guide.

Do I have to send a monthly notice to file a lien in Collin County, Texas?

Yes, you will need to have sent a Texas Preliminary Notice (monthly notices) to be able to file a lien in Collin County, TX. Not sending the correct Texas Monthly Notice may result in an invalid lien claim at the time of filing with the Collin County Clerk / Assessor.

Top Payment Experts & Services in Collin to help you File Your Texas Mechanics Lien.

Featured Lien Filing Service
Lien Filing Service
Learn Who are the Fast Paying and Slow Paying Contractors in Texas
Patriot Development Group LLC
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
64 / 100
View
Tracer Roofing
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
75 / 100
View
Spears Construction Dba Pavepro
Rating 5.0
F
Payment Score
16 / 100
View
Warren Design & Construction
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
75 / 100
View
See other Lists of Contractors and How to Best Work With Them