Home>Levelset Community>Legal Help>When does the 20 days begin for the required time between sending and NOI and filing a lien?

When does the 20 days begin for the required time between sending and NOI and filing a lien?

WyomingLien DeadlinesNotice of Intent to Lien

I am about to send a NOI to one of our customer and I see that I have to send that 20 days before filing a lien. When does that 20 days begin? Is it when it is sent or received?

1 reply

Feb 27, 2020
Wymoming's Notice of Intent to Lien requirement stems from § 29-2-107 of the state's mechanics lien statute. And, according to that section, "The notice shall be sent no later than twenty (20) days prior to filing a lien statement." So, based on the language of that section, the 20-day clock for a Wyoming Notice of Intent will run from the date the notice is sent - not from when it's received. However - if there's time before the lien deadline, it might be worthwhile to play things safe and wait a bit longer to proceed with the lien claim. After all, a Notice of Intent is a powerful recovery tool all by itself.
0 likes

Add your answer or comment

Not the answer you were looking for? Check out other Lien Deadlines topics or ask your own question