Typically, the timeframe for bringing a claim in small claims court will be subject to the same statute of limitations for the same claim in traditional litigation. Under Chapter 260 Section 2 of the Massachusetts Statute of Frauds and Limitations, a claim based on a contract must be brought within 6 years. Of course, it's worth keeping in mind that to be eligible for small claims court in Massachusetts, the base amount for the claim may not exceed $7,000 (though statutory damages and the awarding of attorney fees could certainly exceed $7,000).
Post a question in our community to get free advice from Construction Attorneys in your state, typically within a week. Questions are public, so do not share personal information. For extra privacy, select the anonymous option.