Menu
Home>Levelset Community>Legal Help>Is there a minimum dollar amount to lien a job in North Carolina?

Is there a minimum dollar amount to lien a job in North Carolina?

North CarolinaMechanics LienRight to Lien

I know in Florida a job must be at least $2,500.00 in order to lien the property. We just started supplying materials for several projects in North Carolina and need to know what this requirement is.

1 reply

Nov 30, 2018
That's a good question. First, regarding Florida lien limitations - under § 713.02(5), "Any improvement for which the direct contract price is $2,500 or less shall be exempt from all other provisions of this part except the provisions of s. 713.05." Thus, § 713.05 - which establishes lien rights for parties who have contracted directly with the property owner - is not affected by a contract price at or under $2,500. Anyway, looking to North Carolina,, nothing in the North Carolina lien statute appears to affect projects under a specified threshold amount.
0 likes

Add your answer or comment

Not the answer you were looking for? Check out other Mechanics Lien topics or ask your own question