Guide to filing a mechanics lien in Pershing County

If you need to file a mechanics lien with the Pershing County Recorder’s Office, it’s important that you get everything right the first time. That means making sure you include all the necessary information, format the document correctly, and meet all the requirements to file. This way, you’ll avoid mistakes that waste your time and delay payment even further. This page compiles useful information about Nevada lien law and the recording requirements for the Pershing County Recorder’s Office.

Here are three rules in Nevada that you should know before you file a mechanics lien:

  1. Some participants on a construction project don’t have lien rights. Material suppliers and unlicensed contractors won’t have the right to file a mechanics lien claim in some cases.
  2. The deadline to file a mechanics lien in Nevada is 90 days. To be specific, lien claimants have 90 days after last work or the official end of the project (whichever comes latest) to file a lien claim in Nevada.
  3. Nevada has preliminary notice requirements. Lien claimants must also submit a preliminary notice to the property owner no later than 31 days after first work in order to preserve their lien rights.

To learn more about Nevada lien law, check out our Nevada Mechanics Lien Law FAQ. It includes frequently asked questions that cover common concerns that contractors have before filing a mechanics lien, and you can also find the lien documents you’ll need to successfully record your lien with the Pershing County Recorder there. For a deeper dive into Nevada’s preliminary notice requirements and deadlines, refer to our page on Nevada Preliminary Notices.

You can use the rest of this page as a reference for the Pershing County Recorder’s recording requirements, recording fees, formatting requirements, contact information, and more. You’ll also find links to Pershing County’s Public Records on this page.

Lastly, take a look at our Step-by-Step Guide to Filing a Mechanics Lien in Nevada for a complete breakdown of the Nevada mechanics lien process and for information about how you can eFile your lien claim with Levelset in just a few clicks.

Where is the Pershing County Recorder's Office that files mechanics lies?

If you need to record a mechanics lien in Pershing County, you can do so at the Pershing County Recorder’s Office at:

398 Main St
Lovelock, Nevada, 89419
Phone: (775) 273-2408
Fax: (775) 273-1039

Hours: Monday-Friday, 8:00am-5:00pm

The recording hours at the Recorder’s Office are Monday-Friday, 8:30am-4:30pm

What is Pershing County's recording backlog?

The Pershing County Recorder doesn’t publicly disclose information regarding recording backlogs.

Should my mechanics lien be filed in Pershing County, or some other county?

If the project is located in Pershing County, then you need to file your mechanics lien in Pershing County.

What are Pershing County's requirements for recording a mechanics lien?

The Pershing County Recorder’s recording requirements are as follows:

  1. Mechanics liens must be printed on 8.5 x 11 sized paper.
  2. The top of the first page must have a 3×3 inch square in the top right hand corner.
  3. The first page must also have a 1 inch margin on both sides and bottom.
  4. All pages following the first page must have a 1 inch margin on the top, sides, and bottom.
  5. Pages must not be bound together.
  6. Pages must be single-sided.
  7. No other documents or materials may be attached to the pages.
  8. Mechanics liens presented for recording may not have any highlighter marks or colored markings.
  9. Text may be no smaller than 10 point Times New Roman.
  10. There may be no more than 9 lines of text per vertical inch.

You also need to include this information in your lien claim:

  1. Your basic information, as well as the basic information of the hiring party, property owner, and your attorney if an attorney is representing you.
  2. The lien amount based on the value of labor and materials you furnished for the project.
  3. A statement for contract’s terms and the payment information for the construction project.

What are the margin & page size requirements to file a lien in Pershing County?

The formatting requirements at the Pershing County Recorder’s Office are as follows:

  1. Mechanics liens must be printed on 8.5 x 11 sized paper.
  2. The top of the first page of your mechanics lien must have a 3×3 inch square in the top right hand corner.
  3. The first page must also have a 1 inch margin on both sides and the bottom.
  4. All subsequent pages must have a 1 inch margin on all sides.
  5. Text may be no smaller than 10 point Times New Roman.
  6. Mechanics liens must be printed in black ink only, and there may be no highlighter marks.

How can I make payment to the Pershing County Recorder?

The Pershing County Recorder’s Office accepts the following forms of payment:

  • Cash
  • Check

The Recorder does NOT accept credit payments.

What are the filing fees to record a mechanics lien in Pershing County?

The recording fees and copy fees for the Pershing County Recorder’s Office are as follows:

Recording

Recording a standard document with the County Recorder costs a flat fee of $40.

Copies

Copies cost $1 per page. Certification of copies costs $4 per document.

How do I get a recorded copy of my lien from the Pershing County Recorder's Office?

To get a recorded copy of your mechanics lien from the Pershing County Recorder’s Office, you have two options:

In Person

You can inquire at the Recorder’s Office in person at:

398 Main St
Lovelock, Nevada, 89419
Phone: (775) 273-2408
Fax: (775) 273-1039

Hours: Monday-Friday, 8:00am-5:00pm

Online

You can also search Pershing County’s Public Records online at:

https://selfservice.pershingcounty.net/web/user/disclaimer

Do I have the right to file a mechanics lien in Pershing County, NV?

If you furnished $500 or more in labor or materials for the construction project, you likely have the right to file a mechanics lien in Nevada.

Although most parties have lien rights in Nevada, material suppliers and unlicensed contractors who do work that requires a license may not have the ability to file a mechanics lien.

What is the deadline to file a mechanics lien in Pershing County?

The deadline to file a mechanics lien in Nevada is 90 days after last work or the official end of the project (whichever is later).

Top Payment Experts & Services in Pershing to help you File Your Nevada Mechanics Lien.

Featured Lien Filing Service
Lien Filing Service
Learn Who are the Fast Paying and Slow Paying Contractors in Nevada
Las Vegas Paving Corp.
Rating 5.0
B
Payment Score
80 / 100
View
Boyd Gaming Corporation
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
75 / 100
View
CubeSmart Self Storage
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
75 / 100
View
FedEx
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
70 / 100
View
See other Lists of Contractors and How to Best Work With Them