New Mexico Preliminary Notice Form
Download your Preliminary Notice Form | Free Downloadable Template
Get help filing your New Mexico Preliminary Notice
On New Mexico State Construction Projects, claimants are not required to send any type of preliminary notice. However, as a precautionary measure and for ultimate preservation of bond rights on the project, claimants may be interested in sending a preliminary notice.
Rules and regulations for sending a New Mexico Preliminary Notice
To preserve lien rights, those who did not contract with the property owner or the original contractor must deliver Preliminary Notice to both the owner and the original contractor within 60 days of first furnishing labor and materials - with few exceptions. This deadline marks the expiration of 60 days from your first furnishing of labor and/or materials to the jobsite.
This deadline indicates that 5 days has expired since the sending of your Request for Information. If the information requested has not been provided by this time, sending a Preliminary Notice with the information you have may be prudent.
To preserve lien rights on commercial projects, those who did not contract with the property owner or the original contractor must deliver Preliminary Notice to both the owner and the original contractor within 60 days of first furnishing labor and materials - with few exceptions. Regardless of whether notice is required, though, it's a good idea to send one anyway. This deadline marks the expiration of 60 days from your first furnishing of labor and/or materials to the jobsite.
After completing the New Mexico Preliminary Notice Form, you must deliver it to the appropriate parties required by statute. Notices are typically served on the property owner and, for sub-tier parties, the general contractor. However, depending on the type of notice, it can be helpful to send notices to anyone else who is in charge of your payment, like a lender or surety company on the project.
Others are asking about New Mexico Preliminary Notice
Payment for services rendered
Im filing a Mechanics Lien in the state of New Mexico. I was hired by the owners agent and not the GC. I did not file a Pre-lien notice and the 90 day period has passed. Would it be of any advantage to file it now?
In New Mexico, it indicates that a preliminary notice must be sent 60 days from beginning work if (1) claimant doesn't contract with owner or GC, (2) the amount due is greater than $5,000.00, AND (3) the project is not on a residential property in less than 4 dwellings. Is this all or nothing in regards to sending the preliminary notice?
Ask a construction lawyer about a New Mexico Preliminary Notice
Other forms to use in New Mexico
New Mexico County Recorders
Looking to file/record a mechanics lien in New Mexico? You'll need to get your New Mexico mechanics lien filed and recorded with the county recorder in the county where the construction project is located. Here is a listing of all county recorders in New Mexico. Click on any county to find more information about how to get your lien recorded in that county.
One Civic Plaza NW
Albuquerque, New Mexico, 87102-9854
700 E. Roosevelt. Suite 50
Grant, New Mexico, 87020
417 Gidding St., Suite #130
Clovis, New Mexico, 88101
phone: Phone: (575) 763-5591
325 S. Main St.
Carlsbad, New Mexico, 88220
100 N Main Street, Suite 1C
Lovington, New Mexico, 88260
phone: (575) 396-8619
fax: (575) 396-3293
1104 N White Sands Blvd, Ste C.
Alamogordo, New Mexico, 88310
phone: (575) 437-4942
1500 Idalia Rd Building D
Bernalillo, New Mexico, 87004
100 North Date St Suite 6
Truth or Consequences, New Mexico, 87901
105 Albright Street Suite D
Taos, New Mexico, 87571
phone: (575) 737-6380