New Jersey Public Subcontractor Notice Form
Download your Public Subcontractor Notice Form | Free Downloadable Template
Get help filing your New Jersey Preliminary Notice
New Jersey’s preliminary notice requirements can differ depending on the project type and the contractor’s role on the project. Subcontractors on a state project in New Jersey must provide written preliminary notice within 20 days of first furnishing labor and/or materials to the site.
Rules and regulations for sending a New Jersey Preliminary Notice
There are two separate claim types in New Jersey on state projects: claim against the bond and claim against contract funds. Claimants must send preliminary notice to avail themselves of the rights to either or both of these claims. With respect to the claim against contract funds, notice must be sent within 20 days of first furnishing labor or materials to the project. With respect to the bond claim, notice must be sent before any furnishings. Although these deadlines exist, notices sent late are effective for all work furnished after the notice is sent. This deadline marks the end of a twenty day period from your first furnishing. It is a good practice to send this notice as soon as possible when starting a project.
This is an alert to educate you about the unique notice requirements in New Jersey. When working on state projects in New Jersey, there are two types of notices, one is due within 20 days of first furnishing but the other is due before first furnishing. Our standard deadline alerts you to the 20 day requirement, but you should send your notice before work begins if that is possible.
After completing the New Jersey Public Subcontractor Notice Form, you must deliver it to the appropriate parties required by statute. Notices are typically served on the property owner and, for sub-tier parties, the general contractor. However, depending on the type of notice, it can be helpful to send notices to anyone else who is in charge of your payment, like a lender or surety company on the project.
Others are asking about New Jersey Preliminary Notice
Am I too late for a prelim notice?
when do i do and pay my next step to arbitration
In New Jersey do I have lien rights for public project to repair a bridge? If I do, what address should be used for the bridge.
In New Jersey, both options are available. There are notice and claim requirements and deadlines that must be met, however, just like with a mechanics lien claim. These options to recover the money owed are available to subs and suppliers who did not contract directly with the property owner/public entity.
Preliminary notice is required to maintain the ability to to make a claim agains either the bond or project funds. For a bond claim, preliminary notice is required prior to commencing of work if the claimant had no direct contract with contractor furnishing the bond, if the claimant did contract with the GC no notice is strictly required. For a lien on funds, preliminary notice is required within 20 days of first furnishing labor or materials.
There are also deadlines with respect to making the claim itself. A claim against the contractor’s bond must be received within 1 year from the date of last furnishing labor or materials to the project. However, a suit to enforce such claim must be initiated more than 90 days, but no longer than 1 year, from the last furnishing of labor and materials. To be protected, then, the claimant should send the lien claim no later than 90 days prior to 1 year after last furnishing labor or materials.
A lien on the contract funds may be filed at any time prior to the completion or acceptance of the work, until no later than 60 days following the completion or acceptance of the work.
Neither a New Jersey bond claim or lien on funds requires a specific address or legal description of the property. The work to which the claim relates should be identified, but no specific address requirement exists.
Ask a construction lawyer about a New Jersey Preliminary Notice
Other forms to use in New Jersey
New Jersey County Recorders
Looking to file/record a mechanics lien in New Jersey? You'll need to get your New Jersey mechanics lien filed and recorded with the county recorder in the county where the construction project is located. Here is a listing of all county recorders in New Jersey. Click on any county to find more information about how to get your lien recorded in that county.
5901 Main Street
Mays Landing, New Jersey, 8330
phone: (609)641-7867, (609)625-4011
One Bergen County Plaza Room 110
Hackensack, New Jersey, 7601
49 Rancocas Rd
Mt Holly, New Jersey, 8060
phone: 609 265 5000
520 MARKET ST- ROOM 102
Camden, New Jersey, 8102
7 N. Main Street
Cape May Court House, New Jersey, 8210
465 Martin Luther King Blvd, Room 240
Newark, New Jersey, 7102
phone: (973) 621-4921
1 North Broad St
Woodbury, New Jersey, 8096
257 Cornelison Avenue 4th floor
Jersey City, New Jersey, 7302
phone: (201) 369-3470
71 Main Street, Hall of Records
Flemington, New Jersey, 8822
240 West State Street
Trenton, New Jersey, 8608
75 Bayard Street
New Brunswick, New Jersey, 8901
phone: (732) 745-3827
33 Mechanic Street, 2nd Floor Attn: Recording Department
Freehold, New Jersey, 7728
phone: 732-431-7324 ext. 4
10 Court St
Morristown, New Jersey, 7963
118 Washington Street
Toms River, New Jersey, 8754
phone: (732) 929-2018
401 Grand Street Room 113
Paterson, New Jersey, 7505
phone: (973) 881-4777 ext 3
110 Fifth St.
Salem, New Jersey, 8079
20 grove st
Somerville, New Jersey, 8876
phone: (908) 231-7007
Hall of Records 83 Spring St., Suite 304
Newton, New Jersey, 7860
2 Broad Street Rm 114
Elizabeth, New Jersey, 7207
413 Second St
belvidere, New Jersey, 7823
phone: (908) 475-6211