Rhode Island Mechanics Lien Form
Download your Mechanics Lien Form | Free Downloadable Template
Get help filing your Rhode Island Mechanics Lien
When unpaid on a construction project in Rhode Island, you may file a mechanics lien. The process for this is to deliver a “Notice of Intention to do Work or Furnish Materials, or Both” to the property owner, and also have it lodged with the county records.
Do not be alarmed, while this is the mechanics lien, it is labeled “Notice of Intention.” That is not a mistake, that is correct. The title of the lien-type document is deceiving in Rhode Island. While the filing effects a mechanics lien, the title of the document suggests that it is simply a notice that work may be performed by the claimant.
This document must be mailed to the property owner by certified mail with return receipt requested. Mailings should be made to the last known residence or place of business of the property owner, or if no such address is known, to the address of the subject land. If the Notice of Intention is returned undeliverable, the Notice of Intention and the envelope shall be filed in the records of land evidence in the city or town in which the land is located within thirty (30) days of its return.
IMPORTANT: Liens are filed in the land evidence records for the city or town where the property is located. There is no “county recorder.” It is for the city/town land evidence record. Therefore, each county, may and should have one or more recorder offices. It’s important to know and figure out exactly which office is correct.
Fill out the form on the right to download your Rhode Island Mechanics Lien Form. Use this form to file a lien in Rhode Island.
Rules and regulations for sending a Rhode Island Mechanics Lien
If unpaid on a project in Rhode Island, a party may file a mechanics lien. While the deadline to file is 200 days from last furnishing, the lien only makes a claim against work performed within those actual 200 days. Therefore, if you wait until the 200th day, you would only get protection for 1 day of services. This deadline marks 200 days from your first furnishing of labor or materials, and so represents the last day on which you can file a lien to protect the labor or material furnished on the 1st day of the project. Each day after this date you wait to file will result in one day at the start of the project for which you may not recover.
After completing the Rhode Island Mechanics Lien Form, you must deliver it to the appropriate parties required by statute. Notices are typically served on the property owner and, for sub-tier parties, the general contractor. However, depending on the type of notice, it can be helpful to send notices to anyone else who is in charge of your payment, like a lender or surety company on the project.
Others are asking about Rhode Island Mechanics Lien
Can a MA remediation contractor file a lien in RI
Can a contractor file a lien if no contract was every signed?
How do I find correct address to send notices to?
Ask a construction lawyer about a Rhode Island Mechanics Lien
Other forms to use in Rhode Island
Rhode Island County Recorders
Looking to file/record a mechanics lien in Rhode Island? You'll need to get your Rhode Island mechanics lien filed and recorded with the county recorder in the county where the construction project is located. Here is a listing of all county recorders in Rhode Island. Click on any county to find more information about how to get your lien recorded in that county.
10 Court Street
Bristol, Rhode Island, 2809
3275 Post Rd
Warwick, Rhode Island, 2886
NEWPORT, Rhode Island, 2840
phone: (401) 845-5334
Providence City Hall 25 Dorrance Street Providence Room 508
Providence, Rhode Island, 2903
phone: 401 421 7740 (ask for recorder of deeds
Town Hall, 45 Broad Street
Westerly, Rhode Island, 2891