Utah Mechanics Lien Form
Download your Mechanics Lien Form | Free Downloadable Template
Get help filing your Utah Mechanics Lien
The construction or mechanics lien, known in Utah as a Claim of Lien, is filed on private construction jobs. Construction liens are available to parties who have performed labor or provided materials to a jobsite, and have not been paid. Click the button below to download a Utah Mechanics Lien form for free.
Fill out the form on the right to download your Utah Mechanics Lien Form. Use this form to file a lien in Utah.
Rules and regulations for sending a Utah Mechanics Lien
If a Notice of Completion is filed on the project, all construction liens must be filed by any party within 90 days from the date the Notice of Completion is filed. If a Notice of Completion is not filed, the lien period will be extended to 180 days from the completion of the project.
Even when a Notice of Completion is filed on a project, contractors and suppliers must be aware of the 180 days period from the completion of the project. If the 90 day period is later than the 180 days period, the 180 day period applies.
After completing the Utah Mechanics Lien Form, you must deliver it to the appropriate parties required by statute. Notices are typically served on the property owner and, for sub-tier parties, the general contractor. However, depending on the type of notice, it can be helpful to send notices to anyone else who is in charge of your payment, like a lender or surety company on the project.
Others are asking about Utah Mechanics Lien
Can I still file a mechanics lien?
Ideally, this notice should be filed with the Utah State Construction Registry within 20 days of first providi ng labor and/or materials to the project. A late notice can still be effective, but will only protect the value of labor and/or materials provided in the 5 days prior to the recording of the notice, and everything thereafter. Lastly, a notice cannot be filed any later than 10 days after a Notice of Completion is filed on the pro ject.
That being said, if the notice wasn't properly provided, then a mechanics lien is no longer an option. However, that doesn't mean you don't have any legal recourse to recover payment.
- This article explores some of these options: Can't File a Lien? Here are other options for recovery
As a supplier, when filing a lien for materials, can we include the amount of shipping/surcharges in our amounts due?
The answer to that question is not well-developed in Utah. Contractors are entitled to a lien equal to the "reasonable value of the preconstruction or construction work[.]" Construction work "means labor, service, material, or equipment provided for the purpose and during the process of constructing, altering, or repairing an improvement" which includes "scheduling, estimating, staking, supervising, managing, materials testing, inspection, observation, and quality control or assurance involved in constructing, altering, or repairing an improvement." If that is a cost your company incurs in providing that service, there are certainly fair arguments that they should be included in the "reasonable value" of the services you provide.
Remember, even if these costs are not "lienable," that does not mean they are "unrecoverable." You can still pursue all amounts you are owed through a breach of contract or unjust enrichment claim should your customer fail to pay. That debt just wont be secured.
What do we do after we file a pre lien?
If you have a timely preliminary notice filed, then I would recommend getting a construction lien filed as soon as possible and then foreclosing that lien within 180 days of filing the lien if the matter is still not resolved. If you don't have a timely preliminary notice, then you should probably consider your options by contacting a lawyer familiar with construction liens.
Ask a construction lawyer about a Utah Mechanics Lien
Other forms to use in Utah
Utah County Recorders
Looking to file/record a mechanics lien in Utah? You'll need to get your Utah mechanics lien filed and recorded with the county recorder in the county where the construction project is located. Here is a listing of all county recorders in Utah. Click on any county to find more information about how to get your lien recorded in that county.
1 South Main St
Brigham City, Utah, 84302
phone: 435-734-3300 press 3 then 1
95 North 1st West
Manila, Utah, 84046
P.O. Box 618
Farmington, Utah, 84025
phone: (801) 451-3225
734 North Center Street
Duchesne, Utah, 84021
75 East Main St, Rm 104
Castle Dale, Utah, 84513
phone: 435- 381-3520
76 N MAIN ST
KANAB, Utah, 84741
phone: (435) 644-2360
2001 S State St #N1600
Salt Lake City, Utah, 84190
250 N. Main Street.
Richfield, Utah, 84701
147 E MAIN
Vernal, Utah, 84078
phone: (435) 781-5398
100 East Center St. suite 1300
Provo, Utah, 84606
phone: (801) 851-8179
25 North Main
Heber City, Utah, 84032
phone: (435) 657-3210
87 N 200 E #101
St. George, Utah, 84770
phone: (435) 634-5709