Guide to filing a mechanics lien in Wise County

Where is the Wise County Recorder's Office that files mechanics liens?

You can file your mechanics liens in person at the Wise County Clerk’s office located at:

200 N. Trinity
Decatur, TX 76234

Phone: (940) 627-3351
Fax: (940) 627-2138

Hours
8:00 a.m.— 5:00 p.m.
Records Room closes at 4:30 p.m.
Monday— Friday

What is Wise County's Recording Backlog?

The Wise County Clerk does not publicly disclose information on recording backlog.

Should my mechanics lien be filed in Wise County, or some other county?

If the project is located in Wise county, then yes, you will want to record your lien with the Wise County, Texas Recorder’s office.

What are Wise County's requirements for recording a mechanics lien?

The Wise County Clerk’s recording requirements are as follows:

  1. The document must be the original or a clerk certified copy.
  2. Each document must have a good notary acknowledgement and reference property in Wise County.
  3. Texas Property Code 11.003, effective Jan. 1, 1982: Requires that each grantee’s mailing address be in or attached to any document conveying real property executed after December 31, 1981. If address of each grantee is not included, the payment of a penalty filing fee equal to the greater of (1) twice the statutory filing fee for the filing of such document with the County Clerk or (2) $25.00 will be required. This fee is in addition to regular filing fees.
  4. LGC 191.007(c)(h): Provides double the filing fee for that page if there is not a clearly identifying heading, similar to the headings on most printed forms, must be placed at the top of the first page to identify the type or kind of legal paper.
  5. LGC 191.007(e)(h): Provides double the filing fee for that page if names are not legibly typed or printed immediately under each signature.
  6. LGC 191.007 (3): Printed in type no smaller than 8 point type.
  7. Property Code 12.001(b) 12.011: Must have live signature and proper acknowledgement.

What are the margin & page size requirements to file a lien in Wise County?

The margin requirements for filing a lien in Wise County are 2 inch margins at the top of the first page with .5 margins on all other sides. All other pages must have .5 inch margins on all sides. Your lien claim should be filed on Letter size 8.5 x 11 inch paper. Not following these margin and paper size requirements may invalidate your lien claim.

How can I make payment to the Wise County Recorder?

The Wise County Clerk’s office accepts cash or check payments only.

What are the filing fees to record a mechanics lien in Wise County?

The Wise County Clerk’s recording fee is $26.00 for the first page and $4.00 for each additional page.

Additional Recording Fees

Indexing Fee: $0.25 for each additional name to be indexed in excess of five (5)

Lien Fees

State Tax Lien/Release of Lien: $26.00
Federal Tax Lien/Release of Lien: $31.00

Copy Fees

Copies: $1.00 per page
Certified Copies: $5.00 certification fee per document

How do I get a recorded copy of my lien from Wise County's Recorders Office?

You can obtain a recorded copy of your lien in person at the Wise County Clerk’s office located at:

200 N. Trinity
Decatur, TX 76234

Phone: (940) 627-3351
Fax: (940) 627-2138

Hours
8:00 a.m.— 5:00 p.m.
Records Room closes at 4:30 p.m.
Monday— Friday

You can also search Wise County’s property records online at: www.countygovernmentrecords.com

You can request a search of a specific document by mail or in person only.

If requesting a search by mail, the nonrefundable fee is a $10.00 per document. Enclose a check or money order and address your request to:

Wise County Clerk
200 N. Trinity St.
P.O. Box 359
Decatur, TX 76234

Include a phone number so that the County Clerk’s office may call you back and as much of the following information you have with your request:

· Type of document
· Full name of Grantor
· Full name of Grantee
· Approximate recording date
· Volume and page or Instrument Number (if known)

If you want copies of any records, the fee is $1.00/page or if you would like a certified copy the fee is $5.00 plus $1.00/page.

Do I have the right to file a mechanics lien in Wise, Texas?

Determining if you have the right to file a lien in Wise County, Texas can be complicated. Texas has one of the most complex lien laws in the U.S. and filing a lien in Wise is no different. Generally, construction contractors who

1) furnish labor or materials
2) send all required documents before filing a lien, such as monthly notices
3) if a homestead, have a proper written contract
4) and meet any state deadlines and fees for your lien claim.

You can learn more about Mechanics Liens in Texas and more specific requirements for filing a lien overall in our step by step guide.

Top Payment Experts & Services in Wise to help you File Your Texas Mechanics Lien.

Featured Lien Filing Service
Lien Filing Service
Learn Who are the Fast Paying and Slow Paying Contractors in Texas
Legoland California L C
Rating 5.0
B
Payment Score
84 / 100
View
6E Construction
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
75 / 100
View
Fast General Contracting
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
75 / 100
View
Tavacon
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
54 / 100
View
See other Lists of Contractors and How to Best Work With Them