Guide to filing a mechanics lien in Webb County

If you’ve been left unpaid on a project in Webb County, one of your best options to secure payment is to file a mechanics lien with the Webb County Clerk. In order to get paid as quickly as possible, you need to make sure you’re familiar with Texas lien law and Webb County’s own regulations. This page introduces you to the lien laws in Texas and the requirements of the Webb County Clerk.

Most contractors run into problems with the Texas monthly notice scheme. To summarize, if you don’t have a direct contract with the owner in Texas, you have to send recurring monthly notices. On top of that, there are multiple different types of notices, and each one must be sent at the right time. Failure to do this could mean the loss of your lien rights.

The deadlines for notices and liens in Texas can be confusing as well. The standard timeframe of the 15th day of the fourth month after the last month that work or services were furnished doesn’t always apply. Find out more about this here.

Although Texas lien law can cause quite a bit of confusion, recording your mechanics lien in Webb County is a simpler process. Below, you can find useful information about the Webb County Clerk, including Webb County’s recording and formatting requirements, contact information, links on Webb County’s public records, and more.

Refer to our step-by-step guide to Filing A Texas Mechanics Lien if you’re looking for detailed information about the process itself.

Where is the Webb County Clerk's Office that files mechanics liens?

You can file your mechanics liens in person at the Webb County Clerk’s office located at:

1110 Victoria St., Suite 201
Laredo, Texas 78040

Office: 956-523-4266
Fax: 956-523-5035

Office Hours
Monday-Friday 8:00 a.m.-5:00 p.m.

What is Webb County's Recording Backlog?

The Webb County Clerk does not publicly disclose information on recording backlog.

Should my mechanics lien be filed in Webb County, or some other county?

If the project is located in Webb county, then yes, you will want to record your lien with the Webb County, Texas Clerk’s office.

What are Webb County's requirements for recording a mechanics lien?

The Webb County Clerk’s recording requirements are as follows:

1. All documents filed must have a 5-inch margin of free and clear space on the bottom of the last page for the placement of certification Seal and validation stamp.

2. There must be a heading on top of first page of document.

3. Any document conveying interest in property must have the grantee’s address, if not, double the filing fee of the document or $25.00, whichever is the greater of the two

4. Names must be printed under signatures, if not, double the filing of that page.

5. Plaintiff or Judgment Creditor address must be on Abstract of Judgment, if not, double filing fee or $25.00, whichever is the greater of the two.

What are the margin & page size requirements to file a lien in Webb County?

All documents filed must have a 5-inch margin of free and clear space on the bottom of the last page for the placement of certification Seal and validation stamp.

How can I make payment to the Webb County Clerk?

You can make payment to the Webb County Clerk when submitting your lien to the office. The Webb County Clerk accepts cash, check, Visa, Discover, and Mastercard.

What are the filing fees to record a mechanics lien in Webb County?

The Webb County Clerk’s recording fee is $26.00 for the first page and $4.00 for each additional page.

Additional Recording Fees

Indexing Fee: $0.25 for each name in excess of that have to be indexed

Lien Fees:
Hospital Lien or Release of Hospital Lien: $26.00
State Tax Lien or Release of State Tax Lien: $16.00
Federal Tax Lien, Release of Tax Lien: $31.00

Copy Fees
Non-Certified Copies: $1.00 per page
Certified Copies: $5.00 or Clerk’s Certificate

How do I get a recorded copy of my lien from Webb County Clerk's Office?

You can obtain a recorded copy of your lien in person at the Webb County Clerk’s office located at:

1110 Victoria St., Suite 201
Laredo, Texas 78040

Office: 956-523-4266
Fax: 956-523-5035

Office Hours
Monday-Friday 8:00 a.m.-5:00 p.m.

Presently the County Clerk’s computer system holds Official Public Records information from 1982 to the present date.

You can also search and print Webb County Clerk’s Official Records from 1982 to the present date online at: https://countyfusion5.kofiletech.us/countyweb/login.do?countyname=WebbTX

Access to a copy of a lien may require paying a fee.

Do I have the right to file a mechanics lien in Webb, Texas?

Determining if you have the right to file a lien in Webb County, Texas can be complicated. Texas has one of the most complex lien laws in the U.S. and filing a lien in Webb is no different. Generally, construction contractors who

1) furnish labor or materials
2) send all required documents before filing a lien, such as monthly notices
3) if a homestead, have a proper written contract
4) and meet any state deadlines and fees for your lien claim.

You can learn more about Mechanics Liens in Texas and more specific requirements for filing a lien overall in our step by step guide.

Do I have to send a monthly notice to file a lien in Webb County, Texas?

Yes, you will need to have sent a Texas Preliminary Notice (monthly notices) to be able to file a lien in Webb County, TX. Not sending the correct Texas Monthly Notice may result in an invalid lien claim at the time of filing with the Webb County Clerk / Assessor.

Top Payment Experts & Services in Webb to help you File Your Texas Mechanics Lien.

Featured Lien Filing Service
Lien Filing Service
Learn Who are the Fast Paying and Slow Paying Contractors in Texas
Billingsley Company
Rating 5.0
D
Payment Score
38 / 100
View
Fast Trak Construction Lp
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
75 / 100
View
Gtt General Contractors
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
67 / 100
View
Halo Contractors
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
75 / 100
View
See other Lists of Contractors and How to Best Work With Them