Guide to filing a mechanics lien in Orange County

If you’ve gone unpaid after a construction project in Orange County, one of the quickest ways to free up the money is to file a mechanics lien with the Orange County Clerk. To help the process go quicker, it’s a good idea to read up on Texas lien law and the Orange County Clerk’s requirements as well. This way, you can include all the necessary information, meet all the prerequisites, and format your lien claim correctly to get it done right the first time.

  • Texas lien law is notoriously confusing. For example, the preliminary notice requirements dictate that lien claimants file recurring, monthly notices if they aren’t contracted with the property owner. Failure to meet these preliminary notice requirements could mean that you lose your lien rights.
  • Along with that, the deadlines that surround preliminary notices and mechanics liens aren’t always black-and-white in Texas. Usually, lien claimants have until the 15th day of the fourth month after the last month work or materials were furnished. Learn more about Texas deadlines for mechanics liens here.

This page provides you with information about the Orange County Clerk, including Orange County’s recording requirements, recording fees, formatting requirements, and contact information. 

Refer to our step-by-step guide to Filing A Texas Mechanics Lien if you’re looking for detailed information about the process itself.

Where is the Orange County Clerk's Office that files mechanics liens?

You can file your mechanics liens in person at the Clerk’s Office located at:

801 W. Division
Orange TX 7763

Office Hours:
8:00 am – 5:00 pm, Monday – Friday

The office is open through the lunch hour.

What is Orange County's Recording Backlog?

The Orange County Clerk does not publicly disclose information on recording backlog.

Should my mechanics lien be filed in Orange County, or some other county?

If the project is located in Orange county, then yes, you will want to record your lien with the Orange County, Texas Clerk’s office.

What are Orange County's requirements for recording a mechanics lien?

The Orange County Clerk’s recording requirements are as follows:

1. Your document must be the original or a certified copy.
2. There must be a title at the top.
3. If it’s a Deed, the grantee’s address must be listed.
4. If it’s a Deed of Trust, the trustee or beneficiary’s address must be listed.
5. The signatures must be original.
6. There must be an original notary acknowledgment.
7. The property must be located in Orange County.
8. Any extra space at the top or bottom for filing info is not required.
9. The fee is $26.00 for the first page and $4.00 for each additional page.

What are the margin & page size requirements to file a lien in Orange County?

The Orange County Clerk does not require any extra space at the top or bottom for filing info.

How can I make payment to the Orange County Clerk?

The Orange County Clerk accept checks, money orders and credit cards for requests mailed to them. Make checks payable to Orange County Clerk.

What are the filing fees to record a mechanics lien in Orange County?

The Orange County Clerk’s recording fee is $26.00 for the first page and $4.00 for each additional page.

Lien Fees

Federal Tax Lien Notice or Release Filed: $31.00
Hospital Lien Notice or Release Filed: $26.00

Copy Fees

Copy: $1.00 per page
Certified Copy: $1.00 per page + $5.00 for certification

How do I get a recorded copy of my lien from Orange County Clerk's Office?

You can obtain a recorded copy of your lien in person at the Orange County Clerk’s office located at:

801 W. Division
Orange TX 7763

Office Hours:
8:00 am – 5:00 pm, Monday – Friday

The office is open through the lunch hour.

You can also perform your own search and print your documents online at no charge.

You can go to the Official Public Records online search page here:
http://207.80.115.100:8052/portal/?user=online&password=search&environment=live&portal=false&autoLogout=true&app=1007#15659419342239883/

If you want the County Clerk’s office to conduct a search for you, you can mail a request along with payment. They accept checks, money orders and credit cards via mail. Make sure you have as much information as possible on the record you are looking for when requesting a search. Helpful information would be:

Official Public Records of Real Propery

– Grantor and Grantee’s names
– Date property was purchased
– File date
– Physical address of property

Mail your request to the following address:

Orange County Clerk
123 S 6th St
Orange TX 77630

You can also request a copy of your lien by mail. You need to fill out a copy request form and mail this request along with payment to the following address:

Orange County Clerk
123 South 6th Street
Orange, TX 77630

Copies are $1.00 per page. If you need a certified copy, add $5.00 per document to that fee. To find out the exact cost of the copy, you can call the Orange County Clerk’s office at 409-882-7055 or e-mail them at countyclerk@co.orange.tx.us. A payment must be made in advance in order to make a copy.

Do I have the right to file a mechanics lien in Orange, Texas?

Determining if you have the right to file a lien in Orange County, Texas can be complicated. Texas has one of the most complex lien laws in the U.S. and filing a lien in Orange is no different. Generally, construction contractors who

1) furnish labor or materials
2) send all required documents before filing a lien, such as monthly notices
3) if a homestead, have a proper written contract
4) and meet any state deadlines and fees for your lien claim.

You can learn more about Mechanics Liens in Texas and more specific requirements for filing a lien overall in our step by step guide.

Do I have to send a monthly notice to file a lien in Orange County, Texas?

Yes, you will need to have sent a Texas Preliminary Notice (monthly notices) to be able to file a lien in Orange County, TX. Not sending the correct Texas Monthly Notice may result in an invalid lien claim at the time of filing with the Orange County Clerk / Assessor.

Top Payment Experts & Services in Orange to help you File Your Texas Mechanics Lien.

Featured Lien Filing Service
Lien Filing Service
Learn Who are the Fast Paying and Slow Paying Contractors in Texas
LBA Realty
Rating 5.0
A
Payment Score
85 / 100
View
InGate Contracting
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
75 / 100
View
Bell County Glass Company Inc.
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
75 / 100
View
CoDel Inc
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
75 / 100
View
See other Lists of Contractors and How to Best Work With Them