Guide to filing a mechanics lien in Hutchinson County

Where is the Hutchinson County Recorder's Office that files mechanics liens?

You can file your mechanics liens in person at the Hutchinson County Clerk’s office located at:

515 S. Main Street Suite 211
Stinnett, Texas 79083

Office: 806-878-4002
Fax: 806-878-3497
E-mail: co.clerk@hutchinsoncnty.com

Office Hours: 8:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.

Monday – Thursday

What is Hutchinson County's Recording Backlog?

The Hutchinson County Clerk does not publicly disclose information on recording backlog.

Should my mechanics lien be filed in Hutchinson County, or some other county?

If the project is located in Hutchinson county, then yes, you will want to record your lien with the Hutchinson County, Texas Recorder’s office.

What are Hutchinson County's requirements for recording a mechanics lien?

The Hutchinson County Clerk’s recording requirements are as follows:

1. MUST HAVE ORIGINAL SIGNATURES
Texas Property Code Sec. 12.0011 (b)
2. MUST BE PROPERLY ACKNOWLEDGED/ NOTARIZED
Civ. Prac. & Rem. Code Sec. 121.004-121.011
3. MUST HAVE A CLEARLY IDENTIFYING HEADING OF DOCUMENT
4. MUST BE TYPED OR WRITTEN IN AT LEAST 8 PT. FONT
5. MUST BE ON PAPER NO LARGER THAN 8.5 in. X 14 in.
6. MUST HAVE THE GRANTOR’S NAME PRINTED LEGIBLY/TYPED
UNDER SIGNATURE
7. MUST HAVE GRANTEE’S MAILING ADDRESS ON DOCUMENT
Failure to meet these requirements will results in a fee double the normal recording fee Local Gov’t Code 191.007
8. MUST HAVE AT LEAST 1 in. MARGIN OF BLANK SPACE AT TOP
OF EACH PAGE
Local request for space for electronic stamp

If no statute authorizes, requires or permits a document
to be filed or recorded, the clerk may not accept such a
document. For example, unusual papers such as a “Refusal to Pay Property Taxes,” a “Declaration of Person Being a Sovereign,” a “Surrender of Social Security Card” and a “Declaration of Domestic Partnership” are not to be filed or recorded. Sec 11.008

Confidential information in real property documents. A deed,
mortgage, or deed of trust that transfers an interest in real property to or from an individual must include a confidentiality notice. The notice must appear at the top of the first page of the instrument, in 12-point boldfaced type or 12-point uppercase
letters, and read substantially as follows: NOTICE OF CONFIDENTIALITY RIGHTS: IF YOU ARE A NATURAL PERSON, YOU MAY REMOVE OR STRIKE ANY OR ALL OF THE FOLLOWING INFORMATION FROM THIS INSTRUMENT BEFORE IT IS FILED FOR RECORD IN THE PUBLIC RECORDS: YOUR SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER OR YOUR DRIVER’S LICENSE NUMBER. Sec 11.008 (b)

What are the margin & page size requirements to file a lien in Hutchinson County?

All documents must be on paper no larger than 8.5 in. x 14 in. Each document must have at least 1 in. margin of blank space at the top of each page.

How can I make payment to the Hutchinson County Recorder?

You can make payment to the Hutchinson County Recorder when submitting your lien to the office. The Hutchinson County Recorder accepts cash, check, Visa, Discover, and Mastercard.

What are the filing fees to record a mechanics lien in Hutchinson County?

The Hutchinson County Clerk’s recording fee is $20.00 for the fist page and $4.00 for each additional page or part of page with recording information.

Additional Recording Fees

Indexing Fee: $0.25 for each name in excess of five names that has to be indexed

How do I get a recorded copy of my lien from Hutchinson County's Recorders Office?

You can obtain a recorded copy of your lien in person at the Hutchinson County Clerk’s office located at:

515 S. Main Street Suite 211
Stinnett, Texas 79083

Office: 806-878-4002
Fax: 806-878-3497
E-mail: co.clerk@hutchinsoncnty.com

Office Hours: 8:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.

Monday – Thursday

You can also search Hutchinson County’s Real Property Records online at: https://www.texaslandrecords.com/txlr/TxlrApp/index.jsp/

You can print and view any document available in the online system. Commercial/Monthly Members will be charged a flat monthly fee per user to view any document available on-line, while Pay-Per Access Member/Free Search will be charged for the entire document at the rate of $1 per page.

You can contact or visit the County Clerks office for a certified copy of a document. Copies printed online cannot be certified by the County Clerk.

Do I have the right to file a mechanics lien in Hutchinson, Texas?

Determining if you have the right to file a lien in Hutchinson County, Texas can be complicated. Texas has one of the most complex lien laws in the U.S. and filing a lien in Hutchinson is no different. Generally, construction contractors who

1) furnish labor or materials.

2) send all required documents before filing a lien, such as monthly notices.

3) if a homestead, have a proper written contract.

4) and meet any state deadlines and fees for your lien claim.

You can learn more about Mechanics Liens in Texas and more specific requirements for filing a lien overall in our step by step guide.

Do I have to send a monthly notice to file a lien in Hutchinson County, Texas?

Yes, you will need to have sent a Texas Preliminary Notice (monthly notices) to be able to file a lien in Hutchinson County, TX. Not sending the correct Texas Monthly Notice may result in an invalid lien claim at the time of filing with the Hutchinson County Recorder / Assessor.

Top Payment Experts & Services in Hutchinson to help you File Your Texas Mechanics Lien.

Featured Lien Filing Service
Lien Filing Service
Learn Who are the Fast Paying and Slow Paying Contractors in Texas
Tracer Roofing
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
75 / 100
View
Xpress Erosion Solutions
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
75 / 100
View
Coreslab Structures
Rating 5.0
B
Payment Score
84 / 100
View
Hargrave Electric Co.
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
75 / 100
View
See other Lists of Contractors and How to Best Work With Them