Guide to filing a mechanics lien in Hopkins County

Where is the Hopkins County Recorder's Office that files mechanics liens?

You can file your mechanics liens in person at the Hopkins County Clerk’s office located at:

Hopkins County Courthouse
118 Church St.
Sulphur Springs, TX 75482

Phone: (903) 438-4006

What is Hopkins County's Recording Backlog?

The Hopkins County Clerk does not publicly disclose information on recording backlog.

Should my mechanics lien be filed in Hopkins County, or some other county?

If the project is located in Hopkins county, then yes, you will want to record your lien with the Hopkins County, Texas Recorder’s office.

What are Hopkins County's requirements for recording a mechanics lien?

The Hopkins County Clerk’s recording requirements are as follows:

Texas Property Code 11.003, effective Jan. 1, 1982: Requires that each grantee’s mailing address be in or attached to any document conveying real property executed after December 31, 1981. If address of each grantee is not included, the payment of a penalty filing fee equal to the greater of (1) twice the statutory filing fee for the filing of such document with the County Clerk or (2) $25.00 will be required. This fee is in addition to regular filing fees. LGC 191.007(c)(h): Provides double the filing fee for that page if there is not a clearly identifying heading, similar to the headings on most printed forms, must be placed at the top of the first page to identify the type or kind of legal paper. LGC 191.007(e)(h): Provides double the filing fee for that page if names are not legibly typed or printed immediately under each signature. LGC 191.007 (3): Printed in type no smaller than 8 point type. Property Code 12.001(b) &12.011: Must have live signature and proper acknowledgement.

What are the margin & page size requirements to file a lien in Hopkins County?

The margin requirements for filing a lien in Hopkins County are 2 inch margins at the top of the first page with .5 margins on all other sides. All other pages must have .5 inch margins on all sides. Your lien claim should be filed on Letter size 8.5 x 11 inch paper. Not following these margin and paper size requirements may invalidate your lien claim.

How can I make payment to the Hopkins County Recorder?

You can make payment to the Hopkins County Recorder when submitting your lien to the office. The Hopkins County Recorder accepts cash, check, Visa, Discover, and Mastercard.

What are the filing fees to record a mechanics lien in Hopkins County?

The Hopkins County Clerk’s recording fee is $26.00 for the first page and $4.00 for each additional page.

Additional Recording Fees

Indexing Fee: $0.25 for each additional name to be indexed in excess of five (5)

Lien Fees

Federal Tax Lien/Release of Lien: $31.00
State Tax Lien/Release of Lien: $16.00

Copy Fees:

Copies of Records: $1.00 per page
Certification Fee: $5.00

How do I get a recorded copy of my lien from Hopkins County's Recorders Office?

You can obtain a recorded copy of your lien in person at the Hopkins County Clerk’s office located at:

Hopkins County Courthouse
118 Church St.
Sulphur Springs, TX 75482

Phone: (903) 438-4006

Copy fees are as follows:

Copies of Records: $1.00 per page
Certification Fee: $5.00

You can also search Hopkins County’s Real Property Records online at: https://www.texasonlinerecords.com/realproperty/?office_id=2/

Real Property records go from the present back to 1967.

Do I have the right to file a mechanics lien in Hopkins, Texas?

Determining if you have the right to file a lien in Hopkins County, Texas can be complicated. Texas has one of the most complex lien laws in the U.S. and filing a lien in Hopkins is no different. Generally, construction contractors who

1) furnish labor or materials
2) send all required documents before filing a lien, such as monthly notices
3) if a homestead, have a proper written contract
4) and meet any state deadlines and fees for your lien claim.

You can learn more about Mechanics Liens in Texas and more specific requirements for filing a lien overall in our step by step guide.

Do I have to send a monthly notice to file a lien in Hopkins County, Texas?

Yes, you will need to have sent a Texas Preliminary Notice (monthly notices) to be able to file a lien in Hopkins County, TX. Not sending the correct Texas Monthly Notice may result in an invalid lien claim at the time of filing with the Hopkins County Recorder / Assessor.

Top Payment Experts & Services in Hopkins to help you File Your Texas Mechanics Lien.

Featured Lien Filing Service
Lien Filing Service
Learn Who are the Fast Paying and Slow Paying Contractors in Texas
Core & Main
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
68 / 100
View
Amazon
Rating 5.0
A
Payment Score
95 / 100
View
Hobbs Plumbing DBA H & R Plumbing
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
75 / 100
View
Halo Contractors
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
75 / 100
View
See other Lists of Contractors and How to Best Work With Them