Guide to filing a mechanics lien in Freestone County

Where is the Freestone County Recorder's Office that files mechanics liens?

You can file your mechanics liens in person at the Freestone County Clerk’s office located at:

103 E Main
Fairfield, TX 75840

Phone: 903-389-2635

Office Hours:
8:00 am to 5:00 p.m. Monday through Thursday
8:00 am to 4:30 p.m. on Friday

What is Freestone County's Recording Backlog?

The Freestone County Clerk does not publicly disclose information on recording backlog.

Should my mechanics lien be filed in Freestone County, or some other county?

If the project is located in Freestone county, then yes, you will want to record your lien with the Freestone County, Texas Recorder’s office.

What are Freestone County's requirements for recording a mechanics lien?

The Freestone County Clerk’s recording requirements are as follows:

Texas Property Code 11.003, effective Jan. 1, 1982: Requires that each grantee’s mailing address be in or attached to any document conveying real property executed after December 31, 1981. If address of each grantee is not included, the payment of a penalty filing fee equal to the greater of (1) twice the statutory filing fee for the filing of such document with the County Clerk or (2) $25.00 will be required. This fee is in addition to regular filing fees. LGC 191.007(c)(h): Provides double the filing fee for that page if there is not a clearly identifying heading, similar to the headings on most printed forms, must be placed at the top of the first page to identify the type or kind of legal paper. LGC 191.007(e)(h): Provides double the filing fee for that page if names are not legibly typed or printed immediately under each signature. LGC 191.007 (3): Printed in type no smaller than 8 point type. Property Code 12.001(b) & 12.011: Must have live signature and proper acknowledgement

What are the margin & page size requirements to file a lien in Freestone County?

The margin requirements for filing a lien in Freestone County are 2 inch margins at the top of the first page with .5 margins on all other sides. All other pages must have .5 inch margins on all sides. Your lien claim should be filed on Letter size 8.5 x 11 inch paper. Not following these margin and paper size requirements may invalidate your lien claim.

How can I make payment to the Freestone County Recorder?

You can make payment to the Freestone County Recorder when submitting your lien to the office. The Freestone County Recorder accepts cash, check, Visa, Discover, and Mastercard.

What are the filing fees to record a mechanics lien in Freestone County?

The Freestone County Clerk’s recording fee is $26.00 for the first page and $4.00 for each additional page.

Lien Fees

Federal Tax Lien/Release of Lien: $26.00

How do I get a recorded copy of my lien from Freestone County's Recorders Office?

You can obtain a recorded copy of your lien in person at the Freestone County Clerk’s office located at:

103 E Main
Fairfield, TX 75840

Phone: 903-389-2635

Office Hours:
8:00 am to 5:00 p.m. Monday through Thursday
8:00 am to 4:30 p.m. on Friday

You can search Freestone County Official Public Records and purchase images of documents recorded from 1970 to the present online at:

https://freestonetx.search.kofile.com/48161/Home/Index/1
Enter website address choose Freestone County
$1.00 per page to print/Credit Card Required
Propery records can also be searched online at http://www.texaslandrecords.com

You can print and view any document available in the online system.

Commercial/Monthly Member will be charged a flat monthly fee per user to view any document available online, while Pay-Per Access Member/Free Search will be charged for the entire document at the rate of $1 per page.

Note that these documents are unofficial copies. You can contact or visit the County Clerks office for a certified copy of a document. Copies printed online cannot be certified by the County Clerk.

Do I have the right to file a mechanics lien in Freestone, Texas

Determining if you have the right to file a lien in Freestone County, Texas can be complicated. Texas has one of the most complex lien laws in the U.S. and filing a lien in Freestone is no different. Generally, construction contractors who

1) furnish labor or materials
2) send all required documents before filing a lien, such as monthly notices
3) if a homestead, have a proper written contract
4) and meet any state deadlines and fees for your lien claim.

You can learn more about Mechanics Liens in Texas and more specific requirements for filing a lien overall in our step by step guide.

Do I have to send a monthly notice to file a lien in Freestone County, Texas?

Yes, you will need to have sent a Texas Preliminary Notice (monthly notices) to be able to file a lien in Freestone County, TX. Not sending the correct Texas Monthly Notice may result in an invalid lien claim at the time of filing with the Freestone County Recorder / Assessor.

Top Payment Experts & Services in Freestone to help you File Your Texas Mechanics Lien.

Featured Lien Filing Service
Lien Filing Service
Learn Who are the Fast Paying and Slow Paying Contractors in Texas
Legoland California L C
Rating 5.0
B
Payment Score
84 / 100
View
Tracer Roofing
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
75 / 100
View
Olymbec USA
Rating 5.0
B
Payment Score
81 / 100
View
Bruno Chavez Painting
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
75 / 100
View
See other Lists of Contractors and How to Best Work With Them