Guide to filing a mechanics lien in Burleson County

Where is the Burleson County Recorder's Office that files mechanics liens?

You can file your mechanics liens in person at the Burleson County Clerk’s office located at:

100 West Buck, Suite 203
Caldwell, Texas 77836

Phone: 979-567-2329
Fax: 979-567-2376
Email: coclerk@burlesoncounty.org

Office Hours:
Monday-Friday 8-5pm

What is Burleson County's Recording Backlog?

The Burleson County Clerk does not publicly disclose information on recording backlog.

Should my mechanics lien be filed in Burleson County, or some other county?

If the project is located in Burleson county, then yes, you will want to record your lien with the Burleson County, Texas Recorder’s office.

What are Burleson County's requirements for recording a mechanics lien?

The Burleson County Clerk’s recording requirements are as follows:

You must have a complete legal acknowledgment: (It must have the words “were or was acknowledged” or it is not considered a full legal acknowledgment.)

The County Clerk records original instruments only or for example: Certified copies of the original, such as Probate Proceedings.

After five (5) names (including grantors and grantees), there is a twenty five cent ($0.25) fee for each name thereafter.

The notary seal must have their name and expiration date in the seal. Any type of Conveyance must include the Grantee’s address or a $25.00 penalty fee will have to be charged. If the regular recording fee is in excess of $25.00 then the recording fee will be doubled if this requirement is not met.

The County Clerk may only certify what is on record in the office, and they have to certify the complete instrument, not just one or two pages of the instrument.

INSTRUMENTS RECORDED IN THE REAL PROPERTY OR OFFICAL PUBLIC RECORDS OF THE COUNTY & EXECUTED AFTER JANUARY 1, 2004 – ARE NOT REQUIRED TO CONTAIN A SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER OR DRIVER’S LICENSE NUMBER & ARE PUBLIC RECORDS AVAILABLE FOR REVIEW BY THE PUBLIC. (Chapter 11, Section 11.008, Property Code)

What are the margin & page size requirements to file a lien in Burleson County?

The margin requirements for filing a lien in Burleson County are 2 inch margins at the top of the first page with .5 margins on all other sides. All other pages must have .5 inch margins on all sides. Your lien claim should be filed on Letter size 8.5 x 11 inch paper. Not following these margin and paper size requirements may invalidate your lien claim.

How can I make payment to the Burleson County Recorder?

The Burleson County Clerk’s Office accepts cashier’s check or money order. Note that out of state checks are not accepted.

What are the filing fees to record a mechanics lien in Burleson County?

The Burleson County Clerk’s recording fee is $26.00 for the first page and $4.00 for each additional page.

Additional Recording Fees

Indexing Fee: $0.25 for each name after five (5) names

Lien Fees

Copy Fees

Copies: $1.00 per page
Certified Copies: $5.00 per certification plus $1.00 per page

How do I get a recorded copy of my lien from Burleson County's Recorders Office?

You can obtain a recorded copy of your lien in person at the Burleson County Clerk’s office located at:

100 West Buck, Suite 203
Caldwell, Texas 77836

Phone: 979-567-2329
Fax: 979-567-2376
Email: coclerk@burlesoncounty.org

Office Hours:
Monday-Friday 8-5pm

You can also search Burleson County’s records from 1964 to the present online and purchase documents of images at:
https://burlesontx.search.kofile.com

Do I have the right to file a mechanics lien in Burleson, Texas?

Determining if you have the right to file a lien in Burleson County, Texas can be complicated. Texas has one of the most complex lien laws in the U.S. and filing a lien in Burleson is no different. Generally, construction contractors who

1) furnish labor or materials
2) send all required documents before filing a lien, such as monthly notices
3) if a homestead, have a proper written contract
4) and meet any state deadlines and fees for your lien claim.

You can learn more about Mechanics Liens in Texas and more specific requirements for filing a lien overall in our step by step guide.

Do I have to send a monthly notice to file a lien in Burleson County, Texas?

Yes, you will need to have sent a Texas Preliminary Notice (monthly notices) to be able to file a lien in Burleson County, TX. Not sending the correct Texas Monthly Notice may result in an invalid lien claim at the time of filing with the Burleson County Recorder / Assessor.

Top Payment Experts & Services in Burleson to help you File Your Texas Mechanics Lien.

Featured Lien Filing Service
Lien Filing Service
Learn Who are the Fast Paying and Slow Paying Contractors in Texas
Core & Main
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
77 / 100
View
Modular Power Solutions
Rating 5.0
A
Payment Score
90 / 100
View
Thompson Concrete
Rating 5.0
D
Payment Score
46 / 100
View
Anchor-Ventana Glass
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
75 / 100
View
See other Lists of Contractors and How to Best Work With Them