Guide to filing a mechanics lien in Ulster County

Need to file a mechanics lien with the Ulster County Clerk? This page introduces you to some of New York’s lien laws, as well as the recording requirements for the Ulster County Clerk’s Office. After you’ve done the research, you’re much less likely to make mistakes that get your lien claim rejected and cost you time.

Here are three parts of New York lien law that you should be aware of:

  1. Some parties on a construction project don’t have the right to file a mechanics lien. While most participants on a project have lien rights, there are a select few who don’t. They include unlicensed contractors, suppliers to suppliers, and parties that aren’t authorized to work in New York.
  2. The New York preliminary notice requirements are relaxed. In most states, contractors are required to send a preliminary notice to the property owner in order to retain their right to lien. In New York, that’s not a requirement, and chances are you don’t need to send a preliminary notice. There are a few exceptions to the rule, though.
  3. Mechanics lien deadlines are shorter for single family residential projects. Normally, lien claimants in New York have 8 months after the construction project ends to file a lien. On the other hand, claimants on single family residential projects only have 4 months.

The construction industry is complicated, and so is lien law. To learn more about New York’s lien law, check out our  New York Mechanics Lien Guide and FAQ.

If the project is located in Ulster County, you’ll need to record your lien claim with the Ulster County Clerk’s Office. Use the list of frequently asked questions below to familiarize yourself with the Ulster County Clerk’s recording requirements, recording fees, page size and margin requirements, recording methods, and more.

You can find a detailed rundown of the entire mechanics lien process on our Step-by-Step Guide to Filing a Mechanics Lien in New York.

Where is the Ulster County Clerk's Office that files mechanic liens?

You can file your mechanic liens in person at the Ulster County Clerk’s Office located at:

Ulster County Office Building
244 Fair Street
Kingston, New York 12401

The office is open Monday through Friday, 9:00 a.m. to 4:45 p.m. (845) 340-3288.

You can also submit your documents electronically.

The Ulster Conty Clerk’s office has in place agreements with three e-recording service providers. To learn more about this option or setting up an account please contact any of the following vendors:

Corporation Service Company (CSC) – CSC Global
2711 Centerville Road
Wilmington, Delaware 19808

1-866-403-5272 — Matthew Netta
www.erecording.com
matthew.netta@scsglobal.com

eRecording Partners Network, LLC (ePN)
400 Second Ave.
South Minneapolis, MN 55401

1-888-325-3365 ext 11241 — Lesa Hosek
www.erecordingpartners.net
lesa@erecordingpartners.net

Simplifile LC
4844 North 300 West, Suite 202
Provo, Utah 84604

1-800-460-5657 — Brian Kilfoyle
www.simplifile.com
bkilfoyle@simplifile.com

The Ulster County Clerk’s Office will continue to accept documents presented for recording in person, at the counter as well as documents submitted via USPS mail, UPS and Fed Ex.

What is Ulster County's Recording Backlog?

The Ulster County Clerk’s Office does not publicly disclose information on recording backlog.

Should I file my mechanics lien in Ulster County?

If your construction project is located in Ulster County, then yes, you should file your lien here.

What are the Ulster County Clerk's requirements for recording a mechanics lien?

The Ulster County Clerk’s recording requirements are as follows:

  1. Include your name and basic information.
  2. Include the property owner’s name and address. You can get this information from ACRIS, the New York eFiling database.
  3. Include a statement for the labor and materials furnished for the construction project.
  4. Include the lien amount based on the value of labor and materials you furnished for the project.
  5. Provide the first and last dates of performance of work or furnishing of materials for the project.
  6. Include the property’s legal description.
  7. In the state of New York, lien claims must be witnessed and notarized.

After that’s done, you’re required to serve the property owner with a copy of the affidavit within 30 days of filing. Otherwise, the lien is rendered invalid.

What are the margin & page size requirements to file a lien in Ulster County?

The Ulster County Clerk’s page size and margin reqirements are as follows:

  • Page size may be no larger than 8.5 x 11.
  • Type may be no smaller than 9 point.
  • The first page must have a margin of 3 inches and a margin of 1 inch on all other sides.
  • All subsequent pages must have a margin on 1 inches on all sides.

How can I make payment to the Ulster County Clerk's Office?

The Ulster County Clerk’s Office accepts check or money order.

What are the filing fees to record a mechanics lien in Ulster County?

The Ulster County Clerk’s recording fees are as follows:

Recording Fees

Recording & Indexing
Recording Fee: $45.00
Recording Fee per page: $5.00

Lien Fees

Mechanic’s Lien: $15.00
Mechanic’s Lien – Affidavit of Service: $5.00

Copy Fees

CPLR 8019(f)(I-4) Copy Only: $0.65
Certified Prepared Copy: $0.65 per page (min $5.20)
Prepare & Certify: $1.25 per page (min $5.00)
Maximum per Record $40.00

How do I get a recorded copy of my lien from the Ulster County Clerk's Office?

You can obtain a recorded copy of your lien in person, by mail, telephone or online.

In Person

You can visit the Ulster County Clerk’s Office located at:

Ulster County Office Building
244 Fair Street
Kingston, New York 12401

The office is open Monday through Friday, 9:00 a.m. to 4:45 p.m. (845) 340-3288.

Mail

You can also write to the Ulster County Clerk’s Office, 244 Fair Street, Kingston, New York 12401. Make reference to the property owner, filing date, type of document you are requesting and book and page number if known.

The fee is 65 cents per page and the fee is required at the time the request is mailed in. If a search of the records is necessary the fee is $5.00 for every two years searched. If the document needs to be certified there is an additional fee of $1.25 per page (min.$5.00). The County Clerk’s Office accepts check or money order. Copies will be mailed back to you at the address indicated on the request.

Telephone

Telephone requests are accepted for recording information for land records from 1984 to present.

Online

You can also search for Ulster County Clerk’s records online at: https://www.searchiqs.com/NYULS/Login.aspx

Top Payment Experts & Services in Ulster to help you File Your New York Mechanics Lien.

Featured Lien Filing Service
Lien Filing Service
Learn Who are the Fast Paying and Slow Paying Contractors in New York
City of Henderson
Rating 5.0
A
Payment Score
85 / 100
View
Ascena Retail Group
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
75 / 100
View
Empire Architectural Metal & Glass
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
75 / 100
View
Ritz Carlton
Rating 5.0
B
Payment Score
81 / 100
View
See other Lists of Contractors and How to Best Work With Them