Guide to filing a mechanics lien in Wakulla County

If you need to record a mechanics lien with the Wakulla County Clerk, you’re in the right place. When filing a mechanics lien, time is of the essence, and making mistakes during the recording process will prolong the amount of time you go unpaid after the project’s completion. To avoid those time-costing mistakes, you should familiarize yourself with Florida’s lien laws and Wakulla County’s requirements.

To help you get started, here are four noteworthy features of Florida lien law that place limitations on who can and who can’t file a mechanics lien:

  1. Florida requires contractors to submit a notice to owner to preserve their lien rights. The deadline for NTOs in Florida is 45 days after work, services, or materials are first provided on a project.
  2. Contractors must adhere to the deadline of 90 days after work was last performed to file mechanics liens. In most other states, the deadline is triggered by the date of the official end of the project, but not in Florida.
  3. Some parties involved in a project will not have lien rights. These parties include sub-sub-subcontractors, suppliers to suppliers, suppliers to sub-sub-subcontractors, maintenance workers, and unlicensed contractors who are performing work that requires them to be licensed.
  4. Exaggerating the lien amount in Florida is a 3rd degree felony.

Check out our Florida Lien Laws FAQ page for a complete breakdown of these laws.

Mechanics liens in Wakulla County are recorded with the Wakulla County Clerk of Court, an office which applies its own requirements to lien claims on top of Florida State law. This page provides you with useful information about the Wakulla County Clerk, such as Wakulla County’s recording requirements, formatting requirements, fees, contact information, and more. You can also find out how to eRecord your lien in Wakulla County, or eFile your lien easily with Levelset.

When it comes to filing a mechanics lien in Florida, there’s no such thing as too much research. Visit our step-by-step guide to filing a mechanics lien in Florida for a complete breakdown of the Florida mechanics lien process.

Where is the Wakulla County Clerk of Court that files mechanics liens?

You can file your mechanic liens in Wakulla County in person at the following address:

Wakulla County Clerk of Court
3056 Crawfordville Hwy
Crawfordville, FL 32327
Phone: 850-926-0905

Hours: Mon-Fri, 8am-4pm

You can also eRecord you lien with the Wakulla County Clerk of Court with the following eRecording services:

Corporation Service Company (CSC)
eRecording Partners
Simplifile

What is Wakulla County's Recording Backlog?

The Wakulla County Clerk of Court does not publicly disclose information regarding recording backlogs.

Should I file my mechanics lien in Wakulla County, or some other county?

If the project is located in Wakulla County, then yes, you should record your lien in Wakulla County.

What are Wakulla County's requirements for filing a mechanics lien?

The Wakulla County Clerk of Court’s recording requirements for mechanics liens are as follows:

Include the

  • Date
  • The name and address of each person signing an instrument affecting real property.
  • The name and address of each person receiving property on all documents conveying an interest in real property.
  • Legal Description of property
  • The signed and typed or printed names are in agreement
  • Notary acknowledgement
  • Notary Public seal and expiration date
  • Corporate seal if applicable
  • Name and address of the natural person who prepared the instrument or under whose supervision it was prepared
  • A 3 inch square at the top right-hand corner on first page for placement of Recording Label.
  • Name of each person who executed, witnessed and acknowledged documents affecting real property shall be legibly printed, typewritten, or stamped on each document.
  • In Florida, claimants are required to include the Statutory Warning, which is as follows:”THIS LEGAL DOCUMENT REFLECTS THAT A CONSTRUCTION LIEN HAS BEEN PLACED ON THE REAL PROPERTY LISTED HEREIN. UNLESS THE OWNER OF SUCH PROPERTY TAKES ACTION TO SHORTEN THE TIME PERIOD, THIS LIEN MAY REMAIN VALID FOR ONE YEAR FROM THE DATE OF RECORDING, AND SHALL EXPIRE AND BECOME NULL AND VOID THEREAFTER UNLESS LEGAL PROCEEDINGS HAVE BEEN COMMENCED TO FORECLOSE OR TO DISCHARGE THIS LIEN.”

For a complete list of everything you should include in any mechanics lien in the state of Florida, refer to our step-by-step Guide for Filing a Florida Mechanics Lien.

What are the margin and page size requirements to file a lien in Wakulla County?

Mechanics liens filed in Wakulla County must follow these page size and margin requirements:

-Mechanics liens must be printed on paper no larger than 8.5 x 14.

-Mechanics liens must include a 3×3 inch square in the top right-hand corner of the first page.

-Each subsequent page must include a 1×3 inch square in the top right-hand corner. Include a 1 inch margin on the sides and bottom of each page.

-Type should be no smaller than 9 point, and ink must be black.

How can I make payment to the Wakulla County Clerk?

The Wakulla County Clerk of Court accepts the following forms of payment:

  • All major debit and credit cards
  • Cash
  • Checks

What are the filing fees to record a mechanics lien in Wakulla County?

The recording and copy fees for Wakulla County are as follows:

Recording

Recording a mechanics lien costs $10 for the first page and $8.50 for each following page.

Copies

Copies cost $1 per page, and certification costs $2 per document.

How do I get a recorded copy of my lien from the Wakulla County Clerk's Office?

To obtain a recorded copy of your lien from the Wakulla County Clerk, you have three options.

You can go to the Wakulla County Clerk of Court’s Office at the following address:

Wakulla County Clerk of Court
3056 Crawfordville Hwy
Crawfordville, FL 32327
Phone: 850-926-0905

You can mail a request to the County Clerk at the same address along with the appropriate fee.

Lastly, you can search Wakulla County’s Official Records online at the following addresses:

www.wakullaclerk.com
MyFloridaCounty.Com

Do I have the right to file a mechanics lien in Wakulla Florida?

Determining whether you have the right to file a mechanics lien in Wakulla, FL depends on your situation. Generally speaking, every state gives those who have furnished labor and/or materials to a construction project the right to file a mechanics lien if unpaid for the furnishing. The same is true in Florida. However, there are some state-specific limitations as to who is qualified to file a mechanics lien that is important when considering whether you have the right to file a mechanics lien in Wakulla County, FL.

You can read more about lien rights and if you have the right to file a lien on our Florida Mechanics Lien Resources.

What is the deadline to file a mechanics lien in Wakulla County?

The deadline to file a mechanics lien in Wakulla County, Florida, depends on when the work was completed. After the project is completed and the work of improvement is done, direct contractors have 90 days to record a mechanics lien. Additionally, direct contractors have 60 days to record after the owner records the Notice of Completion or Cessation.

Non-direct contractors must follow the same 90 day rule, however, they only have 30 days to record after the owner records the Notice of Completion or Cessation.

Top Payment Experts & Services in Wakulla to help you File Your Florida Mechanics Lien.

Featured Lien Filing Service
Lien Filing Service
Learn Who are the Fast Paying and Slow Paying Contractors in Florida
Dick's Sporting Goods
Rating 5.0
B
Payment Score
83 / 100
View
Accurate Builders of SWFL, Inc
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
75 / 100
View
Ace Electrical Service of North Florida
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
75 / 100
View
Allsite Contracting
Rating 5.0
A
Payment Score
85 / 100
View
See other Lists of Contractors and How to Best Work With Them