Guide to filing a mechanics lien in Sarasota County

If you’re facing slow payment or non-payment issues, the last thing you need is further delay when filing a mechanics lien. The best way to avoid those time-wasting delays is to do your research and ensure you get everything right on your lien claim. This page helps you do just that by outlining Florida’s lien laws and the Sarasota County Clerk’s recording requirements.

Firstly, here are a few points in Florida’s lien law that apply to you:

  1. You must submit a notice to owner, or preliminary notice, to retain your lien rights. Florida’s preliminary notice requirements are relatively simple. The deadline to submit one to the property owner is 45 days after first work or materials are furnished on a construction project.
  2. The deadline to file a mechanics lien in Florida is 90 days after work was last performed on a project.
  3. Unfortunately, sub-sub-subcontractors, suppliers to suppliers, suppliers to sub-sub-subcontractors, maintenance workers, and unlicensed contractors who are performing work that requires them to be licensed don’t have the right to file a mechanics lien in Florida.
  4. Exaggerating the lien amount in Florida is a 3rd degree felony. That’s why lien claimants should only include the value of labor and materials furnished for the construction project.

For a deeper dive, refer to our Florida Lien Laws FAQ page for a complete description of these laws and the lien documents you need.

Like the State of Florida, the Sarasota County Clerk’s Office has its own rules and requirements for mechanics liens. Below, you can find the Sarasota County Clerk’s recording requirements, formatting standards, relevant fees, and contact information.

If you’re looking for specifics regarding the filing process, visit our step-by-step guide to filing a mechanics lien in Florida.

Where is the Sarasota County Clerk of Court that files mechanics liens?

You can file your mechanics liens at any of the Sarasota County Clerk’s two office locations in person at the following addresses:

Sarasota County Historic Courthouse
2000 Main St.
Sarasota, FL 34237

PHONE: (941) 861-7400

Robert L. Anderson Administration Center
4000 S. Tamiami Trail
Venice, FL 34293

PHONE: (941) 861-7400

Office Hours

8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Monday through Friday
Holiday Schedule and Business Office Closing

What is Sarasota County's Recording Backlog?

The Sarasota County Clerk does not publicly disclose information on recording backlog.

Should I file my mechanics lien in Sarasota County, or some other county?

If the project is located in Sarasota county, then yes, you will want to record your lien with the Sarasota County Clerk’s Office.

What are Sarasota County's requirements for filing a mechanics lien?

All documents must comply with the Sarasota County Clerk’s recording requirements. Since changes cannot be made once the instrument has been recorded, make sure to check the following:

1. 3″ by 3″ blank space in upper right corner of the first page
2. 1″ by 3″ blank space on each subsequent page
3. Legible, black print or typing for best reproduction by microfilm or photographing
4. Date the body of the instrument
Grantee’s mailing address, if transfer of interest is real estate. (Example: Deeds, Agreements and Contracts for Deeds)
5. Affix the name and address of person to whom instrument is to be returned on the front of the instrument
6. On instruments by which the title to real estate or any interest therein or lien thereon is conveyed, created, encumbered, assigned or otherwise disposed of, the name and address of the person who prepared the instrument must be printed, typewritten or stamped on the face of the instrument in a legible manner (Instruments executed or acknowledged outside of the State, or before January 1, 1968, are exempt.)
8. Description of real or personal property, if any
9. Signature(s) should agree with name(s) in the body of the instrument and should be legible and correctly spelled
10. Signature(s) to be attested by two witnesses (transfer of any property)
11. Acknowledgment of person(s) executing the instrument
12. Notary public seal and expiration date (For out-of-state notary – if the acknowledgment or proof is made before a notary public who does not affix a seal, it shall be sufficient for the notary public to type, print or write by hand on the instrument, “I am a notary public of the State of _______ and my commission expires on ________________(date).”)
13. Corporate seal, if applicable

What are the margin and page size requirements to file a lien in Sarasota County?

All documents must be no larger than 14″ x 8 1/2″. Every document must have a 3″ by 3″ blank space in upper right corner of the first page and a 1″ by 3″ blank space on each subsequent page.

How can I make payment to the Sarasota County Clerk?

The Sarasota County Clerk’s payment options include: check, money order and credit card. Note that credit card transactions are subject to a 3.5% processing fee, charged by a third-party payment provider, nCourt.

What are the filing fees to record a mechanics lien in Sarasota County?

The Sarasota County Clerk’s office recording, indexing and filing fee is $10.00 for the first page and $8.50 for each additional page.

Additional Recording Fees

For indexing instruments recorded in the Official Records which contain more than four names: $1.00 per additional name

Lien Fees

Transferring Mechanic’s Lien To Security:
Issuing of certificate by clerk: $20.00
Each additional lien: $10.00
Approving surety bond: $8.50

Total cash or amount of bond required as security, must include:
a. Amount of lien
b. Interest: 3 years @ legal rate
c. Court costs $1000 or 25% of the amount of the lien, whichever is greater

Transferring Judgment To Bond:

Issuing of certificate by clerk: $20.00
Each additional lien: $10.00
Recording of certificate transferring lien to security, one page: $10.00
Approving surety bond: $8.50

Total cash or amount of bond required as security, must include:
a. Amount of lien
b. Interest: 3 years @ legal rate
c. Court costs $1000 or 25% of the amount of the lien, whichever is greater

Copy Fees

For Making Copies of any instrument in the public records by photographic process: $1.00 per page

For certifying copies of any instrument in the public records, per instrument: $2.00

How do I get a recorded copy of my lien from the Sarasota County Clerk's Office?

You can obtain a recorded copy of your lien from any of the Sarasota County Clerk’s two office locations in person at the following addresses:

Sarasota County Historic Courthouse
2000 Main St.
Sarasota, FL 34237

PHONE: (941) 861-7400

Robert L. Anderson Administration Center
4000 S. Tamiami Trail
Venice, FL 34293

PHONE: (941) 861-7400

Office Hours

8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Monday through Friday
Holiday Schedule and Business Office Closing

You can search Official Records (Land Records) Online at
https://secure.sarasotaclerk.com/OfficialRecords.aspx

For older records or certified copies, contact the Clerk and Comptroller’s Public Access Department.

Records prior to 1990 can be ordered through a Record Search Request or viewed on microfilm in the Public Access Department.

Records Search Requests are accepted by:

– Mail, Public Access Department, P.O. Box 3079, Sarasota, FL, with a check or money order (made payable to the Sarasota County Clerk and Comptroller)

– Phone, 941-861-7400, when payment is made by credit card; or

– Fax, 941-861-7738, when payment is made by credit card.

Make sur to include the name, years to search, case number (if applicable), document needed, and any additional information available to you that will assist the Clerk and Comptroller’s office in fulfilling your request. Also, specify if you require a plain or certified copy of the document. Copy requests are completed in approximately three business days from the date received, provided all required information and fees are included.

Records and Search Fees
Search Fees – $2.00 per name per year to search the Official Records
Copies – $1.00 per page
Certification – $2.00 per document

Paying by Credit Card

When making a request using a credit card, customers should include the card number, expiration date, name on the credit card, the billing address including zip code, and the three or four digit CVV code on the back of the card, for added security. Note that credit card transactions are subject to a 3.5% processing fee, charged by a third-party payment provider, nCourt.

Do I have the right to file a mechanics lien in Sarasota Florida?

Determining whether you have the right to file a mechanics lien in Sarasota, FL depends on your situation. Generally speaking, every state gives those who have furnished labor and/or materials to a construction project the right to file a mechanics lien if unpaid for the furnishing. The same is true in Florida. However, there are some state-specific limitations as to who is qualified to file a mechanics lien that is important when considering whether you have the right to file a mechanics lien in Sarasota County, FL.

You can read more about lien rights and if you have the right to file a lien on our Florida Mechanics Lien Resources page.

What is the fee to file a Florida preliminary notice in Sarasota County?

The fee to file a Florida Preliminary Notice in Sarasota is $10.

Top Payment Experts & Services in Sarasota to help you File Your Florida Mechanics Lien.

Featured Lien Filing Service
Lien Filing Service
Learn Who are the Fast Paying and Slow Paying Contractors in Florida
Brad's Glass Company
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
75 / 100
View
Public Storage Facility Services
Rating 5.0
A
Payment Score
93 / 100
View
Brownie's Septic & Plumbing
Rating 5.0
F
View
Miller Pipeline Corporation
Rating 5.0
A
Payment Score
90 / 100
View
See other Lists of Contractors and How to Best Work With Them