Guide to filing a mechanics lien in Orange County

Although contractors have strong lien rights under Florida lien law, there are still a few things that you should take into consideration before filing. Every state’s lien laws have their peculiarities that determine who can and who cannot file a mechanics lien, and every county has its own requirements. Before your file your mechanics lien with the Orange County Clerk, here are a few key points in Florida lien law:

  1. Claimants must submit a notice to owner, otherwise known as a preliminary notice, in order to retain their lien rights. This notice to owner, or NTO, needs to be sent to the property owner soon after the first work is done on the project.
  2. The deadline to file a mechanics lien in Florida is 90 days after the last work is performed. Contrary to other states in which the deadline is triggered by the official end of the project, the 90 day window to file is opened according to the last day work was done on the project by the lien claimant.
  3. Certain parties involved in a project do not have the right to file a lien claim. This includes sub-sub-subcontractors, suppliers to suppliers, suppliers to sub-sub-subcontractors, maintenance workers, and unlicensed contractors (who are required to be licensed).
  4. Overestimating the amount on the lien claim in Florida means grave consequences. More specifically, inaccurate numbers could result in a 3rd degree felony. Only include the total cost of materials and labor that were furnished for the construction project to avoid these consequences.

You can read more about these laws or find the lien documents your need on our Florida Lien Laws FAQ page.

Before recording your mechanics lien in Orange County, it’s a good idea to do your research to ensure the process is as smooth and quick as possible. This page outlines the page size and margin requirements, recording requirements, recording fees, and contact information for the Orange County Clerk, as well as the county’s online resources.

Visit our step-by-step guide to filing a mechanics lien in Florida for a complete breakdown of the Florida mechanics lien process or to eFile your mechanics lien with Levelset in a few clicks.

Where is the Orange County Clerk of Court that files mechanics liens?

The Orange County Comptroller’s Office that files mechanics liens is located at:

Orange County Comptroller
109 E. Church St.
Suite 300
Orlando, FL 32801
Phone: 407-836-5115

The Orange County Comptroller’s mailing address is:

Official Records Department
P.O. Box 38 Orlando, FL 32802-0038

What is Orange County's Recording Backlog?

The Orange County Comptroller does not publicly disclose information regarding recording backlogs.

Should I file my mechanics lien in Orange County?

If the project is located in Orange county, then yes, you will want to record your lien with the Orange County, Florida Clerk’s Office.

What are Orange County's requirements for recording a mechanics lien?

The Orange County Comptroller outlines the following recording requirements for mechanics liens:

1. Your full name and basic information.

2. Your attorney’s full name and basic information, if you have one.

3. The hiring party’s name and information.

4. The property owner’s name and information.

5. A statement for the materials and labor furnished for the project.

6. The lien amount based on that statement. It’s vital you get that amount exactly right–claim only the cost of materials and labor. Any overestimation could result in hefty fines.

7. A copy of the Notice to the Owner, which is required under Florida law before filing a mechanics lien.

8. The legal description of the property, which can be obtained from the Orange County Comptroller’s Office.

5. The Statutory Warning, also required under Florida law, which is as follows:

“THIS LEGAL DOCUMENT REFLECTS THAT A CONSTRUCTION LIEN HAS BEEN PLACED ON THE REAL PROPERTY LISTED HEREIN. UNLESS THE OWNER OF SUCH PROPERTY TAKES ACTION TO SHORTEN THE TIME PERIOD, THIS LIEN MAY REMAIN VALID FOR ONE YEAR FROM THE DATE OF RECORDING, AND SHALL EXPIRE AND BECOME NULL AND VOID THEREAFTER UNLESS LEGAL PROCEEDINGS HAVE BEEN COMMENCED TO FORECLOSE OR TO DISCHARGE THIS LIEN.”

6. Lastly, your signature and notorization.

In addition to this, mechanics liens must also follow the page size and margin requirements outlined under the next question.

What are the margin & page size requirements to file a lien in Orange County?

The Orange County Comptroller’s page size and margin specifications are as follows:

Mechanics liens must be submitted on paper no larger than 8.5 x 14.

Recorded documents may be single sided or double sided, so long as the ink doesn’t bleed through to the opposite side.

The first page must have a 3 inch margin at the top along with a 3×3 inch square in the top right-hand corner. The first page must also have 1 inch margins on all other sides

All pages following the first page must have a 1 inch margin on the top, sides, and bottom.

The font size may be no smaller than 9 point, and the ink must be black.

How can I make payment to the Orange County Clerk?

The Orange County Comptroller’s Office accepts Visa and MasterCard credit transactions.

Personal checks, business checks, cashier checks, traveler’s checks, and money orders are also accepted.

Along with that, the Orange County Comptroller’s Office also accepts cash as payment.

Note that credit payments have a $500 limit per visit.

Checks should include the following information:

-Bank name, routing number, account number, and check number.
Payor’s signature.

-Name and address of the payor (exceptions: bank Cashier checks do not require an address) Must be dated. Checks older than six months or past a stated date (i.e., “Void after 90 days”) will not be accepted.

-Amount must be filled in with the correct amount. Blank checks are not accepted.

-Payable to Orange County Comptroller.

What are the filing fees to record a mechanics lien in Orange County?

The Orange County Comptroller’s Office recording fees are as follows:

Recording

$10 for the first page
$8.50 for each following page

Copies

$1 per page
$1 per page plus $2 to certify the document

How do I get a recorded copy of my lien from the Orange County Clerk's Office?

You can obtain a recorded copy of your lien by visiting the Orange County Comptroller’s Office in person at:

Orange County Comptroller
109 E. Church St.
Suite 300
Orlando, FL 32801
Phone: 407-836-5115

You can also send a request by mail to the following address:

Official Records Department
P.O. Box 38 Orlando, FL 32802-0038

Lastly, you can search Orange County’s Official Records here:

https://occompt.com/faq/search-official-records/

Do I have the right to file a mechanics lien in Orange, Florida ?

Whether or not you have the right to file a mechanics lien depends on the laws and regualtions in your state. In the most general sense, each state in the country establishes lien rights for contractors who furnished labor and/or materials on a project and have since gone unpaid. In Florida, there are a few specific limitations as to who has the right to file and who doesn’t.

For a more detailed description that applies to all Florida counties, including Orange County, visit our Florida Mechanics Lien Resources.

What is the deadline to file a mechanics lien in Orange County?

The deadline to file a mechanics lien in Orange County, Florida depends on when work on the project was completed. A direct contractor must record their lien claim after the completion of the direct contract. Along with that, the claim must be recorded withing 90 days after completion of the work of improvement and within 60 days after the owner records a Notice of Completion or Cessation.

If you’re not a direct contractor, you must record your mechanics lien after the you cease to provide work and either within 90 days after the improvement work is done or within 30 days after the owner records a Notice of Completion or Cessation.

Top Payment Experts & Services in Orange to help you File Your Florida Mechanics Lien.

Featured Lien Filing Service
Lien Filing Service
Learn Who are the Fast Paying and Slow Paying Contractors in Florida
Calusa Construction
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
75 / 100
View
Coreslab Structures
Rating 5.0
A
Payment Score
85 / 100
View
Maestre Construction
Rating 5.0
D
Payment Score
51 / 100
View
Miller Pipeline Corporation
Rating 5.0
A
Payment Score
90 / 100
View
See other Lists of Contractors and How to Best Work With Them