Guide to filing a mechanics lien in Levy County

If you need to file a mechanics lien in Levy County, you’ll be pleased to know that you probably have broad protection under Florida lien law. Furthermore, recording a lien claim with the Levy County Clerk is a simple process. However, there are a few rules, regulations, and limitations you should be aware of before you get started.

  1. Florida’s preliminary notice requirements are cut-and-dry. Contractors need to submit a notice to owner (NTO) to the property owner in order to protect their lien rights. The deadline to submit one is 45 days after work first begins on the construction project.
  2. Lien claimants have 90 days to file a mechanics lien. This 90 day deadline is determined by the last day work or materials were supplied for the project. This is unlike other states in which the deadline is triggered by the official end of the construction project.
  3. Not everyone on the project can file a mechanics lien. The participants who aren’t allowed to file a lien claim are sub-sub-subcontractors, suppliers to suppliers, suppliers to sub-sub-subcontractors, maintenance workers, and unlicensed contractors.
  4. Exaggerating the amount on your lien claim is a felony offense in Florida. You shouldn’t do this no matter which state you operate in, however, the penalty is much greater in Florida.

We explore these lien laws in much greater detail on our Florida Lien Laws FAQ page, so we recommend you take a look.

Now that you’ve looked at Florida lien law, it’s time to familiarize yourself with the Levy County Clerk. Below are a number of the most commonly asked questions regarding the County Clerk’s recording requirements, recording fees, contact information, and more. You can use this page as a reference to find the useful information you need to record your lien claim right the first time.

Lastly, our step-by-step guide to filing a mechanics lien in Florida offers a deep explanation of the mechanics lien process at large; so take a look if you’re looking for a complete guide.

Where is the Levy County Clerk's Office that files mechanics liens?

You can file your mechanics liens at the Levy County Clerk’s office in person located at:

355 S. Court Street
Bronson, Florida 32621
Phone: 800-733-5389
352-486-5266.
Fax: 352-486-5166

The County Clerk’s office is open Monday through Friday from 8:30 am until 4:30 pm excluding major holidays.

What is Levy County's Recording Backlog?

The Levy County Clerk does not publicly disclose information on recording backlog.

Should my mechanics lien be filed in Levy County, or some other county?

If the project is located in Levy county, then yes, you will want to record your lien with the Levy County Clerk’s office.

What are Levy County's requirements for recording a mechanics lien?

All documents must comply with the Levy County Clerk’s recording requirements. Before recording documents, make sure to check the following:

1. Date

2. The name and address of each person signing an instrument affecting real property.

3. The name and address of each person receiving property on all documents conveying an interest in real property.

4. A description of the property.

5. The signed and typed names are in agreement.

6. Notary Acknowledgement: (To include a statement that the signer personally appeared before the Notary Public and the specific type of identification that was used to identify the signer, either based on personal knowledge or what type of ID was used to identify the signer).
7. Notary Public Seal and expiration date are affixed.

8. Corporate seal if applicable.

9. Name and address of the natural person who prepared the instrument or under whose supervision it was prepared.

10. A three (3) inch square at the top right hand corner on the first page and a one by three (1 x 3) inch space at the top right hand corner of each subsequent page for use by the Clerk (on all documents).

11. Name of each person who executed, witnessed and acknowledged documents affecting real property shall be legibly printed, typewritten or stamped on each document.

What are the margin & page size requirements to file a lien in Levy County?

All documents must be no larger than 14 x 8.5 inches. Every document must have a three (3) inch square at the top right hand corner on the first page and a one by three (1 x 3) inch space at the top right hand corner of each subsequent page for use by the Clerk (on all documents).

How can I make payment to the Levy County Clerk?

The Lee County Clerk’s payment options include: cash, by check, money order or credit card. Make check or money order payable to Lee County Clerk of Courts.

What are the filing fees to record a mechanics lien in Levy County?

The Levy County Clerk’s recording, indexing and filing fee is $10.00 for the first page and $8.50 for each additional page.

Additional Recording Fees

Indexing instruments in the official records which contain more than 4 names: $1.00 per additional name

Lien Fees

Transfer Certificate of Lien to Security: $20.00
Additional fee for each lien: $10.00

Copy Fees

Copy of records not more than 14″” x 8.5: $1.00 per page
Certified copies of any document in the public records: $2.00
Conformed copies: Free, will only be mailed if envelopes with postage are provided for mailing

How do I get a recorded copy of my lien from Levy County Clerk's Office?

You can obtain a recorded copy of your lien in four ways:

1. View and print the record for free through the Official Records Search.

2. Order certified copies with your credit card at www.myfloridacounty.com

3. Visit the Recording Department in person and request copies. Payment is accepted either in cash, by check, money order or credit card. The Recording Department is located on the 2nd floor of the County Administration Building, 2115 Second Street, Fort Myers.

4. Mail a written request, along with a check or money order payable to Lee County Clerk of Courts, to cover copy fees, and a self-addressed stamped envelope for the return of your document. You must include the instrument number or book/page number in addition to the name the document is recorded under. In your request, include your driver license number and state of issuance. Mail your request and payment to P.O. Box 2278, Attn: Land Records, Fort Myers, FL 33902. Your copies will be mailed to you.

Do I have the right to file a mechanics lien in Levy, Florida?

Determining whether you have the right to file a mechanics lien in Levy, FL depends on your situation. Generally speaking, every state gives those who have furnished labor and/or materials to a construction project the right to file a mechanics lien if unpaid for the furnishing. The same is true in Florida. However, there are some state-specific limitations as to who is qualified to file a mechanics lien that is important when considering whether you have the right to file a mechanics lien in Levy County, FL.

You can read more about lien rights and if you have the right to file a lien on our Florida Mechanics Lien Resources page.

What is the fee to file a Florida Preliminary Notice in Levy County?

The fee to file a Florida Preliminary Notice in Levy is $10.

Top Payment Experts & Services in Levy to help you File Your Florida Mechanics Lien.

Featured Lien Filing Service
Lien Filing Service
Learn Who are the Fast Paying and Slow Paying Contractors in Florida
Brad's Glass Company
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
75 / 100
View
84 Lumber
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
55 / 100
View
GPE Engineering and General Contractor Corp.
Rating 5.0
B
Payment Score
82 / 100
View
Harbco General Contractors
Rating 5.0
C
Payment Score
75 / 100
View
See other Lists of Contractors and How to Best Work With Them